We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“give it a miss”
Review of The Bull Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swyre
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Swyre B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Called for a Sunday Carvery, on entering the pub, the outside grounds were in an awful state, on entering the bar area the room on the right was full of clutter and very untidy. the carvery was in a room also very untidy. The carvery was a joke. A chef without whites, who didn't carve the meat, just scrapped at it, very very poor portions of very poor quality, at extremely high prices. a childs portion at £6.95, was served on a side plate, an adult portion £11.95. disgusting prices for poor food. Not surprised there was only about 12 people eating. I will never return

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arnold s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2015

We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us, we believe everybody has a right to make comment, it is a shame you did not mention this to us whilst you were here and we could have dealt with your comments at the time .
After some very bad storms our gardens had been destroyed and due to very heavy flooding where the road surface water had stormed through the Car Park
The room on the right you refer to was in the process of being decorated and changed into a Tea and Coffee Lounge.

We are very pleased to advise that we hold a 5 Star the highest food rating achievable that we worked hard to achieve and intend to keep. When serving a Carvery you do not need to use ‘Chef whites’ just suitable clothing that is clean and fit for purpose.

We have checked our records and found that on this Sunday we were serving pulled pork, it would take a very amateur person to attempt to carve a joint that is cooked to be pulled! On this Sunday we had over 60 covers and no other complaints


Our pricing is fair and our regular customers cannot understand how we supply fresh local Veg and Meats at a such a reasonable Price

Regarding prices £11.95 is the price for a Large Adult Meal £8.98 for a Norrmal Adult you are asked which Meats you would like and the Meat is then Carved for you, you are asked if there is sufficient Meat on the plate and you then help yourself to Vegetables etc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stopped on the off chance on a Sunday lunch time that they were still serving. It was relatively busy but still plenty of tables left.
We were pleased there was a carvery and were told there were three different meats on that day. There were different sized portions, small, medium and large, which is great when you have children with you, although don't go for medium, it's three pounds more expensive than the small, and although it comes on a bigger plate, doesn't seem to mean a larger portion of meat.
Two of the carverys we had were large, but there was no real standard of size and they were completely different, our sons plate was heaped up and my husbands was quite sparse.
It's very nineties, or even eighties here. When you go into the pub, there is a bit of a junk room area that doesn't seem to be in use, but is part of the main pub, it's quite strange. We found a couple of the staff very friendly and the others really rude. There was a large family sitting at a table, and they were asked to move to a smaller table, so a smaller party could use their table. They did so, but it' was quite odd and they looked pretty bemused. .. After they moved they were asked to move again...it was quite amusing to watch, and one or two of the tables in the pub were trying to not giggle at the strange requests.
The carvery ran out of potatoes and the people infront of us decided not to eat as it was going to be fifteen minutes until the next lot were done. .. The rest of their party had eaten so they decided to get a refund. They weren't in a hurry to get more food out, despite a long queue
This is a very average pub, but we had an experience. I found it to be quite friendly in some parts and unwelcoming in others. We were overcharged on our meals and undercharged on our drinks.. And both times we tried to point it out it caused too much confusion to be rectified. The meat on the carvery was home cooked, not bought in, but strange portion sizes not relevant to the size paid for. I did find it very Basil Fawlty like, as did the table next to us..
It was decently cooked food, accompanied by entertaining service (or lack of) but we won't be back, as once, although amusing, was enough

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Delightmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2015

We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us, we believe everybody has a right to make comment, it is a shame your comment was based on such a short visit! The pubs decor is in fitting to the building and to the wish of the owners and we find the majority of customers like the decor, This is not a modern pub with bright white paint and lights, we are a village pub that serves many purposes for our community, as with any place no one is forced to like decor and if you don’t like it don’t stay, it is felt wrong that ones personal likes and dislikes should be used to merit something that others like.
Face-value can sometimes be very incorrect, The Bull Inn is a village pub, which serves many purposes, as a customer you are not aware of this information or do you have an understanding of them.
The large table of people to which you referred, are regulars that come to lunch most weeks and most weeks bring friends or business partners, it would be more fitting that they found you as strange for not understanding why they changed tables
Your comment regarding the food’ we pride ourselves that all our food is sourced locally and cooked fresh as required, this does mean that food is as fresh as possible, not frozen or precooked and reheated, On the down side this does mean that if we run out we have to wait for food to be cooked most customers prefer this to reheated precooked food. As there is a Time Limit on how long food can remain on the Carvery we try to stagger the cooking to meet demand.
Our meat is NOT brought in cheap carvery joints that are just cheaper cuts of meat rolled for carvery use, we buy complete topsides of beef that are fully matured that we cut to size for use with our carvery, Our pricing is fair and most customers cannot understand how we can supply fresh local Veg and Meats at a reasonable Price.
Our plate sizes and prices are set by customer’s choice, and found to be suitable for the majority of our customers; we always ask if there is enough on the plate. We try always to satisfy a customer’s hunger and to be fair to all. Due to the different cost of meats we can offer more of some meats to others, the vegetables etc you help your selves to so the quantity is down to your choice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

this pub when i lived in Puncknowle was my local and was always a friendly place and when i left the area 5 years ago i have returned 5 times since then and have always been treated excellent will return agai later in the year at least once probably twice-a very friendly hostel

Room Tip: the rooms on the upper level are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

While on a cycle of the area, the heavens opened just as I was passing so I popped in for a tea. Duly ordered the woman mentioned I couldn't pay by card. No problem. I had cash. I was told it would take a few minutes. No problem, happy to wait. But when I was told I would have to drink in the rather charmless restaurant area next door, I said I would rather have it at the bar. I was seated at the end out of the way. Being in my cycling gear I would rather not sit at the lone table in the middle of a large room. She was having none of it, I couldn't have it at the bar, or any of the other tables in the section I was sat in. If I wanted tea, I had to drink it there.

What a miserable woman with no concept of hospitality, if I cycle past again I will bring a dictionary so you can look up the word.

Charmless, soulless, throwback to the 90's kind of pub with no feeling of welcoming whatsoever.

AVOID!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
8  Thank Campbell1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Decided to end a lovely holiday with a meal out, wished we hadn't chosen The Bull Inn. Six meals were ordered, first two meals turned up 45 minutes later. One of them was the wrong meal! This was taken back and we were told it would have to be recooked. Third meal arrived after another five minutes. Side order to that meal came after a further five minutes. This was an order of onion rings which were so burnt they were actually black. Two more meals arrived, at which time we told the waitress to take the onion rings away. The final meal arrived after the first two had finished. No explanation or apology was offered. Replacement onion rings came but too late as the meal they went with had been eaten. One meal, chicken burger appeared not to be cooked. When taken back to the bar, the barman took it to the kitchen only to return to say the chef said he had probed it and it was the right temperature. No apology for our concern nor reassurance. Needless to say we didn't eat that meal. When the waitress cleared our plates away she asked if everything was ok, when we said no, she just shrugged her shoulders. We won't be visiting this establishment again and will be writing an official complaint directly to the proprietor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Called in for a beer before a wedding reception. Main clientele were holidaymakers. Three cask beers on the bar - all in great condition. Usual pub games. Large seating area. Food looked tasty. Didn't eat there but seems greatly improved since I last visited some 8 years ago.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrEggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stopped off for a spot of lunch while out for a drive with my wife.We enjoyed a very nice lunch. we had the Ham & mature Cheese ploughmans and the bacon & brie baguete with side order of chips, good portion sizes and well put together, Good service. Reasonable prices. Well kept guiness. Would certainly use again if passing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank aspdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Address: Jurassic Coast Road, Swyre DT2 9BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Swyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Swyre
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Bull Inn Swyre, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing