We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cracking breakfast, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Railway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Railway Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Culham B&B and Inns
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cracking breakfast, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Coming down the Thames path we were gagging for a good pint and were not disappointed. Had a great mixed grill and a few pints from the hand-pump. all of which were great, and then the next morning the best breakfast of the whole trip.
Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickieBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    31
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
18
13
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Walking the Thames Way and chose the Railway Inn for our first overnight stop. Great little find, friendly and welcoming staff. Good beer and good food. The breakfast was the best we had on the whole walk. Of course there were trains (it is called the Railway Inn) but when you have been walking all day you soon get to sleep and nothing wakes you up. Would recommend this establishment to anyone walking the Thames Way.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

The staff were really nice and friendly. Breakfast was good. Room was terrible. twin room beds were so small you could not roll over with-out losing the sheet or falling out. As others have remarked,the railway's go's right past. Ideal if you like your trains. But from 5am the freight trains go pass and rattled the pillow under my head. Also made our bathroom floor virbrate for some reason. And the bathroom, taking a pee while standing up involved leaning against the wall and ducking. The roof eaves cut through the bathroom. Had to duck the whole time I was in there.
For reference dont get out of bed to fast if you are in the top bedrooms. The dent in the celling was from me head..sorry about that!
Plus points..Abingdon bridge beer server in the bar is very nice.Food nice pub grub.Breakfast good.
Bad points....wish I had slept in the car.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndon011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We had a pleasant stay, a nice evening in the bar with nice food. The owners are very friendly and helpful.
Our room was in a kind of annex, clean and comfortable. The bed was a little small, but comfortable.
The trains were as noisy as we expected, but next to our room was a water pump that came on loudly every time somebody used a water tap, flushed a toilet or had a shower which was occasionally during the night and then very frequently after 7 am.
The floors were also creaky, and we could hear the people in the next room walking to and from the toilet, opening doors and dropping things.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidAndLynda_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

A great place to stay. Friendly welcome and a clean comfortable room. Dinner in the restasurant offered a simple and perfectly adequate menu. Nice to stay somewhere at a B&B price with a restaurant and bar on site. Staff were great and were happy to supply a packed lunch when requested.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CommsExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth, devon, uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed here halfway through a long car journey in order to break it up a bit. I chose it randomly after looking at reviews and overall thought it was ok.

Our room was comfortable enough although the bathroom was very small. We ate in the pub downstairs in the evening. The staff were friendly and the food nice, however we did have to wait a long time for our starters (they did have a big wedding anniversary party in though).

We needed to get an early night as had an early start the next morning, however there was a band playing right outside our window until mid-night and as the room was soo hot we had to keep the window open. I appreciate that live music at a pub could be expected & normally we would enjoy it, however I do feel that some warning of this when we booked the room would have been nice as we didn't get much sleep before we had to be up.

Breakfast in the morning was lovely, especially the wild boar sausage.

Overall, this b&b is ok but I can't say there was much about it that would make me really want to go back. I would probably stay elsewhere on this journey next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,157 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed on a Saturday night, good beers, decent food, friendly staff and locals. Small lounge has live music Saturday nights and the place is full with 20 people and the band but lively fun if that's your thing. Comfortable room at reasonable rate and excellent fresh cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a night without the music if you want an early night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culham
3.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
4.6 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 1 in Clifton Hampden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.4 mi away
Zouch Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Inn

Property: The Railway Inn
Address: Station Road, Culham OX14 3BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Culham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Culham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Railway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Railway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Railway Inn Culham, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing