We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Awful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woodland Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clapham
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just back from this awful place. We were booked in for two nights on a voucher deal. The 1st room we were given room 16, was dark, dingy, dirty and smelly. We could live with the tired, dirty decor and the neglected appearance, but couldn't accept the stained and smelling bed linen or the mouldy bathroom. We asked for another room which we were given. It was a little better, but it smelled too. There was just one sheet covering the stained and smelly mattress and I scratched all night! The view from the room was a pile of dirty, partly burned mattresses dumped at the rear of the building in the middle of the grounds. We didn't attempt the evening meal which in part is expensive but given the general unkempt, dingy, neglect of the place, we gave it a miss. Breakfast was no better.
I had to go through a pile of dirty, food encrusted dishes and found only one which was not clean, but not as bad as the others, for my cereal. The cutlery was no cleaner! There was no flora spread for the burnt toast and the breakfast was greasy. Woodland Manor is very run down, dirty, shabby and neglected. We stayed one night instead of the two we had paid for, and couldn't wait to leave!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 106welltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Being at Woodland Manor Hotel is like staying at your Great Aunt Mildred's house: all very dated and a bit dingy (but well-meaning). The rooms could do with a major makeover. The surrounding area was very nice though and the staff were quite accommodating. Nevertheless, we wouldn't come back here.

Room Tip: If you really do plan on staying here, opt for the most expensive room; it might be half decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saskia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We arrived on a Friday evening with 30 minutes before our dinner reservation time. It took almost 20 minutes to check in. Quickly ran to our room, which was the Bunyan Suite. It was freezing cold. Luckily there was a small blow heater which we left running while we went to have dinner. Things improved with a fantastic dinner, perfectly cooked and beautifully served. Relaxing afterwards in front of an open log fire with a large brandy was great. When we went back to our room it was lovely and warm.

The room itself was very clean and the four poster bed was very comfortable. The only thing I would comment on was the choice of furniture - a large table and dining chairs when comfy chairs or a sofa would have been better. We did also notice that the décor was tired, there had been issues with damp in the bay window which needed fixing. The bathroom was large and well decorated. However, the plumbing is awful. Leave the hot tap running and go drink your coffee before even attempting to have a shower or bath. It takes ages for the hot water to come through. The shower is poor as it's tank fed and has no pressure to speak of. overall though the room had a lovely feeling of elegant times past.

The real disaster came on the Saturday morning. Breakfast was awful. The hot food was all in buffet containers that were not heated well enough and as a result none of our breakfast was even remotely warm. We asked quietly if they could microwave our breakfasts to make them edible and were told they didn't have a microwave. They took the plates away to heat up in the oven. They came back a few minutes later on red hot plates, but the food was just about lukewarm. It was honestly the worst breakfast experience I've ever had in a hotel. We didn't dare risk it on Sunday and stuck to a limited choice of cereals and toast. We also felt we were ignored and put it down to the previous day's complaint. However, that may not be true as they seemed very disorganised.

Saturday evening we asked for a recommendation of a local restaurant as the hotel had a large party going on and it was impossible to get to the bar or find anywhere to sit down. The receptionist Clare booked us a brilliant restaurant just down the road.

Overall we found the staff were friendly and helpful and we are confused as to how a hotel can manage to produce a superb dinner and a travesty of a breakfast.

The hotel is a lovely old house but it is in need of some serious attention. Paint is peeling on the outside and you can see the wood is going rotten in places. It could be beautiful but the owners need to invest in restoring the fabric of the building. Similarly they need to invest in up to date systems that speed up check in and check out - and a microwave would probably be useful too!!!

We enjoyed our weekend but it's not a place I would be happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shadylady57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed for two nights with my 86 year old aunt with a Wowcher offer. I had requested twin beds and a walk-in shower, preferably on the ground floor as my aunt cant get into a bath or climb many stairs, therefore we were put in one of the rooms in the cottage in the grounds. It was a very large room with a huge bathroom and was warm and comfortable. The staff are incredible, the most helpful, friendly and accommodating staff I have ever come across anywhere. The breakfast was lovely, we both had a full English and it set us up for the entire day. We also ate at the hotel on both nights because the food on the first night was so delicious and well cooked (pork belly) that we had to experience another meal on the second night. This time we chose rump of lamb but as we were both still full from breakfast (you don't eat as much when you are in your dotage!) we couldn't manage a full meal each so they kindly bought us one meal and two plates and let us help ourselves, which was just enough. Would definitely go again if there was another special offer voucher.

Room Tip: If one member of your party is a little bit disabled, ask to be put in the cottage as it is very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Xstepping back in time, overall it's very spacious, decorated in the style of an old grand manor house,staff are very friendly,breakfast very tasty and dinner was of the highest order. Would recommend the sticky toffee pudding :-)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ned D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

treated my parents to this hotel as a Christmas present they really enjoyed it they didn't stay in the hotel there were a cottage on the side of the manor they were very happy in there lovely and warm & cosy

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We came here on a deal as a late Valentines and it hasbeen perfect. The room is large, comfy and clean. The staff are very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious and we even chose to eat there both nights!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madtaz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clapham
2 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,686 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#1 of 18 in Bedford
785 reviews
1.5 mi away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#14 of 18 in Bedford
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
2.1 mi away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#15 of 18 in Bedford
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Manor Hotel

Address: Green Lane, Clapham, Bedford MK41 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford > Clapham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clapham
Price Range: £63 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodland Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country manor house situated in 3 acres of gardens, 2 miles north of Bedford town centre & train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Woodland Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Manor Bedford
Woodlands Manor Hotel Bedford
Woodland Manor Hotel Clapham, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing