We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A rare treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Huntstile Organic Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Goathurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A rare treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

it is hard not to want to keep this a complete secret - it is completely charming, extremely well kept and very tranquil. The attention to detail throughout the farm is wonderful and delightful.

This is as near to private camping as you can get, and is perfect for any one wanting a bespoke camping experience - sharing a lovely pitch with a few other tents. Our children loved feeding the animals in the morning, the goats, pigs chickens and the dogs were all very friendly.

The compost loo by the camping was clearly the highlight for my five year old, however, for my husband and I a delicious breakfast, fastidiously clean loos and showers made our camping trip very memorable and easy.

I would recommend this to anyone, it is incredibly hospitable and the team running it make what is clearly hard work look effortless and were very welcoming and kind. We look forward to returning before too long.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoodReviews26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
89
78
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Heanor, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have stayed here twice for B&B; first time was good in 2011 but was better in 2013.
The Huntstile can be awkward to find nestled among narrow winding country lanes, but well worth the effort.
The whole venue is rustic and bursting with charm, certainly organic, plenty of parking space, very warm welcome, very clean, sooooo comfortable. The food doesn’t come any fresher and is also of fantastic quality, a good variety of different teas and coffee in the room.
We would go out of our way to stay here again when travelling to the south west
We have no hesitation in recommending The Huntstile.

Room Tip: We generously upgraded to the Old Wine Cellar, which is a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed here with my two young children during mid-week, when there were few other guests around. We had booked for just one night but stayed for two because we liked it so much. Yes it is a popular wedding venue, which admittedly made me think twice before booking, but don't because this place is the real deal. Working organic farm? Yes it really is. Great food? Yep. The owners? Awesome. I only saw the room we stayed in, but it was very nice and the attention to detail was impressive. I also thought the price was very reasonable. This is the kind of place I would make a point of coming back to.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cerbie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We found this little nugget nestled in the Somerset Countryside for our wedding & what a find!

From the very start Lizzie, John & the team made us feel at ease in their wonderful home. Everywhere you turn is something that has been made with love & thought. We hired the whole farm for the weekend & Friendly Cottage- our guests were so impressed with their accommodation- every room, hut, cottage etc has been done to a high standard and all had fresh flowers, milk and anything else you needed for a comfortable stay.

The food- Wow what can we say!! Sam provided a BBQ for 40 of our family and friends on the Friday which was excellent. The food for our wedding breakfast & evening was outstanding- so much fresh, grown on site food most of our guests were helping themselves to seconds, thirds etc! Sam the head chef is FANTASTIC- everyone commented on the high standard of food throughout the weekend.

The location and farm, marquee etc speaks for itself- you have to go to appreciate how beautiful it is. They have made the wedding weekend of our dreams but you can see the hard work all of the friendly staff have put into it. You have to walk or grab a lift to the Stone Circle- this sold it for us, get yourself up there and you know what I mean!

We cannot praise Huntstile high enough- if you have never been you must. We cannot wait to return for a Sunday lunch and stay in the Gypsy Caravan or Shepherds Hut. There is not many people who can open up their home and do so in such a professional way to make all feel so welcome.

Thank you to Lizzie, John, Sam & the whole team

Mr & Mrs Morris x

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank El300162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We were guests at a wedding reception held there and whilst we didn't stay (something we now regret) it was a truly wonderful setting for the bride's big day. The glorious weather did help but the location, the layout of the marquee and a great hog roast would be marvellous in any weather.

Cant think of a better location for a wedding and reception

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mcq15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We got married at Huntstile last month after a previous two stays.

We don't live in the area but once we came across the Huntstile website we knew we had to have a look and once we saw the rooms, the view from the stone circle, met the team and eaten the all-important brekkie we were decided.

As we stay away alot with work, we were desperate to aviod the polished corporate feel of the hotels we spend so much time in but wanted accomodation for a weekend and great food - Huntstile did not disappoint.

The accomodation is beautiful, and the additional camping allows for a decent amount of affordable room for everyone. The Marquee and Dining Room are all gorgeous and the guests loved having the living room to have a sit down and a cup of tea in, The view from the stone circle was a real show stealer and we have some wonderful photos to treasure from this trip.

Onto the food, which is absolutely incredible, On the Friday night we had 40ish for dinner, drinks and decorating. Sam did an amazing job of keeping us all fed on great stone-oven cooked Pizza's and I really felt the wedding had already begun. The next day we had the wedding BBQ- perfect! Great quality of a variety of meat to suit all. However, for me the king of the show was definitely the cake of cheese; the cheddar really was the best I've ever tasted, I just wish I could have fitted more in.

Lizzie, Sam, John and the team were so flexible and acomodating before and during the day, but also really felt like they were leaving us to it once the party started - it really felt like our home for the weekend.

If you are thinking of this as a venue and are looking for something away from the formality and packaged offerings you see in so many places, I really cannot recommend Huntstile more highly. It really was the perfect weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank waggledance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Just stayed a night at Huntstile Organic Farm whilst visiting Glastonbury. The rooms at the farm are truly beautiful and the setting is great. It's only 10mins from the M5 but totally off the beaten track and so quiet. Breakfast was particularly good with Lizzie (the owner) offering a selection of freshly made food, most of which was from the farm itself. I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone who appreciates peace and quiet as well as great service.
Two minor gripes: the TV in out bedroom had no signal BUT we didn't mention this as we had no desire to watch TV (the farm goats are far more entertaining) and I suggest that Lizzie's husband isn't left to do the "meet and greet" as he didn't seem to appreciate our arrival with a "Isn't my wife around?" response to our appearing at the door. Neither of these things would stop us returning as it is an excellent farm B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rob-Bewdley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathurst
4.2 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
8.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
7.0 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Walnut Tree Hotel
The Walnut Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Petherton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntstile Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntstile Organic Farm

Property: Huntstile Organic Farm
Address: Park Lane | Bridgwater, Somerset, Goathurst, Bridgwater TA5 2DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater > Goathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goathurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Huntstile Organic Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Huntstile Organic Farm. Excellent food and service, lovely old farmhouse with many original features dating back to 1430. Wide Tudor doorways and real wood-burning stoves, stone mullioned windows and exposed beams all contribute to Huntstile's unique character. Peaceful and out of the hustle and bustle - the perfect getaway, and just 2.5 Hours from London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, PitchUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huntstile Organic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntstile Organic Farm Hotel Goathurst
Huntstile Organic Farm Goathurst, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing