We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mill Cottage” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greetham Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greetham Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greetham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mill Cottage”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have previously stayed in the log cabins at Greetham Valley (on two occassions) and thoroughly enjoyed our stays. This summer we decided to book the Mill Cottage as it has an enclosed garden, very handy for our young family and we wanted to be a little more secluded from the log cabin area. We were dissappointed with the Mill Cottage on a number of issues.
1) The house smelt of dogs and the carpet and rugs had a lot of dog hair on them. We used to hoover provided to try to resolve the issue but that made things even worse as the hoover stank of dogs too.
2) The oven never worked.
3) The BBQ was too dirty to use
4) We stayed for two weeks and the rubbish was not collected the entire time we were there. At the end of the two weeks the bins smelt and were overflowing with rubbish. Not very nice or acceptable.

On the plus side the Cottage was well equiped for self catering and we loved the enclosed garden for the kids and the stream to play poo sticks in, it is situated in a beautiful location and is very secluded. This could be an excellent venue to stay I think it just needs a little TLC and attention to detail.

When we reported these issues to the receptionist she didnt seem overly bothered about any of these issues. Not what I would expect in light that the Cottage is 800+ pounds per week in July.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AshleyHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee_hinch, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Ashley, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Whilst I am pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of your two week stay at the Cottage, I was concerned about the issues which you reported on the day before you left, and have investigated, hence the delay in responding. I am now able to advise the following:

1) The hoover is to be replaced with one more suitable for pet friendly properties. Housekeeping normally ensure the Cottage is thoroughly cleaned and aired and are sorry our usual high standards seemed to have slipped on that occasion
2) The oven timer switch had been pressed on and simply needed cancelling. It is in full working order
3) The BBQ - this seemed to have been missed after the previous checkout, again our apologies for this. We ask guests to clean the BBQ after their own use but this should have been checked by housekeeping. Had we been alerted earlier in your stay, this would have been attended to immediately
4) The black household and grey recycling bins are collected by the council on alternate weeks, not normally a problem; they may have missed the Cottage household bin collection on the allotted week and again our apologies, we have set measures in place to ensure this element is checked to avoid this happening again and have also set up a regular disinfecting routine

We do hope that you will try the Cottage again on a future visit, in the knowledge that the issues you raised have been resolved. I note that you will be staying in one of our Lodges on your next visit later this year, but you may like to know that in November, we are planning an upgrade for Mill Cottage, to include new kitchen units and garden landscaping - including a hot tub!

Kind regards
Dee Hinch
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    129
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
67
72
3
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed for two nights and three rounds of golf. The service including reception was first class throughout. The two golf courses were both very interesting with some challenging holes. The food in the restaurant was very good and flavoursome. We were all very pleased with our stay and fully recommend this resort. One person to single out is the ex-army starter on the golf course. He was extremely helpful and friendly, a great asset.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee_hinch, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
David, thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your golf break at Greetham Valley and I have passed on your appreciation to all our staff.

Paul - whom you singled out - is especially pleased to have been mentioned and is doing his best not to look too smug! Our staff really are a huge asset to Greetham Valley and we think a great deal of them all. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards
Dee Hinch
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Booked for a hotel room for an evening wedding reception .....First the location, food and the waitress staff really good.
However what let this hotel down was the rude manner in which our check in was handled by the recptionist in fact if we werent there for a wedding recption we would not have stayed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillyP0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVGC2011, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Jilly, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Firstly, I am pleased that you enjoyed most of your visit for the wedding - food, location and waiting staff. But I am concerned that you feel that one of our receptionists was rude to you and would like more details so that I can investigate further, as this is most unlike our team at Greetham Valley. I would be grateful if you would contact me on 01780 460444 at your earliest convenience.

Kind regards
Dee Hinch
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hemel hempstead
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here on Sunday 14th July and played golf the next day on a customers corporate event , course was superb and well kept, even if my golf wasn't !!

Staff were brillaint fo the meal Sunday night and we stayed up until the early hours playing pool, barman knew his drinks and nothing was too much so well done to him.

All in all an excellent stay and to reiterate the staff were the big bonus

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seandonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVGC2011, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Sean, thank you very much for taking the time to leave your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Greetham Valley as part of a corporate golfing event. The courses are indeed in excellent condition for the time of year and recent weather conditions - we were a bit concerned that the fairways were starting to notice the hot sunshine but the recent downpours have given them a jolly good drink! Greening up again nicely now....

We are very pleased that you have noted the quality of our staff and have passed your appreciation on to them, thank you for that.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Greetham Valley at a future date.

Dee Hinch
Owner
Greetham Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Visited in group of 30 lady golfers on Captain's Away Day(s). Played both 18-hole courses over 2 days, super meal in evening and comprehensive breakfast. Hotel staff very accommodating and rooms spacious and modern. Only thing missing is a swimming pool, but maybe one is planned for the future???

Room Tip: Romms at rear of hotel overlook the lake and golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cavatinafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVGC2011, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Greetham Valley - and you left the warm weather with us too!

We are especially pleased that you appreciated our staff - many are young, new to the business and undergoing training - which does seem to be paying off! Appreciation of them as well as constructive criticism is an important part of their training, so thank you for that.

We look forward to welcoming you and your group back to Greetham Valley at a future date.

Kind regards
Dee Hinch
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincslad
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were at the Motown Tribute Night and looking forward to what we thought was a show, rather than merely a rather bland band with a single female singer performing Motown hits. Like the previous reviewer, we thought it was a great idea but failed to live up to expectations.
Unfortunately, the food was an even greater disappointment: Jerk Chicken which was merely a small chicken thigh with very little flavour of any kind; minuscule BBQ ribs in a thin colourless watery sauce which bore no resemblance to sticky BBQ ribs; and pulled pork which was reasonable, but the portions were again minute and a large proportion of both portions consisted of slimy sections of skin. A very forgettable evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StooDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVGC2011, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
I am very surprised to read this review, in view of all the excellent and positive feedback we have received regarding the event. If you would like to discuss this further with me, please contact me at Greetham Valley.

Kind regards
Dee Hinch
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

A two night dinner, bed and breakfast stay with 3 rounds of golf for six - Sunday through to Tuesday.
Positives - We stayed in one of the lodges which was clean and comfortable with good facilities. The golf courses (Valley and Lakes) are interesting and challenging and were in good condition (except the tees) considering the hot and dry spell prior to our arrival. A buggy is essential for the less fit and elderly. Food was included in our package and was of good quality.
Negatives - The course would benefit from a bit more marshalling to avoid slow play. A round of golf in a buggy should not take over 5 hours. The service in the Valley Restaurant was very poor and amateurish. As an already fully paid up golf group, we felt as if we were a hindrance when having breakfast and dinner. Constant hovering around our table waiting for us to finish to move us on to the next course, taking plates away whilst others were still eating. When we had to ask for tea and coffee with our breakfast the waitress apologised to us as she had forgotten. We were the only people in the restaurant at that point. Ordering one bacon bap at lunchtime on our final day which had to be collected ourselves having waited almost half an hour. We overheard a couple that sat next to us complaining about cold food and the hanging around of waiters only to be told by the manager that "there's nothing I can do about that". The attitude of the bar staff was also a poor standard. In general it felt that most of the staff were either new and still learning the ropes or simply were just poor at their job. Would like to have seen if the service levels had been different had we not already paid for everything prior to our arrival !!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevsheffield123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVGC2011, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Kev, thank you for taking the time to leave your valued review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the accommodation, golfing and food side of your break with us and note that you have highlighted issues with our new, young staff.

Many have just commenced their summer jobs with us and are undergoing on the job training - I apologise that you did not appear to have had the best of experiences with them. One of the supervisors has commented that some were trying too hard to be attentive to guests, hence the 'hovering around' feeling.

I do assure you that we endeavour to give the best of service to all our guests, whether they have prepaid for their stay as part of a package or have simply popped in for a coffee. Hopefully, you will give Greetham Valley another chance to prove this to you on a future visit.

Kind regards
Dee Hinch
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greetham
3.5 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel
6.7 mi away
The George Of Stamford
6.0 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greetham Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greetham Valley Hotel

Property: Greetham Valley Hotel
Address: Wood Lane, Greetham LE15 7SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Greetham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greetham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Greetham Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, family owned and run Hotel with 35 large, well appointed en-suite bedrooms. Superbly situated in the heart of beautiful, undulating Rutland countryside, a few minutes' drive from Rutland Water yet with easy access from the A1 motorway. Many rooms overlook the valley, lakes and golf courses. VisitEngland 4 Star self catering Lodges and holiday cottage also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Greetham Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greetham Valley Hotel, Golf And Conference Centre Hotel Greetham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing