We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thaba Khaya Lodge, Sable Ranch
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Brits
Certificate of Excellence
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb weekend”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We spent a superb relaxing weekend at this lovely lodge which is so convenient for Gautengers, being only just over an hour's drive from Jo'burg. You really feel 'away from the city' and the fact that it looks after so few people at a time, it is a very special experience. Personal attention without being intrusive. Thanks so much to Gerhard and his team for the food, accommodation, setting and games drives were all faultless. You very much had the feeling that the staff wanted to make it the best experience possible for you. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Flores18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
37
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We spent 6 days at this beautiful lodge, which is less than a 2 hr drive from Jo'burg. It is of particular appeal as it only accommodates a small number of people. Our accommodation was spacious and luxurious, the food outstanding and drinks by the pool, all inclusive, was fabulous in the late afternoon.
Jenn & Warren, our hosts, were so welcoming and accommodating... nothing was too much trouble.
Warren, thank you for the wonderful safaris, we learn't so much from your expertise and the G & T's by the hippo hole!
Jenn, thank you for making us feels so at home and waiting on us hand and foot.
Francois, our chef extraordinaire, thank you for your culinary delights... we are still trying to get the weight off!!! and to the rest of the staff for making our stay something we will never forget.
We would highly recommend this stunning place to anyone who is planning a visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen and Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Sable Ranch was recommended to us by some friends. We went there on our honeymoon and had a great time. We knew nothing about animals and weren't sure what to expect, but Warren was fantastic in explaining everything we wanted to know about the animals and were treated like Kings during our stay. Would definitely recommend Sable Ranch to anyone who is looking for a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Very spacious and comfortable accomodation, set in beautiful African bush at Sable Ranch.The superb cuisine, (thanks Jenn & Francois) and efficient friendly staff made our 6 day stay at Thaba Khaya Lodge one we will never forget!
The game drives with Warren were fantastic. His knowledge of the flora & fauna impressed us, and he usually managed to stop at a good vantage point for us to enjoy a G&T and watch the sunset, or a lightning storm, before returning to the Lodge for dinner.
The all inclusive tarriff was very reasonable and contributed to the homelike feeling. If you want a snack or a drink someone will fetch it, and no tabs to sign.
We'd love to go back again because it so different from the big "Sausage factory" type resorts, where there are hundreds of pesky tourists....all with snapping cameras, getting in the way of our snapping cameras !!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaba-Khaya L, Manager at Thaba Khaya Lodge, Sable Ranch, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Roger and Margaret -

Thank you for sharing your experience at Thaba Khaya Lodge on our tripadvisor site. As we said a few times, it was really wonderful to have you both and the rest of the group stay with us at the lodge. After so much planning it was a real pleasure to finally having you here, getting to know you a bit, and getting to be a part of your African adventures. Please, take care and keep in touch. .

Sincerely,

Jenn, Warren, Francios, and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We had a great time there. Relaxing, excellent hosts. Even if we did some safaris, we learned more about animals, the ranger did a very good job during the game drives. The food was amazing, many thanks for the 'chef'. We will go back there with our canadian visitors !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaba-Khaya L, Manager at Thaba Khaya Lodge, Sable Ranch, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. It was wonderful hosting you and we look forward to seeing you again and hosting your future visits. Take care and keep in touch.

Sincerely,

Warren and Jenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We have travelled to many game lodges in South Africa and this has to rate as one if not the best. Not only is it extremely affordable, but the personal attention you receive makes it feel like this is your own home. there is no malaria in the area and it is hard to believe that this piece of paradise is so close to Joburg at just over an hour.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmettgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, Manager at Thaba Khaya Lodge, Sable Ranch, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Emmett and Kimmie -

Thank you so much for your gracious words. It was wonderful to meet you and get to know you a bit during your stay. I hope you are well.

Take care,

Jenn and Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We knew we were in for a treat when , as soon as we drove through the gates , we saw 5 giraffe, including a baby! The website does not do Thabakhya Lodge justice! We had a wonderful 2 day stay - room and food amazing! Warren and Jenn were fabulous hosts and the evening drives with Warren(who knows everything!!) were memorable .....lots of animals and stunning sunsets.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wigwam8415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, Manager at Thaba Khaya Lodge, Sable Ranch, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Mark & Fiona -

Great to hear from you!! Thank you for your very kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to host you again on your next trip to South Africa.

Take care,

Jenn and Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brits
23.1 mi away
Kassaboera Lodge
Kassaboera Lodge
#1 of 1 in Schoemansville
79 reviews
13.7 mi away
Mziki Safari Lodge
Mziki Safari Lodge
#1 of 21 in Brits
159 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ukutula Lodge
Ukutula Lodge
#3 of 21 in Brits
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Seasons Sport & Spa Resort Brits
0.0 mi away
Arotin Game Lodge
Arotin Game Lodge
#5 of 21 in Brits
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thaba Pitsi Private Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaba Khaya Lodge, Sable Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaba Khaya Lodge, Sable Ranch

Property: Thaba Khaya Lodge, Sable Ranch
Address: 24 Veekraal | JQ221, Brits 520, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Brits
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Brits
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thaba Khaya Lodge, Sable Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An hour from Johannesburg, Thaba Khaya Lodge is situated within the malaria free Sable Ranch, a Natural Heritage Site. With an abundance of game spread out over 4000 hectares we offer an interactive safari experience where highly qualified field guides educate guests on the natural surroundings. Enjoy our friendly staff and sumptuous cuisine coupled with unique African tranquility. You will forget you are just outside of the city. Thaba Khaya Lodge has a maximum capacity of 16 so guests experience personal service from our friendly staff. Whether you want to lounge by the pool and listen to the wide variety of birds call or if you're adventurous and want to go on a guided drive or a lion interaction, Thaba Khaya Lodge is the perfect travel destination. We regret, we do not accommodate children under the age of 10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Thaba Khaya Lodge, Sable Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing