We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and gym”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greetham Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greetham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2011

stayed for one night on business and it is a great little hotel. The room had all the things you need and the gym is really good.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russ801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVGC2011, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, your kind comments are much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to Greetham Valley in the near future.

Dee Hinch
Proprietor and Business Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2011

Nice hotel, friendly staff, but lets it's self down by : a double room should have a double bed, not two single beds pushed together with sheets stretched over that you fall inbetween in the night, I do not expect to have to sleep on polythene that wakes you up the moment you move, I would expect the quilt cover to be the right size for the quilt. Some nice visitor left a nice scratch mark all down the side of the car with his golf bag. Hotel located in lovely grounds.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVGC2011, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay. I am pleased that you liked our hotel and found our staff to be welcoming and friendly. I raised your comments about the bedding with housekeeping after I personally inspected your room on your departure and found the following:
The double bed is a pair of our our 'zip and link' twins which make a king size bed when zipped together. On the occasion of your stay, the two mattresses were zipped underneath but not on the the top surface - this was obviously upside down and has now been changed.
The mattress protectors are as recommended within the hotel industry; the one in your room was brand new and the moisture proofing underneath the flannelling layer 'rustly' - a pet hate of mine too and I have asked housekeeping to look into alternatives. The duvet and cover are both superking size and I have asked the laundry to check into their sizing - there were two other duvet covers with the same issue that night, but all the rest were fine. Most strange, but being looked into and thank you for drawing this to our attention.

I am very sorry that your car seems to have been damaged in our car park; if you would let me know where you were parked and roughly when it may have occurred we could check our CCTV to see if we can establish a possible culprit. Please email dee.hinch@greethamvalley.co.uk - I look forward to hearing from you.

Dee Hinch, Owner and Business Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel on Sat 12 Nov as we were on a preserve making course nearby. The location proved to be excellent. Easy access from the A1, about 10 minutes from our course and situated in lovely countryside. There is no doubting that the golf club is the main stay of the hotel, however they had lots of information on display in reception for local attractions, such as Rutland Water, for which it is very well placed. In appearance it lacks the charm of some other places offering accommodation nearby. The staff were friendly, welcoming and attentive. They greeted us by name and when our desert took some time to arrive, the lady who took our order noticed, chased it and kept us informed which we thought was excellent. We ate in the lounge bar where there was a bar and restaurant menu. This is reached by walking outside. The food was plentiful and of good quality. Breakfast was also good, with highlights being the local sausages, variety of fruit and local bread. The full english was cooked to order and it said it came with scrambled egg, but we got fried egg. Would have requested scrambled if I had known. Also we ordered chips and peas with one main course and got seasonal veg. The only other small downside I'd mention is that our bedroom was chilly and we could not get any warmth from the radiator in our room. Radiators in the corridor also felt cold. The lounge was warm though. These are small details though as our room was spacious, comfortable and clean. Our bathroom was clean with a bath and overhead shower and also of a good size.
We enjoyed our stay and felt the hotel made a good base for the local area. It has lovely views and there are walks available from the hotel. The hotel gives you lots of information to help you make the most of your stay and had a nice friendly feel to it. This makes up for the fact that other nearby accommodation may have a quainter or more characterful appearance. We enjoyed our stay and were made to feel very welcome and confirmable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rg00se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVGC2011, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased that you would visit us again and that our staff made you feel welcome.

I read about your radiator in your questionnaire and popped straight down to your room (107) - and turned the thermostat dial to hot- it was on lukewarm. It is a radiant heater and takes a few minutes to warm through to the top, which can probably be a bit deceptive? The downstairs corridor rads were also on luke warm - i think someone had been having an economy drive! All nicely turned up now though, thank you for drawing my attention to this detail!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Greetham Valley again.

Dee Hinch
Owner and Business Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

If all I wanted was to play golf, then this is a good place to stay. The problem is that in this day and age business demands access to to the web for email and the web itself. The hotel advertises WIFI in the bedrooms but having to stand on tiptoe at the door in order to pick up the occasional burst of WIFI apparently winding it's way through the ceiling void, is not my idea of accessibility.
The food in the restaurant was mediocre, warmish French fries soggy onion rings, and pre cooked sausages and over cooked chicken on a hot stone with a raw steak which we cooked as we wanted.
Thenbest part of the meal was the attention we received from the staff when we mentioned the dissatisfaction. Full marks Madeline.
Hotel room large and view brilliant as we overlooked the course.autumn showed off brilliant colours so from an aesthetic view that was good but unless they stick the leaves on the trees for six months, you are not going to get the artists pallet for too long.
I would stay again but now I know what to expect.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fusspotRadlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVGC2011, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that we seem to have fallen below our usual high standards on this occasion. I have raised your comments regarding food with the chefs and have patted Maddie on the back for her on the spot response. With regards to the wifi, on investigation a loose connection was found on an access point, which was possibly the cause of intermittent reception. I have checked the wifi accessibility again myself and all is now in good order - thank you for drawing it to our attention.

I am pleased that you will consider Greetham Valley for another stay and trust you will enjoy our usual high standards on your next visit..

Dee Hinch, Owner and Business Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We chose Greetham Valley as a base for visiting relatives who lived in Melton Mowbray. Five of us in total in three double bedrooms in one of the eight lodges. It was spotless and very comfortable. We stayed for three nights. Although you could see the lorries going past on the A1 about half a mile away, there was absolutely no noise intrusion. In fact, the view across the valley was of beautifully coloured trees in autumn sunlight. And the proximity of the A1 is a bonus because it makes access very easy.

To be honest, though, the venue seems to be more a golf course with accommodation than a hotel with a golf course! It is very well set up for golfing parties - with two 18 hole courses and a short 9 hole course - and a bar and restaurant which is really the clubhouse. Having not taken golf clubs, we were a bit miffed at not being able to play on what looked like beautifully manicured courses. Other facilities we could see included an archery range and lake fishing - neither of which we made use of. There is also a well kitted out gym but we would have liked a swimming pool. And with youngsters in the party, it would have helped if the WiFi had worked in the lodges.

We only ate in the restaurant on one of the evenings and the staff were very attentive and helpful. The choices on the menu were surprisingly varied and we all enjoyed what we had chosen.

In summary, I think people who go to Greetham Valley will get most out of it if they make use of the generous leisure facilities. We only really wanted accommodation and, while it worked very well for us this time, if we go again we won't be wasting time visiting realatives!

Room Tip: The lodges are spacious and set apart in a quiet location away from te main complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVGC2011, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review, David. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay in one of our Lodges and very much hope that you will be back again to enjoy all the facilities. We would love to build a swimming pool and may well do one day, global economy permitting :) ...watch this space! As well as the restaurant in the lower part of the Lounge Bar (Clubhouse) we have two other restaurants too, so maybe you will get chance to try them on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back. Don't forget your golf clubs!

Dee Hinch, Owner and Business Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We decided to book Mill Cottage as we were coming to the area for a party and decided to make a weeks holiday of it. The cottage was very spacious, very clean and had anything and everything we could have wanted. It is a wonderfully quiet setting with a little stream running through the garden and a lovely area for eating outside. The hot water was always hot when we wanted it and the place was very warm, with extremely efficient heating. The three bedrooms were a fantastic size, and with the ability to change from doubles to twins in two of the rooms you really could have a large family staying there. The staff on site were mostly helpful and pleasant, and the food in the hotel was amazing. We would definitely come again and bring the dogs as Mill Cottage is a pet friendly place. Overall an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bracken08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVGC2011, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are so pleased you had such an enjoyable time at Greetham Valley. We look forward to seeing you back again - especially with the dogs! I'll make sure one of our walking route maps is in the Cottage for you - next time Jazz our puppy will be big enough to come with you!

Dee Hinch
Business Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I recently stopped at the hotel for a lads weekend away Thursday - Saturday. Hotel staff were very pleasant and polite and the staff in the proshop.
The was a large 80's party going off in the function room which we ended up going into after an invite which made Friday night fly past.
Food was very good steak on a rock for dinner Friday night very nice!!
The only thing I think the hotel is missing out on is a pool and spa this would be a great asset to the hotel.
Would defo go there again!! Well looks like we will be going back there again next September.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andytheveloman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVGC2011, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

We are delighted you and your friends had such a good time on your golf break - the 80s tribute night was a bonus (and was great fun - didn't remember so many good songs from that decade!).

We look forward to welcoming you back next September - please bring the sunshine with you again!

Dee Hinch
Business Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greetham
4.6 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
591 reviews
3.5 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
322 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uppingham
319 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Normanton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greetham Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greetham Valley Hotel

Address: Wood Lane, Greetham LE15 7SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Greetham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greetham
Price Range: £67 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Greetham Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, family owned and run Hotel with 35 large, well appointed en-suite bedrooms. Superbly situated in the heart of beautiful, undulating Rutland countryside, a few minutes' drive from Rutland Water yet with easy access from the A1 motorway. Many rooms overlook the valley, lakes and golf courses. VisitEngland 4 Star self catering Lodges also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Greetham Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greetham Valley Hotel, Golf And Conference Centre Hotel Greetham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing