We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Plough Inn
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Cold wet windy night, and we find this charming, warm, friendly place to stay. Pretty room, quite large, bathroom ensuite bath and separate shower. Towels could have been softer, but this applies to so many places. Very good hosts, very comfy four poster bed. So warm. Thoroughly recommend it, if you are near here. Oh yes breakfast was good as well. Fantastic old place with thatch, very atmospheric.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    40
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
43
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Aust
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Had a couple of wonderful nights here. Staff was very pleasant and room was spotlessly clean. Although the was no normal coffee in the room, only decaf, when asked , they raced off and bought some.
They even offered to do my washing, which they did at no extra charge!
Breakfast was delightful and well cooked. Had a good supply of everything.
We knew that evening meals weren't served but we were suggested to walk over the river to a pub, should only take 7 minutes which it did, but thank goodness for the iPhone torch as the walk was scarey.
Thanks for a lovely couple of days

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sally307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We arrived having booked a double room with a four poster bed to be informed we were getting a free upgrade to one of their suites! A good start indeed!! The room was very large with a separate large bathroom containing a bath and large separate shower. The bedroom contained a comfortable four poster bed and a large flat screen TV. breakfast on Sunday morning consisted of a full cooked English breakfast and both the hosts asked several times if we would like more of anything. My only comment about the main building is that it looks like it is work in progress and could do with being spruced up a little bit. Another traveller made a comment about tools been left lying about which makes the place look untidy. All in all though a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pea-n-pod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was our third visit. Such a superb place. We enjoyed once again room 3 The Suite. I can thoroughly recommend this room. I cried leaving this morning as their restaurant will no longer be serving food in the evenings. It is such a shame as their Chinese food was out of this world. They are not serving food any longer because their restaurant was too quiet which is heart breaking.
They will still be doing bed and breakfast and the breakfast we had this morning was once again excellent so I wish the owners well for the future.
For potential guests there is a pub serving food in walking distance and I am told a very good indian just over a mile away and I believe other good eateries are also close to travel to.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresaplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was a last minute booking on the way back from Dorset.
It's not quite what you would expect, HOWEVER, we were blown away by the warm welcome, friendliness, and eagerness to please of John and Mary (A charming Chinese couple) who own and run this little gem!!
We stayed ONE night and we had a beautiful room (more like a suite) had four poster bed, huge flat screen TV and blue ray player, bathroom with bath AND very powerful roomy shower. It was delightful and spotlessly clean, warm and welcoming. Not part of the main building, it was a thatched wooden clad building with french doors looking out to the small courtyard. Absolutely charming!!

We ate in the hotel restaurant (which was Chinese obviously), but before that (as my husband is a lover of real ales) we ventured out to the pub/B&B that he had stayed in years before, only to find that it was closed. He was disappointed and accepted he'd make do with a G&T back at the hotel. When we went into the bar, my Husband asked the young man behind the bar if he had ANY real ales, the young man pointed to the casks sitting on the bar!! THREE of them. He was offered a taste of each, after choosing one he liked, he exclaimed that this was IN FACT the best pint of real ale he'd had all weekend!!! Who would have know this would happen!!
The food was excellent, beautifully presented, appetising and hot. I have to say I had the most GORGEOUS toffee apples with vanilla ice cream, absolutely yummy!!
We slept well and had a freshly cooked breakfast (which we had to order the night before). We were allowed plenty of time to check out as nothing was too much trouble for John and Mary. We had a last coffee and went on our way.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone, not least for the owners great sense of humour. He was very funny and made our stay VERY memorable indeed!!
Thank you John and Mary and staff for an enjoyable stay!!

Room Tip: The only criticism would be that the hotel is right on a traffic light junction, if it had been a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBBB090858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We were filming nearby and I booked this for the presenter and cameraman and I - what a treat such sweet rooms spotless and cosy and the food served was utterly delicious. Worth going for the food alone ! The owners were so charming and great fun . Would recommend was really fabulous ! And I am fussy!

Room Tip: I loved the ones outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Didn't stay at the hotel but enjoyed the Chinese food from the Restaurant.
The restaurant was recommend to by the owners of a local hotel in Dorchester.
Didn't disappoint as the food was really tasty and great value with the hosts really welcoming and friendly.
Look forward to returning and would probably book a room at the Plough next time rather than staying local and travelling to and from the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redmoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton Hampden
2.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Railway Inn
The Railway Inn
#2 of 3 in Culham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zouch Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Abingdon Road, Clifton Hampden OX14 3EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Clifton Hampden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton Hampden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plough B & B is a 16th Century building which has kept some of its original features such as its thatched roof and inglenook fireplace set in the heart of Oxfordshire near the river Thames. 2.7 miles to Dorchester on Thames, 4-5 miles to Didcot & Harwell, Milton Park and Abingdon, 7 miles to center of Oxford & university colleges. All of our rooms are en suite with hair dryer, trouser press, tea & coffee making facilities,a small fridge, 32" - 43" free view televisions with USB ports for playing home movies & photos, bluray player provided upon request, Wifi is free ( fibre optic broad band up to 200 meg. will be installed before mid of December 2015 ). * Please note there is no restauratn or pub in the building. * Free parking is ganranteed available even for 600 size van. There are a few restaurants nearby. The Barley Mow restaurant is 5 mins walk away by the bridge near the river Thames, The chequershere the chef cooks deliciou food is 1.1 miles and 3 mins drive or if you fancy a delicious indian or another traditional pub food is 1.3 miles to next village in Long Whitenham. The famous Crazy Bear hotel & Restaurant is also 3.5 miles away. A small village store & post office is across the main road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Clifton Hampden
The Plough Inn Clifton Hampden, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing