We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for a short break”
Review of Grove Farm House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grove Farm House
Ranked #1 of 1 Condover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent base for a short break”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We found the welcome, standard of accommodation and quality of the breakfasts all to be first class.

The peaceful and very pleasant location is very convenient for attractions such as Shrewsbury, Attingham Park and Iron Bridge.

Liz is an attentive and unobtrusive host and we will have no hesitation recommending the B & B to friends and returning ourselves as soon as we can.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outandabout22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
115
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Grove Farm House sets the standard for B&Bs – a beautiful property, lovely rooms, a good welcome and fantastic breakfasts.

We were welcomed on arrival by Liz with a cup of tea and a slice of homemade cake, then shown to our room up (Duck Egg) on the second floor – very clean and spacious, tastefully decorated, all the required appliances, bottled water and a hospitality tray. The bathroom was big with a wonderful walk in shower. Guests have access to a living room, and the dining room had 4 tables so that each room had a table and didn’t have to wait to be seated. The choices on breakfast menu were very good (the cereals, bread and preserves were home made, and very tasty) and the cooked breakfast excellent (sausages to die for!).

The house is in a lovely setting – in the middle of the countryside about 15 minutes south of Shrewsbury – and we would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Warm welcome in carpark even better was tea and homemade cake Liz gave us. Quiet location beautiful house and garden rooms freshly decorated and very clean. Well stocked tea tray including fresh Milk and homemade short bread. Fantastic breakfast with local fresh produce. Definitely 5 star only scored 4 out of 5 because would be better with a power shower and or jacuzzi bath and bigger TV.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_and_jayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed two nights in the 'Duck Egg' room - beautifully appointed with lovely view to wake up to.
Very clean and comfortable, excellent range of toiletries too. Host, Liz was very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were delicious and set you up nicely for the day. If you want to relax this is the place to be. Great base for exploring south Shropshire and the iron-bridge gorge. Don't think twice about staying here.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian6D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We were visiting the area for a few days and on checking T A for suitable acc, came across Grove Farm and its reviews, I then looked at their own web site, spoke to Liz the owner and that was enough. I have successfully used T A now for a number of years and have read reviews with the words '' if this suits you just go '' and my review is just that, read the others - go and you will not be dissapointed by the warm welcome, the house, rooms, grounds, breakfast and Liz are lovely as is the local area. After a busy day in the countryside it was a great feeling to think of returning to the peace and quiet of Grove Farm House.

Thank you Liz for your hard work in creating such a great B&B.

Peter & Rita from Bristol.

Room Tip: Foxglove overlooked the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peeteBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for a birthday weekend trip to Shrewsbury. We knew the sort of B&B we we're looking for but we're reliant on websites to judge the various ones in the area. I always think that if an owner put thought and care into their website, then the rest of the business will follow.

And I'm pleased to say that is certainly the case for Grove Farm. The decor of each room has been carefully thought through and it creates a boutique feel taking you far from work and worries of everyday life. Nipping to and from Shrewsbury was easy as pie (we used the park and ride near Sainsbury's).

Liz was very welcoming and put on a great breakfast. There's also a lovely sitting room but with the room being so lovely, we didn't use it. There are some good pubs nearby that Liz will tell you about, although we'd eaten in Shrewsbury beforehand. We'll be staying here again after our wedding.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Almost before we got out the car Liz was there to welcome us to her home. That was a fabulous start to an enjoyable stay. As others have stated, Liz keeps the inside and outside of Grove Farm House immaculate and the rooms are reasonably spacious with excellent en-suite bathrooms. Breakfast was excellent. We also appreciated the guest lounge-room and the Restaurant recommendation list.

The only thing we think could be improved was the bed in the GOLD room which we found a little uncomfortable (and we have mentioned it to Liz) but this is a personal opinion and others have obviously not found this to be a problem as I haven't seen it mentioned by anyone else.

Thanks Liz for all your hard work in maintaining very high standards.

Room Tip: There is a very small amount of traffic on the adjoining road, so you may need to shut the window if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geordielass2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Condover
7.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.6 mi away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 16 in Shrewsbury
352 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Shrewsbury Bayston Hill
4.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove Farm House

Property: Grove Farm House
Address: Condover | Shrewsbury, Condover, Shrewsbury SY5 7BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Condover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Condover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grove Farm House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Grove Farm House, our family home in the heart of the Shropshire countryside. We aim to provide all our customers with the same comfort as their own home with the added luxury of those little extras which we think will make all the difference to your stay. From soft Egyptian cotton bed linen and towels, to indulgent toiletries and homemade biscuits, we hope that we have thought of all the important things that will make your stay just right. Breakfast is, of course, the most important meal of the day, and we hope that you will enjoy ours.We are located just outside the small village of Condover, just six miles south of the historic market town of Shrewsbury and within striking distance of the South Shropshire Hills, the World Heritage site of Ironbridge and the gastronomic capital of the county, Ludlow.Grove Farm House is a perfect base whether on business or on holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Grove Farm House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Farm House Condover, Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing