We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
106
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house homemade jams skomer island apple store packed lunch hot tub leisurely breakfast one night wooded valley coastal path bathrobes and slippers gluten free sausages stable block self contained cottage narrow lane converted stables wood burner
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate my partner's 30th birthday and to visit Skomer Island - and we couldn't have chosen a better place!

Beautiful grounds with a gorgeous view - and just a few minutes walk down to the beach and the Pembrokeshire coastal walk, where you can walk just 15 minutes to catch a lovely view of Dale.

The breakfast was superb - they even had delicious homemade vegetarian sausages! As mentioned by other reviewers, they pick up your Skomer Island tickets for you while you're having breakfast, so you can have a leisurely morning without worrying about not being able to get tickets. This made such a difference to the day - a fab service going beyond what is expected.

In the evening we ordered an evening picnic to have on our patio, which really was the best way to end the day after exploring Skomer. The food was fab - and with the evening sun beating down, it made it even better!

The room facilities were great - lovely comfortable bed, and probably the best shower I've had.

They were even fab when arranging a surprise birthday cake to be delivered - they couldn't have been more helpful, and really helped make everything perfect.

Thank you again!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Harriet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Very happy to find this place that offers to pick up your tickets to Skomer Island whilst you enjoy breakfast. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. The only lets downs were lack of Internet in our room and the packed lunch and picnic that we ordered (the packed lunch included undercooked ham which was therefore inedible and the picnic was mostly bread type items with no dessert nor anything to drink). Otherwise it was an interesting place to visit, steeped in history with access to a rocky beach.

Room tip: We stayed in the Brynach. We were told it was the coolest room in the Summer. I also liked it's enclosed shower.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank greenladybourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette M, Manager at Monk Haven Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Hi Paula, I have only just seen this review or i would have responded earlier! I'm so sorry to read that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. It's a shame you didn't let us know during your time here as we would have done all we could to have put things right before you left us. I would have welcomed any ideas for the picnic hamper too! I truly believe more heads are better than one! Can i ask you what you meant by "mostly bread type items"? I know we put a couple of homemade rolls in there but that was to compliment the welsh/Pembrokeshire cheeses and Carmarthenshire parma ham with Jan's-own-chutney platter... I'm wondering if you would class the mini pasties and quiches as bread items? I hope that we didn't forget to give you some green salad from the garden, as we really do usually include that too. If we did forget then i do apologise. We will consider offering soft drinks with the hampers, but we do try to keep the costs down and the time taken homemaking everything pretty much just covers what we offer them at now. Perhaps we will offer them at 2 different prices, one with and one without any soft drinks. Most people so far have actually asked for wine! As for dessert, we can consider something more than just fruit for a sweet. So, please know that we have taken on board everything that you have said, and please feel free to email us at enquiries@monkhaven.co.uk with any ideas that you would liked to have seen in the hamper. Just bear in mind that we will need to be able to make it ourselves, from local produce and our own garden as much as possible! Many thanks and best wishes, Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2015

We stayed at Monk Haven for four nights while doing the Pembrokeshire Coast Path, and it is ideally suited for this as you can walk to the path down a lane in 5 minutes. We stayed in Gorfan, one of the lovely new rooms with its own sun trap patio. Monk Haven is also the place to stay if you are visiting the nearby island of Skomer as they have the brilliant service of going to get your tickets for you while you eat breakfast ( which is delicious with lots of homemade and local produce). The B&B sits in it's own beautiful calm and wooded valley with a picturesque church in the grounds. I will be recommending it to my friends and hope to return.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sarah-JaneM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette M, Manager at Monk Haven Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2015

Hi Sarah, we are so pleased that you both had such a great time and you really did make the most of the coastal path whilst you were here...i think you covered most of it! If you do think about coming back then September is a lovely time with the seal pups everywhere and the weather is usually glorious then too. Thanks again Sarah, we really appreciate you taking the time to write this review, Jo and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015

Monk Haven Manor B&B is a truly extraordinary and magical place. Located in a secluded and lush landscape yet just a short walk to a rugged private beach with footpaths along the ocean cliffs. Long long ago this was home to a monastery, and there is a medieval parish church (St. Ishmaels) on the property dating back to the Age of the Saints! The main house was built as the vicarage around the late 1700s/early 1800s, I think. The history here is intriguing and mysterious. The main house, the apple store with its hot tub, and newly constructed accommodations are all recently renovated, immaculate, and tastefully appointed. The gardens and grounds are gorgeous and filled with lyrical birdsong. We stayed in the apple store, which was private, comfortable, clean and cozy - serene and romantic. It is an ideal self-catered cottage, and nothing compares to the experience of watching nightfall in the hot tub! Our daughter stayed in a room in the main house that was also beautifully decorated and very comfortable. But by far, what made this place so extraordinary and memorable were the hosts: Jan and Jo. They welcomed us, provided us with wonderful stories and the history of the place, they recommended activities and took care of all the details in arranging our trip to Skomer Island. The breakfasts are delicious. Nearly everything is fresh and homemade from the wide variety of breads and rolls, jams and chutneys, to the Glamorgan sausages (which were out of this world!). All fruits, vegetables, eggs, cheeses are either grown at Monk Haven or produced locally. Jan prepared for us a summer vegetarian picnic basket for us that included a variety of local cheeses, her homemade tomato, fig, and caramelized onion chutney, a variety of delectable homemade pasties, marinated roasted mushrooms with garlic and rosemary, Caprese bites, homemade rolls and Welsh butter, and a salad of Monk Haven rocket lettuce with a balsamic glaze. It was all incredibly delicious and such a wonderful way to cap the day hiking around Skomer Island! Monk Haven Manor B&B is an undiscovered gem, a truly magical place, that is soul-restoring, serene,magical and steeped in Welsh history.

Room tip: Free wifi in main house. The Apple Store is absolutely wonderful. The rooms in the main house are elegant and tasteful.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette M, Manager at Monk Haven Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2015

Hello Schwartz family! I know everything is bigger in America but i didn't realise this extended to trip advisor reviews also!! It so wonderful to have your family stay with us as your enthusiasm for all things welsh was really great! I hope that this continued for you when you went to the concert in Aberystwyth! I sure it would have. Thank you for such an amazing and very thorough review....i don't think you left anything out! Best wishes to you all, Jo and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Yes, it should be re-named. We had such an enjoyable 3 days here.
A peaceful idyllic location. It could not be better.
Jan and her family are extremely welcoming and helpful - even arranging tickets and packed lunches for the trip to Skomer. The accommodation is very attractive and comfortable. Breakfasts are tasty. Handy for the coastal path and beaches.
We were sorry to leave, but delighted that we had discovered this special place.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette M, Manager at Monk Haven Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2015

Thank you Sandra, we are so pleased that you had such a lovely stay! If you were sorry to leave then perhaps you can come back again! Go to Skomer in the seal breeding season! Although you can see the baby seals from Deer Park and right on Martins Haven beach too.... Thanks again for your lovely review, Jo and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews