We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Sunday lunch to have out in Hampshire”
Review of The Star Inn

The Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Bentley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Star Inn Bentley Freehouse, Farnham, Surrey & Hampshire - Good, home-made pub food, real ales & great wines in a tranquil setting.
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Took my family to The Star at Bentley or Sunday lunch. We have eaten there several times before. The food, service atmosphere were all really good. I doubt you could get another in Hampshire for such good value. I'm going back again very soon.

    • Value
    • Food
Thank nickrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear nickrp
Thank you for your review and possibly the best tag line we have ever recieved! We all work very hard to create the food and atmosphere of the pub so it is a pleasure to read your review.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon
kind regards
Ed, Becs and The Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2018

We were a party of four, three of us had the roast beef, served rare, as requested, which was cooked to perfection and one the roast chicken, also perfectly cooked. These were accompanied by roast potatoes, parsnips, brocoli, red cabbage and beans. The potatoes were lovely and crisp on the outside and soft and fluffy on the inside. The vegetables were just how I like them, not overcooked and with just the right amount of bite.

For pudding I opted for the bread and butter pudding and cream. This was a proper home made pudding, slices of buttered white bread layered with sultanas and cooked in a vanilla custard with a crisp sugar topping absolutely delicious. The others opted for Sticky Toffee Pudding with Warm Toffee Sauce, Raspberry Meringue Iced Bombe with a Mixed Berry Coulis and Cheesecake of the Week, again all home made which, judging by the sounds and comments coming from my companions, were also delicious.

There was a good selection of real ales and reasonably priced wines, a very nice ambience and the staff were very friendly and efficient.

Thoroughly recommended, we will definitely be going again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Graham W
many thanks for your review of the pub. We are so glad you enjoyed your lunch and had a good selection of our roasts and desserts. We work very hard to make all our food so it is so rewarding to get such positive feedback!
We look forward to welcoming you again soon
kind regards
Ed, Becs and The Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

Fantastic roast dinner, beef perfectly cooked. Staff friendly and the venue has quite a homely feel about it. Highly recommend.

Thank Mathew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear Mathew W
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your Sunday Roast here! We really try to make the pub as relaxed and friendly as we can so it is great to read that you found it so! We look forward to welcoming you again soon
kind regards
Ed, Becs and the Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

This was our first time visit to the Star, had a drink in the bar first and it had as good ambiance, busy but still plenty of seating. The restaurant was busy but they served everyone in good time, no long waits.
The food was excellent we had soup, pie of the week and the burger, all were homemade and all arrived hot.
Only had room to share a dessert but was also good.
The staff were very busy but still made you feel welcome.
The prices are no more expensive than any others in the area.
This is one pub/restaurant we will return back to.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear Barry O
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time here and sampled both the bar and restaurant atmosphere. I am thrilled to read your comments about the staff who work very hard to provide a relaxed but professional service. We very much try to serve our homemade food promptly and again I am happy to read that you felt that was achieved.
Many thanks for taking the time to review the pub and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Ed, Becs and The Star team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

Met up with a friend for pre-booked lunch. We waited a while to be served but were warmly greeted by the manager. I felt that the food, though good was a little over priced but bearing in mind the exclusive nature of Bentley no great surprise. Overall a pleasant enough experience. GS

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank graham s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear graham s
thank you for reviewing the pub. I am sorry you felt our food slightly overpriced as we strive to offer value for money in general and are few pounds cheaper than the other pubs in the area. That being said we are glad you enjoyed our food, which is all homemade and hope to welcome you again in the future!
kind regards
Ed, Becs and The Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Star Inn also viewed

 
Farnham, Surrey
 

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing