We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woodland Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clapham
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Hotel is very old building in a nice setting.
Very old fashioned, they still use keys to open the doors.
If you want peace and quiet this is the place for you, it doesn't really have any atmosphere with restaurant, bar and reception areas very quite with almost no one around. I get the feeling that most people head into town for drinks and dinner.
Rooms are quite large with all basic amenities and staff are very helpful.
Main plus is price, it is usually always very affordable.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenA970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    112
    57
    28
    16
See reviews for
68
129
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife booked this hotel for a mid week break when we was shown are room we couldn't believe our eyes it was discusting and never was dusted l wouldn't reconmend this hotel manager has poor people skills and is very rude this place is one of the worst hotels l have been in

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy27414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Impeccable staff, great restaurant food, comfortable beds, rural setting with plenty to do. BUT rooms were tired (our shower was a trickle) and disappointed to find our Sunday night restaurant booking was moved to the bar, with a disappointing menu. If you don't like being woken by the dawn chorus then this isn't the place for you!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our daughters bought us an afternoon cream tea at this local hotel as a special treat and it was 'underwhelming' to say the least! We were surprised to be the only couple having afternoon tea on a sunny bank holiday weekend - by the end it wasn't at all surprising! The hotel is in a lovely setting and the waiter was extremely polite and friendly and set us up a table on the lawn to enjoy the afternoon sunshine which was lovely. Unfortunately, it went downhill rapidly from there! There were no choice of teas/coffee and when the food arrived it was very disappointing. The sandwiches were made from very thinly sliced bread with no flavour - like a value brand! The fillings were sparse and nothing truly exciting and cut in triangles with half the crusts still on - looked like something a child prepared! No sight of a lettuce leaf, cress, tomato or cucumber garnish, just sandwiches! The cakes were a slight improvement but no dainty little cakes and pastries, just slices of slab cake, eg lemon, chocolate, Victoria sponge, etc cut in half, didn't even get the full slice of some of them! Scones were small, plain and dry - definitely not made that day! Definitely wouldn't recommend to others as was so disappointed after looking forward to a lovely tea for two.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardsonfamily99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

After reading reviews on here we expected to have a dreadful 2 nights away but completely incorrect we had the best Easter weekend ever the staff are attentive and informative the food is amazing (lovely to see silver service and well trained staff) and plentiful it's reasonable in price the rooms are tastefully decorated to suit the age you get what you expect of a Victorian era stately home felt like a home away from home would definitely stay again
thanks again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffeb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I got married here recently and couldn't have hoped for a better day, it was absolutely spot on and not one thing went wrong!!
The staff were amazingly attentive, and the venue was perfect for our 70 guest wedding.
The food for our wedding meal was delicious, and breakfast the next day was just what all our guests needed - full English and cereals, fruit, yogurts and as much tea/coffee/juice as we needed.
I went into most of the rooms and wasn't ever disappointed in the décor or layouts. A lot of our guests found the showers problematic though, (hot was very hot and often flitted between hot and cold) but you have to expect this sometimes in old hotels where everyone may be showering at the same time. Most rooms had a bath too, so if the shower wasn't working quite right you could always have a bath!
All in all, we had a perfect day and would highly recommend this hotel as a wedding venue. It was also very good value for our exclusive use wedding.
Thank you Woodland Manor!

Room Tip: Rooms 4, 7, 30 & 36 are the best. The "new wing" have the biggest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

My partner and I stayed here on a deal. The hotel was quirky and in need of a bit of a spruce up but it was clean and homely. We ate in the restaurant on the first night, the food was lovely, of really good quality. We spent some time in the bar area, all of the staff were very polite and we had a nice conversation. There could have been a little more atmosphere but it was nice enough.
Breakfast was lovely on the first morning, we were served at the tables but not so organised on the Sunday morning, more of a buffet style but nice enough. The room was warm and the shower, although looked dated, was lovely but not ideal for anyone over 5ft.
I would go back, we really enjoyed our stay and for what we paid, an absolute bargain :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whereissummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clapham
2.0 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,395 reviews
1.5 mi away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#11 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Knife & Cleaver
The Knife & Cleaver
#1 of 1 in Houghton Conquest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Manor Hotel

Property: Woodland Manor Hotel
Address: Green Lane, Clapham, Bedford MK41 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford > Clapham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clapham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodland Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country manor house situated in 3 acres of gardens, 2 miles north of Bedford town centre & train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woodland Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Manor Bedford
Woodlands Manor Hotel Bedford
Woodland Manor Hotel Clapham, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing