We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lunch”
Review of The Plough

The Plough
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Greetham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a traditional English pub serving real ales and cider, draught beer and cider, bottled beers, wines and much more, freshly ground coffee and tea, we serve a traditional menu with pub grub favourites and chefs daily changing specials, children's menu, homemade pizza and pizza is available to take away, also sandwiches at lunch time during the week. We have a terrace behind the pub south facing so its a real sun trap in the summer months we are also dog friendly in the bar. Bar open all day Friday Saturday and Sunday
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Great pub grub. Freshly cooked. Very reasonably priced. I ordered pie which had a full coating of shortcrust pastry. The others has a delicious pulled pork. Thai fishcake and soup starters were also excellent

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Haedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    68
    6
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, Rutland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb food”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

I've been saying for ages I'd like to visit The Plough, as we live quite close, so last week my husband and I called in for a bar snack. We received a very friendly welcome and were spoilt for choice when trying to decide from the varied menu. I settled on lasagne with garlic bread and my husband had gammon, egg and chips, both of which were delicious. Unexpectedly we had visitors coming on Sunday so thought it a good opportunity to try the Sunday lunch - we were not disappointed!! The dining room was full with a great atmosphere and the menu provided something for everyone from traditional roasts to scampi or sausage and mash!! There was a very good selection of well cooked vegetables and everything was hot. The desserts too are not to be missed believe me!! So glad we finally called in and looking forward to doing so again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Customer relations.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I saw The Plough as I walked past on a country walk and thought it epitomised the traditional country pub. I entered and ordered a drink and as I waited I noticed that all the tables were set for Sunday lunch. I enquired with the barman as to where I might sit and after consulting the diary he pointed to a seat by the door and said I could sit there and should be ok for about half an hour. This I didn't mind as I intended to get on with my walk. I had no sooner sat down when a man, who I presumed to be the landlord, told me in no uncertain terms that I couldn't sit there as some people were due to arrive at any minute. Pointing to another chair he told me I could sit over there. Bad customer relations when you speak to a customer without as much as a please or thank you. As I had already paid for my drink I decided to stay and finish it otherwise I would had simply walked out. I'm a great believer in voting with one's feet on such occasions and I will not be returning. Reading the other reviews it is obvious that business is good and the pub is well liked so perhaps a negative review might make the landlord less complacent and realise that every customer is important, even the casual visitor!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Have just returned from a holiday in Lincolnshire & visited this village pub for an evening meal, which did not disappoint. The pub was very busy & obviously popular. We had a little wait for our meal, but as all food is cooked fresh it was well worth the wait. Returned the following eve & again the meal was very good, also the service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
480 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Came here for lunch. Service was very friendly, and the ploughmans we both had were excellent. Nice outside seating area (for sun), overlooking carpark so not a stunning view. Great beer selection. Very reasonably priced, hence full of locals. Very nice experience overall.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdamBilgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough also viewed

 
Cottesmore, Rutland
 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing