We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“golf break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greetham Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greetham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Visited in July as part of a 4 day golf break with a party of 12. Our third visit and each year it gets better. Both courses in excellent condition with the greens the best we have played on this year. We were accomodated in two lodges which are modern, clean, comfortable and spacious. They were ideal for our needs. The food,as ever, was excellent in both quality and choice. Staff throughout the hotel were both efficient and pleasant. Bar prices were reasonable and the bar itself very welcoming. Overall a lovely place and one to which we would not hesitate to return

Room Tip: Would not hesitate to choose either hotel rooms or lodges. Rooms overlooking golf course have lovely...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiler2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee_hinch, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Smiler2106, thank you very much for leaving your excellent review after your recent summer golf break. We are very pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and have ensured that all our staff are aware of your appreciation.

We were delighted to welcome your group back to Greetham Valley for their third visit and no doubt you will soon be in touch with our Gilly to arrange next year’s trip!

Kind regards
Dee Hinch, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
There are newer reviews for Greetham Valley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

We come back several times a year and are never disappointed. Great golf courses and very good food. Staff friendly and helpfull. Rooms are excellent value for money. Great views of golf course.
Will keep comming back. Gilly Ward you are an assett to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yvette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee_hinch, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Yvette B, thank you very much for taking the time to leave your superb review after your recent golf break. It is a pleasure to welcome you and all your party back to Greetham Valley on your repeated visits!! Our staff have been made aware of your appreciative comments and Gilly is especially delighted to have been mentioned personally yet again!!

We look forward to welcoming your golf break group back to Rutland next Easter.

Kind regards
Dee Hinch, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed here to save a long journey home from Tolethorpe (Stamford Shakespeare). Booked in promptly but room set up as twin not king as requested. This was rectified within minutes good response but why the issue in the first place. Also slow to book out as only one receptionist.
Good value room with a nice golf course view and breakfast buffet was very good would stay again.
A wedding was on that day but no mention it on booking as it turned out it wasn't an issue but would have been nice to have been reassured re noise etc.

Room Tip: Get a room as far a way from the main function rooms if you want quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee_hinch, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Ian M, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are very pleased that you would stay with us again and have noted the issues you raised. As you booked via an online agency, we were unfortunately unable to advise you that we had a wedding on that day or to ascertain if you were indeed a wedding guest, but as you found for yourself there are usually no noise issues etc when we host such events. Your request via the agency for a double room was overlooked by our reception team, we do apologise for that and are very pleased that our team rectified it immediately.

We hope you also enjoyed your Stamford Shakespeare evening and look forward to welcoming you back to Greetham Valley on your next visit to Tolethorpe!!

Kind regards
Dee Hinch, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Lovely rooms, nice view. We are not golfers but location suited us. Unfortunately our room was not ready when we arrived so went to the bar for coffee. Service was poor so after 30 minutes left without being served. The rest of our stay however was very good. Very quiet rooms which we really appreciated. In summary we enjoyed our stay however felt it was a little over priced.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee_hinch, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Louise T, thank you for leaving your review following your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay but do apologise for the lack of bar service on arrival – most unusual for us. We do feel that we offer excellent value for money and we look forward to welcoming you back to Greetham Valley on a future stay.

Kind regards
Dee Hinch, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in a lovely peaceful location. Rooms huge, clean and very comfortable. Gym small but has good equipment.
Best bits are the views of the golf course from every window. A stay is a must especially if you are a golfer!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chebs05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee_hinch, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Chebs05, thank you very much for taking the time to leave your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel plus the complimentary gym facilities! As you say, our restaurants, function suite and lounge bar, plus the south facing bedrooms, benefit from views over the lakes and valley of the golf courses – a bonus even if you’re not a golfer!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Greetham Valley on a future visit.

Kind regards
Dee Hinch, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Returning to Greetham, the first thing to comment on was the improvements to and excellent condition of both courses. They played tough but fair.
The room was up to the usual standard, spotless and comfortable.
The bar and restaurant staff were absolutely first class. Always a happy friendly smile and nothing seemed to much bother. Hannah and Charlotte, in particular, were brilliant.
Looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piko1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee_hinch, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Piko1959, thank you so much for leaving this excellent review. I am very pleased indeed that you enjoyed your golf break at Greetham Valley and especially delighted that our staff are so appreciated!

I will ensure that they are all made aware of your comments - Hannah and Charlotte will be extremely pleased to have been personally mentioned! We are very proud of our staff and the genuinely friendly and welcoming service they provide.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2015 for your next golf break!

Kind regards
Dee Hinch, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very convenient for the A1, this is a highly developed golfing venue. However, not being a golfer, I have to say that the landscaping as parkland is worthy of Capability Brown!
The housekeeping of a well-appointed - with all the usual extras - room was immaculate (except for no glasses in the bathroom). The location was absolutely quiet.
A very generous and unrestricted choice from the menu was offered on the inclusive tarrif.
An really excellent pate was followed by a less good lamb shank. Whilst the Ice cream sundae proved a sickly confection; this was a wrong choice on my part.
Service was prompt, friendly and genuine. The breakfast buffet was super. Lovely selection of cooked food and an attractive cold choice with fantastic thick cold beef.
I guess a golfing Mecca, but greatly to be recommended for other stays.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee_hinch, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Rickcs, thank you very much for taking the time to leave your lovely review following your recent stay.

As you say, Greetham Valley is an excellent golfing venue, but has a lot going for it for non-golfers too! Our green keeping team will be especially delighted with your comparison to Capability Brown!

Thank you also for your kind recommendation to others, it is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Greetham Valley at a future date.

Kind regards
Dee Hinch, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greetham
3.8 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
891 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
574 reviews
3.5 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Normanton Park Hotel
6.7 mi away
The George Of Stamford
9.9 mi away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greetham Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greetham Valley Hotel

Address: Wood Lane, Greetham LE15 7SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Greetham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greetham
Price Range: £73 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Greetham Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, family owned and run Hotel with 35 large, well appointed en-suite bedrooms. Superbly situated in the heart of beautiful, undulating Rutland countryside, a few minutes' drive from Rutland Water yet with easy access from the A1 motorway. Many rooms overlook the valley, lakes and golf courses. VisitEngland 4 Star self catering Lodges and holiday cottage also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Greetham Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greetham Valley Hotel, Golf And Conference Centre Hotel Greetham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing