We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location for families and day-trips”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rooks' Retreat

Rooks' Retreat front elevation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rooks' Retreat front elevation
Dining room Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Rooks' Retreat front elevation
Dining room
Living room
Fully fitted kitchen
Ground floor bedroom
Upstairs twin bedroom
Upstairs twin bedroom
Upstairs kingsize bedroom
Single bedroom upstairs
Ground floor en-suite
Enclosed rear garden
Manorbier Beach -1.5 miles
Tenby harbour
Manorbier castle
Stackpole Quay - 6 miles
Caldey island, just off Tenby
Seals at Skomer Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Hodgeston, Pembroke, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hannah397
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location for families and day-trips”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We just spent a very enjoyable May half term at Rook's Retreat, sharing the cottage with another family. With five children under six the garden was fantastic, as it is enclosed and big enough for them all to run about. The location of the cottage is very convenient, with shops nearby for milk etc, as well as Pembroke just down the road. We were also within twenty minutes of plenty of choices for days out, and recommend a visit to the Dinosaur Park, Carew Castle, and Tenby for its shopping and beaches. We'd also recommend the Tudor Lodge in nearby Jameston for a dinner out.

The beds and sofas were very comfortable, and although we were a little cramped in the living area on wet days (with so many little ones under foot) with so many options for days out it wasn't really a problem.

I'd also like to mention that the owner was very friendly, helpful and prompt in all communications which sounds like a small thing but actually goes a long way to making the holiday experience good.

All in all we were very happy with the accommodation for the week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds, sofas, and the lovely garden
Liked least: The kitchen floor and shower were not particularly clean upon arrival
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Many thanks for the kind review and the positive comments about our communication. Glad that you had an enjoyable stay; Pembrokeshire certainly has a lot to offer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin T
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent! Very spacious and very well equipped”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Rooks' Retreat was brilliant. Highly recommended.
We stayed for 6 nights with 2 adults and 4 kids (7-10) and still had plenty of room. VERY well equipped: From washing machine through tumble drier to microwave and dishwasher and three bathrooms. There is a wide selection of board games and puzzles as well as a nice selection of DVDs. Everything was there from towels, bedding, even soap, dishwasher tablets and washing up liquid.
The garden is perfect for the family and even had a little footie goal and a barbecue. The kids also enjoyed the wifi access.
Hodgeston is very quaint. Shopping etc. will have to be done in neighbouring villages or in Pembroke though.
Loads to do in the surrounding area. We enjoyed Folly Farm and the local beaches, but there are also loads of parks and other family outings available.
The home owner and his family are very nice and were very, very helpful with any questions we had.
We will be back as soon as possible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for the positive feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sannyho
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful, spacious, comfortable, relaxing, all you could need and plenty of rooks!!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Rooks retreat was fab. We got there a little earlier than check in and met the housekeeper who was warm and accommodating. The cottage is plenty big enough with everything you need. It's beautifully warm and peaceful and very clean. The housekeeper even arranged an Easter egg hunt for my boys. I couldn't fault it. Fab location right near a quaint church and small stream. The garden is fully secure and perfect for young children. We would definitely visit here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2014
Hello. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your Easter break at Rooks' Retreat - especially the egg hunt. It's lovely to have such positive feedback. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail inside plus the great location.
Liked least: Having to go home.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing