We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great owners.”
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Plough Inn
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great owners.”
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Basically if you are staying in the area and dont like souless chain hotels this is a good bet. The couple that own it are brilliant, really hospitable and friendly. Food is good, room is nice and you feel really welcome. Attitude summed up by a guy walking in to the pub asking for help with his car, the owner and chefs rushed out to help immediately and sorted him out.....really nice people and well worth a stay.

Room Tip: all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestwood35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    40
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
46
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We booked on short notice. Were made to feel very welcome as soon as we got there. Nothing was to much. We stayed in the 4 poster bed room which was spacious, well equipped, clean and comfortable. The en suite was a large wet room.

Set in an idyllic setting - super for walks and local sites. Village is beautiful. Thatched houses, so close to the river.

The Plough serves chinese food in the evening - proper chines food - not the stuff you get from your run of the mill chinese take aways.

Our stay for room, breakfast, meal for two, bottle of wine came t just over £100 - bargain.

Thank you John and Mary for a lovely welcome and stay - we will definitely be back for another stay later in the year. Keep well.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Lovely olde world thatched property, low beams etc...watch your head if your over 5ft 10in !
The establishment is run by a lovely couple, John and Mary.
Very friendly locals, excellent Chinese food, John and Mary are from that part of the world originally.
A good selection of beers and lager etc including real ale.
Clean functional rooms, mine had a four poster bed.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malkie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

My colleague and I stayed here overnight for a business trip. We received a lovely, warm welcome and I was taken to a gorgeous large bedroom with high beams and a beautiful 4 poster bed. The room was lovely and warm and the shower was hot and powerful!! Both rooms were spotlessly clean.
We had dinner in the pub restaurant and sampled 2 starters and 2 main meals. The food was of a very high standard, as indeed was the large full english breakfast.
We would both highly recommend staying at this hotel (and eating there!) We will certainly stay there again

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YORKSHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

This accomodation is good value for money , rooms clean with character, good breakfast. The owners are very eager to make your stay perfect. The Chinese food in the restaurant is the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEEBEEYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

What a great find - cute rooms, great Chinese food and cosy pub. The owners are lovely and couldn't do more for you. The 1st review must be old as we had a delicious full English breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie-Crouch_End
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We booked on very short notice to stay overnight. The Plough is a lovely thatched Inn, run by a Chinese couple, and we were warmly welcomed by John who showed us to a very spacious and well set out room. The bed was the most comfortable thing we have slept in in ages (wanted to take it home with us!), the pillows soft also. There was a flat-screen tv if you need that sort of thing, a free-standing wardrobe, tea & coffee making facilities and a large bathroom that had a bath and a separate shower. We only used the shower which was very efficient. John & Mary offer Chinese food, either in the bar or in the restaurant, and we chose to eat that evening in the bar with the friendly locals. The food was excellent, crispy chilli beef, crispy seaweed (my two favourites), singapore rice, noodles with beansprouts (which also had onion & spring onion) and chilli chicken. We had a very nice house white and thoroughly enjoyed every mouthful. After a blissful sleep, we had a full english breakfast the next day which was also of very high quality. All I can say now is that I hope we will soon be back in the area for work so that we can stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearlpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton Hampden
2.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
696 reviews
4.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.5 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
243 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Railway Inn
The Railway Inn
#2 of 3 in Culham
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Abingdon Road, Clifton Hampden OX14 3EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Clifton Hampden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton Hampden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plough B & B is a 16th Century building which has kept some of its original features such as its thatched roof and inglenook fireplace set in the heart of Oxfordshire near the river Thames. 2.7 miles to Dorchester on Thames, 4-5 miles to Didcot & Harwell, Milton Park and Abingdon, 7 miles to center of Oxford & university colleges. All of our rooms are en suite with hair dryer, trouser press, tea & coffee making facilities,a small fridge, 32" - 43" free view televisions with USB ports for playing home movies & photos, bluray player provided upon request, Wifi is free ( fibre optic broad band up to 200 meg. will be installed before mid of December 2015 ). * Please note there is no restauratn or pub in the building. * Free parking is ganranteed available even for 600 size van. There are a few restaurants nearby. The Barley Mow restaurant is 5 mins walk away by the bridge near the river Thames, The chequershere the chef cooks deliciou food is 1.1 miles and 3 mins drive or if you fancy a delicious indian or another traditional pub food is 1.3 miles to next village in Long Whitenham. The famous Crazy Bear hotel & Restaurant is also 3.5 miles away. A small village store & post office is across the main road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Clifton Hampden
The Plough Inn Clifton Hampden, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing