We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wife's Birthday Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Star Inn

The Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Bentley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Star Inn Bentley Freehouse, Farnham, Surrey & Hampshire - Good, home-made pub food, real ales & great wines in a tranquil setting.
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Last weekend my wife & I organised a Sunday lunch for the family at The Star to celebrate her birthday.
We had 16 adults & 3 children (2-6).

From the moment we arrived we were all welcomed & the service was fantastic.
A range of starters, main meals & puddings were ordered which all came out on time & tasted fantastic. The bar staff & waiting staff could not have been more helpful, polite & efficient.

Overall the food was amazing & the whole experience was great. I can't wait to go back!!!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank pbunnage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We stopped there for lunch on our way to the new Forrest by luck. Lunch was very tasty and service very friendly. We sat in the garden and had a refreshing break.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank edgarp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We called in on spec not having eaten here for a few years. We both had the excellent roast topside of beef, with very generous helpings of both the beef and the vegetables plus a Yorkshire puddding!! Roast potatoes, roast parsnips, brocolli, leeks, carrots and red cabbage, plus a good gravy. Wow! That's quite a selection!! All good although the roast potatoes were a tad overcooked.

We were asked how we would like our beef - medium etc - we've never been asked that before for a roast - a great idea. Served as ordered - lean and good flavour. We thought it excellent value at only £12.95.

Quite an extensive menu including for starters and desserts, also fairly priced. I had the garlic and chilli prawns with sourdough bread - again a generous portion and at £6.95. Range of baguettes, jackets, snacks, etc.

Service friendly and attentive. Decor - "typical pub."

Red wines £16-21, that's competitive, although we didn't try. Lime and soda only £0.90 for the "dash cordial."

Steak night on Wednesdays and a chilli night on Thursdays both look interesting.

FSA food hygiene rating is 5 star, the maximum - that's very important to us - excellent.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RayPhC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Second visit to this pub, and I'll definitely be paying a visit more often! Lovely pub with a nice area out the back if the pub. Food is essentially pub grub done well. Pub classic and a few nice surprises, all of great quality, generously portioned and reasonably priced. Very good drinks selection. My daughter enjoyed the children's scampi, and the salmon fishcakes are a must! Staff friendly and welcoming. All in all, a great little place for a drink, some food, or both!

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank 541matte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Met a friend here for dinner on Saturday 26th May 2018. Greeted by the friendly staff and seated quickly. We ordered food which came quickly and was delicious, all home made and very reasonably priced. The pub had a friendly and welcoming atmosphere, we will definitely be back.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Chantelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Star Inn also viewed

 
Lower Wield, Alresford
 

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing