We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful even in late autumn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merriments

Merriments
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Beautiful even in late autumn”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were made aware of these gardens and restaurant through a Groupon offer. Although we don't live that far away, we had never considered these gardens for a visit. What a shame, as they are truly lovely. Even on one of the last days before winter closing, the colours of the flowers and shrubs were spectacular. The gardens are kept immaculate and the benches, seating areas and bird watching area are thoughtfully placed. There are water features which lend to the tranquility of the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stroll, snapping away with the camera to get some very good shots. Having strolled and snapped enough we then visited the restaurant for our included in the offer cream tea. The restaurant is cosy and attractive with very attentive staff. Our server was a lovely lady called Minerva, a real sweetie who made us feel very welcome. I had been a little concerned that because we were on a discounted deal we might get somewhat less than normal, but on the contrary, our cream teas were delicious, a real good pot of tea, delicious cheese and fruit scones. Happily replete we waddled through the charming gift shop and into the bird feeders' paradise, a room full of seeds and nuts and all types of fare to make the most discerning sparrow very happy, managed by a very nice chap. We bagged a bargain and filled the car boot with fatballs, peanuts and seed. Although the gardens close at the end the week, the restaurant and shop stay open, so we are looking forward to returning soon for a special lunch. I would highly recommend a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank shamwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    22
    8
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We visited this garden as we saw a sign for it as we drove past. What a treat. It was a gorgeous early autumn day so we sat outside for an excellent lunch in the restaurant, very high quality food and friendly service. The garden was just divine,it seemed to go on forever and it felt as if we kept discovering yet another secret bit. For it's size it feels huge and we didn't want to leave. Nice garden centre as well with good selection of plants. We'll be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stormworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Scone me”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Very good this, just a garden centre, well no actually it's a bit more than that. There is a bit of a garden centre, there is also a bit of a nice garden and a bit of a smashing restaurant.
The garden is good, it lets you see just what you can do with a great range of plants set out so you can see how you could fit it into your garden. Really pleased.
The garden centre of course let's you take home all the plants you have just seen. Nice
Now the surprise, oh just a cream tea please. ?. Now I reckon I have done upwards of several thousand cream teas. This was the best ever ever ever you would not believe how light the scones were or just how thoughtful the presentation was with fresh strawberry and a dusting of icing . Fantastic.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharpe-and-Gromit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A beautiful garden with lush borders filled with sumptuous plants and colours.”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

These gardens have a nursery attached and a cafe. The lawns wind through beautiful flower beds filled with a huge variety of plants, some of them quite rare which I have not seen anywhere else- and i have visited many stately homes and gardens. There are pretty little arbors in which to sit and enjoy the sights and the whole garden is pervaded by peace and calm, even in busy periods. I dont think the gardens are very old but a great deal has been accomplished over a short period of time. The Nursery is also very well stocked . I have visited Merriments many times and taken friends and visitors to see them also and they have all felt the better for seeing Merriments. its a real healing place for the soul!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank catherine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
159 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“fabulous place to spend a few hours in wonderful inspirational surroundings”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

What a gem! I pass this place every day and have only just found the time to stop and have a look.
The gardens are beautiful, so peaceful, and a lovely place to relax without feeling rushed. The garden is a blaze of colour at the moment. The planting is truly inspirational with many unusual plants (which I'm told are often available for sale in the nursery). I came away with so many ideas for my own little garden!
We stayed for lunch in the cafe. They have a lovely terrace to enjoy your meal and with table service the experience was even more enjoyable. Lovely food, served in beautiful surroundings. What a winning combination. i will definitely become a regular visitor!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merriments also viewed

Rottingdean, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Merriments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing