We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly beautiful place run by lovely people!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coedmor Self catering Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caerdeon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coedmor Self catering Holiday Cottages
cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A truly beautiful place run by lovely people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

My husband and I wanted a short break and we spent 2 days at this guest house. What a welcome we had! On arrival we were served a freshly baked (whole!) cake with cups of tea in a conservatory that overlooked the magnificent scenery. Leo and Mike were fantastic hosts and made us feel completely at home, even with a 1 year old! The breakfasts were so tasty and the rooms were spacious and clean, with attention to small details. The guest house is filled with magnificent paintings, created by Leo and it really was an incredible experience. We will definitely return in the future! Thank-you so much!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bex99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwest England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

Well what a lovely time we had at Coedmor this weekend. We were given such a friendly warm welcome which we greatly appreciated after our 9 mile walk, along with the extremely tasty cakes and scones! From the style and cleanliness of Coedmor, right through to Leo and Mikes generous hospitality and delicious breakfast (we loved the potato cakes!) there is nothing we would have changed. We both look forward to staying here again in the future and will delight in recommending Coedmor to our family and friends. Thank you once again for a truly wonderful stay Leo and Mike.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobAndRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

My wife and I and two friends wanted to cycle the Mawddach trail and we stumbled across this absolute gem on Trip Advisor. We had the B&B rooms in the main house during our two night stay. They were beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean with beautiful views across the estuary for one of them. The house is immaculately furnished with great elegance and taste. Leo is a well respected artist and a lot of his work adorns the walls. On arrival we were treated to a freshly baked cake and a tray of tea served in their beautiful conservatory. Mike and Leo are wonderful hosts and take great care to ensure you enjoy your stay. The breakfast in the beautiful, airy dining room is 5 star!
The position of the house overlooking the estuary is wonderful. Mike and Leo have worked their magic on the lovely gardens which are a joy to stroll through.
We have recommended this place to family and friends and hope to return soon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregD0297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

My husband and I just spent 4 glorious day at Coedmor. The hosts, Mike and Leo, are the very best. Nothing was a trouble for them. Our room at the back of the house was large and very comfortable. The beds are comfy and we had two chairs and a nice fTV (which we never even turned on!) The location is super. Near everything. The weather was a little damp and cool but we had a great time anyway. We were there with another couple, friends from Norway, so we had our wine and cheese in the conservatory. The breakfasts were a real delight. Each morning a full Welsh breakfast was offered along with specials of the day, including a souffle, pancakes, etc. We highly recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

Myself & my partner have just returned from a very relaxing few days in the self catering barn at Coedmor.
The hospitality shown by Leo & Mike was excellent, nothing was too much trouble, & the welcome pack was a great surprise.
The Barn itself is situated in the garden, and has a small raised deck area with the most beautiful views of the estuary & Cader Idris beyond. Spotlessly clean & very well appointed, with comfy bed with crisp white sheets
In a great location for walking & cycling, close to the beaches at Barmouth. Hired bicyles & crossed over the Barmouth Bridge & along the "MADDACH TRAIL" giving fantastic estuary & mountain views.
Looking forward to returning later this year, with any luck we will be able to experience the B & B in the main house.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alandutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

During February my wife and I and our two year old daughter stayed at Coemor cottage near Barmouth. The quality of the accomadation far exceeded our expectations and the surrounding area (gardens) were beautiful. The owners were very welcoming, and made it quite clear that if we needed anything to ask. My colleagues at work asked me to keep the details of the cottage for future use and I would definately reccommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

Viewed from sea level or from the surrounding mountains, the Mawddach estuary provides some of the most beautiful scenery in Wales.
It was from The Precipice Walk near Dolgellau that we looked down on the river and woods which hold the amazing house called Coedmor. The house itself held even more spectacular delights: afternoon tea served in the most gracious conservatory overlooking both the Mawddach and Cader Idris cannot be surpassed.
Although this is the home of Mike and Leo, we were told that the lounge, dining room and conservatory were ours to relax in, and after each day’s long walk, to come back to such a tranquil, luxurious residence was sheer bliss. The house also has many pieces of Leo’s stunning artwork on display.
The quality of the accommodation is top class. Beautiful beds, linen, TV and comfy seats in each room, also spacious en-suites with lots of fluffy towels!
The 4-course breakfasts, using locally sourced produce, and ‘customised’ to each individual’s requirements, were truly scrumptious. We have shown a photo of the table laid with breakfast starters – a work of art in itself.
We took advantage of the availability of evening meals, and were treated to the most amazing dining experience. From start to finish the quality and presentation of each course was superb. The daily printed menu gave choices for both meat-eaters and vegetarians and what man could resist lemon soufflé, coffee cheesecake, raspberry and chocolate roulade or home-made ginger ice-cream?
A walk in the grounds of Coedmor captures the true beauty of Wales: the whole essence of this delightful place is one of tranquillity.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caerdeon
2.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Llannerch Goch Luxury Cottages
Llannerch Goch Luxury Cottages
#9 of 11 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Railway Cottage
The Railway Cottage
#2 of 3 in Frongoch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coedmor Self catering Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coedmor Self catering Holiday Cottages

Property: Coedmor Self catering Holiday Cottages
Address: Coedmor A496 Caerdeon | Barmouth, Caerdeon, Snowdonia National Park LL42 1TL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Caerdeon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Caerdeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park, Coedmor Cottage and Coedmor Barn stand in an acre of woodland and landscaped gardens overlooking the Mawddach Estuary with magnificent views to the Cadair Idris mountain range. Coedmor Harbour Cottage is a traditional fisherman's cottage situated in Barmouth. A perfect location for a romantic break with miles of sandy beaches and cosy inns on your doorstep. Cader Cottage is located in the heart of the historic market town of Dolgellau, at the base of the Cadair Idris Mountain Range. This traditional 3 storey stone built cottage is an ideal place for that Welsh Retreat. We have four units newly renovated and furnished to a high standard, the cottages provide comfortable accommodation for 2/3 people throughout the year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing