We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
106
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house homemade jams skomer island apple store packed lunch hot tub leisurely breakfast one night wooded valley coastal path bathrobes and slippers gluten free sausages stable block self contained cottage narrow lane converted stables wood burner
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the old Apple Store; a cosy little property at the bottom of the main house garden. Outside is a hot tub and inside is a very nicely decorated white washed living room with log burner, shower room and small kitchen area. Stairs lead you up to a gorgeous and comfortable double bed in the roof space as a mezzanine.
Breakfast was served in the main house and was very very nice indeed. The hosts are fantastic and nothing seems too much ft them to do.
We visited obviously out of season and so eating out and shopping requires some planning although there is a large Tescos in Milford Haven only a few miles away.
For lunch we visited Little Haven and had food at The Swan and The Castle both of which where great.
This is a lovely area with great beaches and lots and lots of walking. Enjoy..

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Basjetpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Couldn't be a nicer, more relaxing place to stay than the Apple Store (fun for Americans with Mac's and iPhones, etc., to stay in something with the same name as that leviathan of commerce and extravagance!) in this dreamy corner of Wales. We stayed two nights on a last minute booking and moved to another unit for our last night. Super cozy and comfortable, good breakfasts (loved the homemade breads and jams--Whiskey Marmalade was a new treat!), lovely wood fire the staff would help get going, loft bed, comfortable couch and chairs, tiny kitchen for quick meals--and, oh, that wonderful hot tub under the stars! We stayed in Caradog one night, also up to a high standard with a separate sitting room--everything brand new. Gardens beautiful even at end of October and it seems the owners are always adding new gardens, rooms and features. Attended the ancient church on the site on Sunday to a warm welcome and lovely, small service. Great place all around, with wonderful walks at your doorstep. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2015
1  Thank sioux100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015

We stayed at Monk Haven for a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was fairly spacious and had the essential items, all the staff were friendly and the breakfasts were lovely – all the better for fresh local produce and home baked breads & homemade jams. There was plenty of parking and guests could use/enjoy the main house garden and patio. The accommodation is separate to the main house where breakfast is served but umbrellas are provided in each room for use when rainy.

The location is a little remote and access is down some tight country lanes but it is ideal if you want to get away from it all and have ready access to a small cove and the main coastal path. We found it a good base to explore the peninsular and walk around Dale, Marloes and even Pembroke Castle. The local pub in St Ishmaels was only a short 10 minute walk down dark quite lanes although other pubs/restaurants required a 10-15 minute drive.

Some tips – go for the old apple store with hot tub if available, take a torch, bring your own shower cap if needed, remember to order your breakfast the evening before, and download maps, info etc before visiting as Wi-Fi is limited to the main house.

Room tip: Go for the old apple store with hot tub if available.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of June/ beginning of July this year. The whole staff make sure you are very welcome and settled in as soon as you arrive. They are a wealth of knowledge and suggested some local places to visit which I may have missed without their help.
I stayed in the Teilo room, which is one of the new conversions with a comfy double bed and nicely outfitted wet room en-suite. Having breakfast in the main house was a treat, it is all freshly made to order and the surroundings beautiful.
I took one of their packed lunches to Skomer and it was lovely, a choice of sandwich on freshly baked bread, homemade cake, fruit, water and a treat. They will even go and get a landing ticket for you.
The accommodation itself is nestled in a peaceful glen, with lovely gardens and a short walk down to a secluded cove. I liked it so much that I am planning to go back soon.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rad557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Beautiful peaceful place to stay with lovely staff and owners caring for your every need. We only had one night though my husband and his son had stayed thre previously so knew it was good. However I was knocked out by the loveliness of it all. We visited the little church opposite which was also delightful. Breakfast next morning set us up for the day - a Welsh breakfast tone very proud of - fresh local ingredients produced a superlative cooked breakfast, home made bread topped by home made jam and marmalade served in a beautiful room. Thanks to the owners as well as the friendly helpful staff! All topped by wall to wall sunshine - who needs abroad!

Date of stay: August 2015
Thank SineadP195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews