We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

The Old Courthouse B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hurst Green
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Courthouse B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Hurst Green B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This B&B is just perfect. Surrounded by beautiful countryside dotted with characterful villages and pubs, it made a perfect weekend break away even in February. Julie and Tim are super hosts and are keen to make you feel as comfortable as possible. Breakfast was delicious and the bathroom quite unique.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katie_crimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCourthouse, Manager at The Old Courthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you very much for the kind review.
So glad you enjoyed the beautiful countryside, even better in the summer!
Hope you visit us again sometime. All the best, Julie & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had such a wonderful stay at the Old Courthouse B&B that we can recommend it to everyone! Don't go anywhere else if you are looking for a Bed & Breakfast in that area! Julie and Tim are very friendly and welcoming. They do anything to make your stay as comfortable as can be! We will definitely go back! Alex and Murielle Wouters, The Netherlands

Room Tip: There's only one room with an amazing bathroom and you have your own entrance and parking space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MurielleWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCourthouse, Owner at The Old Courthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind review.
It was a pleasure to meet you both.
Don't forget us if you visit the UK again.
All the best, Julie & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in July at this converted courthouse/jailhouse B & B. The room and bathroom suite are both large yet charming and comfortable. You can tell the conversion to a B&B was done thoughtfully and with great attention to detail. Despite the recent heatwave, the room with windows open remained cool and comfortable for relaxing and sleeping. We awoke each day to a cool breeze from the back garden. The delicious breakfasts made from local ingredients was served in our room at the table by the sun drenched window. The bathroom is a treat for the weary traveller. The tiled soaking tub is great and the rain forest shower head is a welcome change from the typical cramped shower stalls in the UK. Julie and Tim are very accomodating hosts and they cannot do enough for their guests. There are numerous attractions within an hours drive. If they recommend a local restaurant or attraction, trust them. Enough said. Book a date(s) and experience it for yourselves.
Cheers,
Casey & Sylvia Kojima
Kingsville, ON Canada

Room Tip: The Indian restaurant located a few doors down the street is not much to look at from the outside bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCourthouse, Owner at The Old Courthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Casey and Sylvia,

When do you want paying?? Joking aside, that was extremely nice of you to give us such thoughtful review. It could not have been better. We are so glad you had a wonderful time in the UK, perhaps we will see again one day? All the very best, Julie and Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

How lucky we were to find this fantastic B&B when we were looking for somewhere to stay near to Bateman's (home of Kipling) and Sissinghurst. Julie and Tim couldn't have been more helpful with arranging champagne for our arrival, advice on places to visit (the organic vineyard was great and if you're a National Trust member there are lots of NT places to visit) and making sure that we were brilliantly looked after. The bathroom is a work of art and the care that has gone in to the whole building is a credit to both the owners. After two night's here, and two fantastic breakfasts served in our room, we didn't want to leave and we're already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: There's only one room and it's fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonathanDTWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCourthouse, Owner at The Old Courthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Jon and Sarah, We are really pleased that you enjoyed your short holiday with us. We could clearly see you loved the old building and its unique features. We hope to see you both again next year. Thank you for writing the review. All the best, Julie and Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Arriving back from our wedding to balloons, champagne on ice and a handwritten note from Julie, the owner, was a glorious end to the perfect day! The room and bathroom were stunning, full of character, comfortable and spotless. Breakfast - delicious and served on a table overlooking the garden. What a way to wake up! I can say that the service we received from Julie was the best I've ever encountered- welcoming, warm and incredibly helpful. She is a natural host and made our 'mini- honeymoon' a relaxing and incredibly enjoyable experience. Thank you so much and we only hope we have a reason to come back soon!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HillHollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCourthouse, Owner at The Old Courthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Hollie & Tom, thank you so much! It was nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our efforts were so appreciated. You were a pleasure. It was easy to see that you will have very special life together. Julie & Tim x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

I travel a fair bit with my job and I can honestly say I can count on one hand the amount of times I would give 5 stars - not because I'm really picky but just because there's always something that's not quite right. The Old Courthouse is in a different league and the perfection has pushed me to write a rare review.

We stayed for two nights, midweek for our wedding anniversary. We were warmly greeted on arrival and given lots of helpful information. The room and bathroom are full of character, spotlessly clean and most importantly a comfy bed.

Breakfast was stunning on both days, brought to us in the room and served at a table overlooking the gardens. It did help that it was the most beautiful sunny days aswell!

Nothing was too much trouble for Julie, lots of recommendations for activities and local sights aswell as restaurants. You really are in the middle of beautiful countryside with easy access to a multitude of things to do to suit all tastes!

All round a fab, relaxing and enjoyable time at a fantastic price! Thank you again!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Team_Price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCourthouse, Owner at The Old Courthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Dear Simon & Lorraine, goodness what a lovely review, thank you. It was a pleasure. I am really pleased you enjoyed your anniversary with us. All the best, Julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We were lucky enough to stay at The Old Courthouse for a night. What a truly amazing room - the conversion has been carried out with a sympathetic hand, retaining the unique character of the original building whilst adding those little touches that make all the difference to the feel of a place. But what stands this B&B apart from most is the hospitality of the hosts, nothing is too much trouble and lots of useful advice about the local sights. This B&B is of a truly high standard, spotlessly clean, lovingly restored and a fantastic breakfast served overlooking the garden. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank MrsTyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCourthouse, Owner at The Old Courthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you sending through the review and so fast. It was very kind of you to write such a lovely report. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your day - Merriments/Bodiam/Bewl Water? Very best regards, Julie & Tim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurst Green
11.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
147 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
12.1 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Shoyswell Cottage B&B
Shoyswell Cottage B&B
#1 of 4 in Etchingham
79 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rosebank B&B
Rosebank B&B
#2 of 4 in Etchingham
33 reviews
2.3 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 3 in Robertsbridge
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Courthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Courthouse B&B

Address: 46/48 London Road | Hurst Green, Hurst Green TN19 7QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hurst Green
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hurst Green
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Courthouse B&B, Hurst Green - this historic and unique, award winning, Victorian Courthouse, filled with character, has been transformed. The accommodation is large with stained glass windows and vaulted ceilings. The unusual bathroom has a sunken bath with romantic candlelit surround and a walk-in rain shower.Enjoy your breakfast served in the comfort of your own room, overlooking the gardens and the countryside. The property is perfectly situated on the borders of 1066 Sussex countryside and Kent's Garden of England, where you can visit many National Trust castles and other historic properties, gardens and local vineyards. Here we believe in making our guests a little spoilt. We will always do our best to make sure your stay is enjoyable and memorable. Reasonable rates: £85 per night for two people including breakfast. Cheaper rates for longer stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Courthouse B&B Hurst Green, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing