We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, luxury B & B”
Review of Sherwood B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sherwood B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Frilford B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, luxury B & B”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Echoing what everyone else has already said. The only negative was that although there us wifi, it cannot be accessed from the top floor where we stayed. Frances did say we were welcome to cone downstairs and sit in the dining room to use the wifi, but all I wanted was to be able to browse the web a bit whilst lying in bed.

Not a big problem at all, and overall a top rate place to stay. We drive to the park and ride and took the bus into Oxford, which was cheap and easy.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beobrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
31
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We decided at the last minute to stay overnight on a business trip to Oxford and came across Sherwood through the internet and booked directly with the owner. We loved it - beautiful house in a beautiful setting. Lovely clean bedroom with en suite and a very hearty breakfast - all we could want for an excellent price.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I stayed at this B&B for a 1 night trip towards the end of June. I got a good rate through Laterooms.com. However Frances made me aware that it may be cheaper booked direct.
The house is set on a lane next to Frilford Heath Golf Club. It is a large house and is set over three floors. It is very new (6 Years I believe) and has been open as a B&B for two years. It has electric gates as you drive up which are opened to let you in. Plenty of parking. Frances welcomes you and I was shown to the top rear room. The whole house is beautifully decorated and very highly finished with solid oak doors and stairs. My bedroom looked out onto the rear massive gardens which also included a swimming pool. I was given a key to my room. There was a large Flat screen TV in the room and a good selection of tea/coffee facilities. The bathroom was very good with everything you need. Overall I was very impressed and slept very well in the king size bed.
Breakfast was served downstairs and was excellent and well thought out with anything you wanted available.
A really good stay with the only downside being no Vodafone signal except for leaning right of the upstairs window. But if you want to forget your phone …..perfect!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Rooms were exceptional, beautifully decorated with all mod cons. Clean, very nice quality furniture. Bathroom and bath was amazing, complimentary toiletries were a nice touch. The grounds were extensive and lovely, the house is modern but beautifully done. Breakfast was 1st class too. Good quality produce, beautifully cooked and presented. Frances made us feel very welcome in her fabulous home. We would definitely stay again and would recommend this hotel to single business travellers or couples.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissasmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Sherwood is located on a quiet country cul-de-sac. It is a modern house but built on a grand scale. Internally everything is spacious, the rooms and bathroom exceptionally so, although perhaps a bit lacking in character. The owner, Frances, was very helpful during our stay and also cooked an excellent breakfast! We took up her suggestion of a local walk, continuing down the lane then following a public footpath across the golf course, and I wish we'd had longer to explore the area.

For me, the downside of staying at Sherwood is the isolated location: no pub or other amenities within walking distance, although there is a pub a couple of miles away in the next village.

In summary, if you are after Cotswold charm and traditional features then look elsewhere, but if you want a relaxing stay in comfortable surroundings with a v. modern bathroom then I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hcday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frilford
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel
2.5 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
6.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
5.1 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood B&B

Property: Sherwood B&B
Address: Sherwood Oxford Road, Frilford, Abingdon OX13 5NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon > Frilford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frilford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sherwood B&B Frilford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing