We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully-furnished working farm with wonderful...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
The house from the garden
House from garden
Patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Carnwath, Biggar, South Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
R H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully-furnished working farm with wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed 30 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Spacious period house beautifully decorated with antiques, comfortable beds, and a modern kitchen, with the farmyard on one side and a garden and expansive views on the other. Hilary and Carey are delightful hosts, and we enjoyed a front-row seat for sheep-shearing time. In summer, don't miss the brilliant Little Sparta garden just down the road. The nearby market town of Biggar has lots of great food choices, and a good museum; West Linton is also charming and Edinburgh not too far away. We walked out to the ancient henge on the far end of the farm for a great view. If I could give six stars, I would!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2018
Thank you so much for your very kind review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. You and your family were a real pleasure to host and we hope very much to see you back again in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
427rosali...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 29 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful visit, so welcoming and relaxing. The property has all that you need and we will be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2018
Thank you so much! Hoping to see you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hjv4
Canowindra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A quiet, beautiful spot, that is comfortable, Quirky and close to big cities yet out in th ecountryside”
Reviewed 12 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This was a great place to spend some time at. The accomodation was comfortable, really easy to get to and close to the bigger cities of Glasgow and Edinburgh yet totally in the countryside. Hilary was wonderful, friendly and helpful, I enjoyed our discussions and interactions and she was able to make some great suggestions on what to see locally and also further afield. The garden and Farmyard was a great place to be in and the dogs were so friendly. We will definitely come her again for a big break and recommend it to friends and family. Thankyou.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2018
It was really great to meet you and we so much enjoyed the time we spent with you. You were also such perfect guests - the communication pre-stay was easy and you left the house in great order. I'm really delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and would love to have you - or your friends and family - back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmJaMa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed 13 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a weekend to get away from it all and we could not have picked a better place! The rental used to be B&B but is now self catering and is on a working farm. The house itself it stunning, a 17th century building which still has an original feel to it but also has all the mod-cons you would ever need. The hiuse well equipped, clean with such comfortable beds and it is homely. The views are stunning, we were really lucky with the weather, but even on bleak days I imagine it is beautiful. What makes this place really special are the owners. They showed us through the house to make sure we knew how everything worked and let us meet the lambs and a brand new calf- which made my daughter's weekend. We were allowed to basically have the run of the farm and gardens which was lovely. They were so welcoming and had lots of advice about good places to visit but they weren't intrusive at all. Their dogs, cat, horses and peacocks also made us feel at home! We were only there for a couple of nights but we were very sad to leave and can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2018
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Weston and for your very kind words. It was a real pleasure to host your visit and we are delighted you enjoyed it so much. It was also a pleasure to seen your daughter so happy around the animals - and they enjoyed her attention very much too! You are great guests and we would love to see you back again in future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkipandLi...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Weston Farm was a beautiful place to begin our tour of Scotland. Hilary was a wonderful host and made us feel very welcomed. She also gave us many suggestions as to where to visit during our stay. The B&B is centrally located making many day trips possible. It was a fun place to stay!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Experience The Farm!”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I loved this B&B for its wonderful accommodations on a working farm that brought back childhood memories of growing up in West Virginia. Hillary was a superb hostess, as friendly and gracious as she was knowledgeable. She had excellent recommendations for what to see and where to eat in the area. I loved how the farm dogs greeted me in the morning for a walk down the road to pastures and pens where their cattle and sheep were starting to stir. Don't miss the garden Hillary so lovingly tends, and if her mate's not working out on the property somewhere, be sure to meet him, too! This was a great, centrally-located stepping-off point for the day excursions I made. For a true feeling of Scottish farm life (and quite the sincere way of life it is in Scotland) you can't go wrong with Weston Farm! A gem!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenG310...
1 review
“Fantastic spot”
Reviewed 18 March 2017 for a stay in June 2016

My partner and I stayed at weston farm during a quick trip to the uk we had from New zealand. We booked into weston farm at very short notice which was potentially really anoying for the hosts, particularly as they were heading out. None the less they did an absolutly fantastic Job of hosting us and made us feel very welcome. Would definitely reccomened staying here!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2017
It was really great to meet you and it was a pleasure to host your stay. Thanks for your kind words and your recommendation!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing