We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, secluded, stylish, a-la-cart with few 'quirks'” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of At Nata Chiangmai Chic Jungle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
At Nata Chiangmai Chic Jungle
Ranked #1 of 1 Mae Raem B&B and Inns
Bendigo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, secluded, stylish, a-la-cart with few 'quirks'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

Had very nice stay at Nata.
Beautiful secluded location with lovely surroundings. Decor amazing.
Set above natural running stream in undulating village.
Nice pool with small sauna. Beautiful gardens.
Staff all Thai and very little English spoken but that was part of the fun.
Menu in restaurant delicious.
Staff very willing to assist and typically gentle Thai in nature.
Take personal insect repellant and spray for room (or can be purchased from local 7-11 3km bike ride from hotel)
As long as you are fit for walking and an average bike rider you can get around ok. I hadn't been on a bike for 20 years and had a ball.
Not much public transport in this area. We managed to see a lot via Destination Asia tour organisation fantastic operators.
It did cost a little extra but was worth it if you like a little seclusion and a few laughs.
Although not five star we felt this resort was beautiful. Thank you to all at Nata Chiangmai Chic jungle.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank itchypalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    12
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

The setting of the hotel is great, with with water cascading down rocks from the mountains, plenty of plants and trees.

The staff are very helpful, and always try there best to ensure your stay is comfortable. The food was very good, and the setting of the restaurant is great next to the waterfall.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChangNoi_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Beautiful quaint resort by a nice stream. Very arty. The pool is really pretty. It has really nice lounging spots by the spring.
Check-in didn't go too smoothly. Originally I booked 2 rooms then later I cancelled 1 while requesting for an extra bed for the remaining 1 room. Upon arrival they were expecting us to take 2 rooms. Despite me showing them my cancellation letter from Booking.com they still tried to sell us 2 rooms, insisting that the Superior Double Room would be too small to add an extra bed. They also tried selling us the Villa Story (largest 2 storey room sleeping 4). We declined since we were only there for 1 night and it was fine to add the extra bed despite the room being a bit cramp. The Villa Story was more than double our Superior Double Room rate.

The Superior Double Room was disappointing. Biggest shock was no air conditioner (website mentioned air-conditioning). I also didn't notice DVD Player and CD Player. The small TV was far from a flat-screen TV, and there was no Dining Area. These were all promised in the website I booked with.
There was a wall fan, but it didn't rotate. Bed one of the hardest I've slept on.
The bathroom was not maintained well. The metal rack was very rusty. The light switch dirty and not merely stained. No counter top to place amenities so the limited hotel toiletries were placed on top of the toilet cistern.

For breakfast we had a choice of having Western or Thai. I had Thai prawn porridge, which was acceptable. The fruit platter was good. Coffee terrible. I like the breakfast place, which is next to the flowing river. Very peaceful.

The resort was pretty quiet. Perhaps just a handful of rooms were occupied.

Check-out took more than 10 minutes despite us having paid fully upon check-in.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We booked ourselves in to At Nata Chic Jungle for six nights based on the reviews and photos on Bookings.com.

We arrived at midnight on the last flight into Chiang Mai and got to the resort to find that we were not expected by the staff in pyjamas who met us. We were shown to our room, pointed in the direction of the breakfast area and left to ourselves.

The room was pretty and looked like the photos on the internet. The resort grounds were also lovely and the restaurant area overlooked a waterfall. The pool also looked like the photos.

However, the room had no phone, no minibar and no information whatsoever about the resort, its facilities or the surrounding area. The "hot water" service produced luke warm water which trickled out of the calcified shower head. There were no toiletries. The pillows were hard and lumpy. There were missing lightglobes in the bathroom. Our floor-to-ceiling windows for taking in the view of the garden faced into the resort's common areas, allowing no privacy unless the curtains were kept drawn.

Breakfast the next morning consisted of tea and filter coffee; sweetened local bread (toasted) with butter; fried eggs and sausages that had been inexplicably refrigerated after cooking; the ingredients for making salad; some fried noodles; and the obligatory pot of congee.

We seemed to be the only guests. The two other rooms that were occupied appeared to be occupied had staff living in them, including a dog. Reception and the restaurant/bar were unattended. There were no nearby restaurants or shops and transport was by the manager's private car only.

It's one thing to stay in a resort in a remote, beautiful location if everything you need is provided and accessible. It's quite another to be stuck in the middle of nowhere without sufficient facilities, which is how we felt. We arranged to be driven into Chiang Mai after our first night and found alternative accommodation. To At Nata's credit, they clocked our booking as a "no show" so we didn't lose the money we'd paid for all six nights.

This resort could be lovely and it's a shame that the management have allowed it to become a white elephant through what appears to be a total lack of understanding of the needs of travellers. In a country like Thailand, which is a dab hand at the hospitality industry these days, there's no excuse for it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mae Raem hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Raem
2.8 mi away
Phu Jaya Mini Resort
Phu Jaya Mini Resort
#148 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gudi Boutique Hotel
Gudi Boutique Hotel
#14 of 18 in Mae Rim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.7 mi away
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
1.9 mi away
Ruen Ariya Resort
Ruen Ariya Resort
#17 of 18 in Mae Rim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mae Nai Gardens
Mae Nai Gardens
#4 of 18 in Mae Rim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Nata Chiangmai Chic Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Nata Chiangmai Chic Jungle

Property: At Nata Chiangmai Chic Jungle
Address: 32/3 Moo 5, Mae Raem 50180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Raem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mae Raem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — At Nata Chiangmai Chic Jungle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your At Nata Chiangmai Chic Jungle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Nata Chiangmai Chic Jungle Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing