We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real find!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of RYTON GRANGE

FRONT OF RYTON GRANGE FROM DRIVE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
FRONT OF RYTON GRANGE FROM DRIVE
KITCHEN DINING AREA IN KITCHEN
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
FRONT OF RYTON GRANGE FROM DRIVE
KITCHEN
DINING AREA IN KITCHEN
DINING AREA DIFFERENT VIEW
KITCHEN
MAIN LIVING ROOM
MAIN LIVING ROOM
SNUG LIVING ROOM
SNUG LIVING ROOM
DOWNSTAIRS BEDROOM DOUBLE BED
DOWNSTAIRS ENSUITE
UPSTAIRS BEDROOM 2 DOUBLE BED
UPSTAIRS FAMILY BATHROOM
UPSTAIRS BEDROOM 3 DOUBLE BED AND COT
UPSTAIRS BEDROOM 4 3 SINGLES OR SUPERKING ON REQUEST
UPSTAIRS BEDROOM 4 DIFFERENT VIEW
UPSTAIRS SHOWER
UPSTAIRS BEDROOM 5 ONE SINGLE BED
UPSTAIRS BEDROOM 6 ONE DOUBLE
VIEW OF BACK
VIEW OF GARDEN
BARN CONVERTED TO GAMES ROOM
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Condover, Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Martin H
1 review
“A real find! ”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A really superb holiday home combining lots of period charm, modern facilities and plenty of room for our extended family group. Huge garden for children to play in, brilliant games room (in separate barn) for wet days. Downstairs Ensuite room is ideal for the less able-bodied. Be aware that both staircases are steep and uneven, and the floor upstairs has a few different levels: this is an old house. Otherwise, thoroughly recommended. We had a great week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee G
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful house ”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I stayed here as part of my hen do from 14th - 17th July 2017. My bridesmaids arranged my weekend and I had no idea where we were staying until we arrived. It literally took my breath away. The house is stunning inside and out and is done up really well. The character of the house is really nice and original and each bedroom has a lovely little quirky touch to it.

On arrival the house was spotless and there was a lovely chocolate cake left out for us to enjoy - This went down a treat! There was also orange juice and milk in the fridge for us.

All though the house sleeps 12, it caters for far more than that. We had extra guests join the hen do celebrations on the Friday evening and during the Saturday day who were not staying at the house but there was still plenty of seating and plenty of cutlery/plates/essentials and most importantly wine/champagne glasses. The house is also very well equipped for all your needs, fresh towels, well equipped kitchen, docking station, washing machine/tumble dryer, plenty of bathrooms etc.

Shrewsbury town is around a 20 minute journey in a car.

My only criticism would be that the wifi connection is quite poor and struggles to reach rooms away from the snug room (we wanted to stream music in the kitchen and it was quite difficult).

All in all a beautiful house in a beautiful setting and it made my hen do weekend that extra bit special.

Thank you

Dee & her Hens =)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam G
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Amazing character property”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed here for a week to celebrate our golden wedding and our daughters 40th birthday. We could not have chosen a better place. Very homely and comfortable. Plenty of room for our party of 9 adults and 2 children. The House is very well equipped.
The gardens are lovely and we were lucky enough to have good weather to make use of them. The children loved the climbing frame and swings. We played a lot of games out there with them. We had BBQs a few times.
The games barn is great and we spent a lot of time in there playing pool, table tennis, darts,and table football.
There was a lovely welcome chocolate cake, milk and juice in the fridge and flowers in all our rooms.
We also hired Marcus Bean the tv Chef to cook us a meal for our celebration, great food and service.
Would recommend this property to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That's very difficult to answer all so lovely. The character of the place is lovely
Liked least: Perhaps the BBQ could have been a bit bigger
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
it was lovely to meet you, thankyou for your lovely comments and thankyou for choosing ryton grange!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Property in Shropshire”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a wonderful weekend at the end of May albeit a tad wet! The house is huge and everything you need is included even a games room! We took a party of 9 and it coped easily all I would say is that if you are over 6 foot just mind the odd beam in the kitchen but overall a great place and would go back again hopefully when Mr Sun was out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
we are so happy to hear that you had a lovely stay, you are welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pollyrevi...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat for our large family!”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed at Ryton Grange for Christmas 2015 and couldn't have been happier with our choice. We were four families all getting together for the first time in several years and this house worked perfectly - an enormous family table provided the perfect base for a hive of activity! The children loved the garden and games room and we loved the cosy fireplace and comfy sofas at the end of a busy day. The rooms were perfectly situated for our families providing privacy for the grandparents and space for our young children! The house was extremely clean and well equipped - the kind owners even provided a large roasting tin for our 18lb turkey! We cooked a huge Christmas dinner for 11 of us with ease. On Boxing Day a storm caused a fault with local power lines and Richard was straight round with a gas cooker for us to be able to make tea and toast (it had a special attachment to do that!) before ensuring that the lines were being sorted and providing us with updates. Amazing. We hope to be back in future and would highly recommend this wonderful house and its owners.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
we are thrilled to hear that you had such a lovely stay, despite the stormy weather!!thankyou for coming, you are welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian R
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful country retreat”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Ourselves and a group of friends stayed here for a long weekend. The house is magnificent...clean, spacious, tastefully rustic, and set in beautiful gardens. Our party had a wonderful time here with both room to relax, or be sociable as we wished.There are several pubs nearby (within country-lane walking distance), and also an Iranian restaurant in the next town. There is a nearby golf course, some lovely local walks in the surrounding hills, and a riding stables. The commute to Shrewsbury is straightforward and easy, with great access to rail and road networks.
We will definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
thankyou so much for choosing ryton grange to stay, we are delighted that you had a lovely time !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisha P
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant!! Beautiful location”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I have recently stayed at Ryton Grange during the month of June. This is truly a first class Holiday Home! The House was beautifully clean with comforting homely furnishings and lovely grounds. It was a very enjoyable get away and I would recommend it to anyone!! :D

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
thankyou so much for coming to stay, you are welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing