We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas shopping trip”
Review of Burlton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Burlton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Burlton B&B and Inns
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas shopping trip”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have only ever written 2 reviews before,but after our overnight stay at the Burlton ,I would like to share this inn.We were welcomed by a friendly Jess who showed us to our 2 rooms . They are separate from the pub,and what a lovely surprise they were .. modern and equipped with everything you need for your stay.We decided to have lunch before setting of to the town of Shropshire (which is a 15 min drive) it was prepared and served by Tony who took the time to talk to us about our stay. After our shopping expedition we returned to the pub to a warm inviting welcome. Log fires ,Christmas music on in the background and a suggestion of a glass of mulled wine (which of course was rude to refuse !) We made the decision to have our Dinner there,which was excellent chosen from a menu that was a refreshing change from your chain pubs.Nothing was too much trouble and Jess and Tony made us feel so welcome it was as if we had been invited to their house as friends. Well done Robinsons brewery.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JILL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    31
    11
    8
    6
See reviews for
14
66
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights. Booked two rooms which were both excellent value for money which also included a full English breakfast. Ate here the first night - food was very good with good service and value The rooms were well equipped and very clean. Nice friendly staff, would highly recommend this inn if you were looking for a nice place to stay in Shropshire.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Having read the reviews on the inn, we booked with trepidation, but we are so glad we did.

The location was quiet but very easy to get to as we were deiving from the Wirral to Hampshire.

We were booked in at the bar by Jessica, the very new manager, who is running the inn along with her partner, Tony, who is also one of the chefs. Jessica then took us over to the accommodation, which is behind the inn. The room was excellent,very clean. We couldn't work the TV and the heating was low, all sorted within half an hour. The bathroom was clean, with toiletries and a great hairdryer, conveniently situated next to a mirror - doesn't always happen.

We ate in the inn and the meal was excellent value. My husband had for starter scotch egg with coronation sauce, unusual and delicious and my main course rib eye steak was excellent.

We had a good night's sleep and enjoyed a well cooked full English breakfast in the morning.

Yes, for those who have read other reviews, there is some (insignificant) road noise and you can hear other rooms showering, but this was 7.30 in the morning.

We would definitely use this as an overnight stop again. Excellent value for money and great service from Jessica, Tony, Jack and Leanne. Thank you,

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icupauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high peak
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Booked an overnight stay at the Burlton inn Shropshire .found a gem of a place beautiful location, very rural no traffic noise very peaceful.the couple who are running the hotel (Peter and Lisa ) couldn't be friendlier or more helpful.the accommodation was first class clean and comfy.it was set apart in an annex across from the main building which meant no bar noise if you had an early night.the food was first class the beers well kept and again all the staff were helpful and friendly with great service.had a late drink with Peter and Lisa fantastic night away.def coming back for a longer stay and to explore the Shropshire countryside.

Room Tip: Limited accommodation all rooms to a good standard .would be advisable to book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maddog2HighPeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Met by James who was polite and more than happy to help. Room was excellent. Had everything we needed. Other staff at the bar in the evening were excellent.
Breakfast was excellent.
Only complaint was a strange sound in the night from what sounded like a water pump but only lasted a few minutes. It didn't even wake the wife.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seabass814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

we had a one night stay at this lovely roadside inn (road quiet at night)
the check in(afternoon) was warm and friendlyand we were given the key to our room
which was situated behind the pub (motel style) in the large car park we managed to park
right outside our room which was great as we had luggage
the room its self was large and clean and comfortable but more travel lodge than 4*
country inn it could do with more touches.
we had ameal in the bar food and service was superb as was the breakfast
we really enjoyed our night at this inn and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnj694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We waited an hour before we got main courses served. I didnt ever get the bread I requested with mysoup. They said it was due to a shortage of staff. The earlybird menu was not available even though it is still on their website and was the reason for us going. A cheese board menu listed on their blackboard was also not available neither was the sirloin steak. House wine at £15 was also pricey we thought as this is not a full-blown restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlton
5.9 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
12.1 mi away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
6.5 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Old Rectory Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Inn at Grinshill
The Inn at Grinshill
#1 of 1 in Grinshill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury North (Harmer Hill)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlton Inn

Property: Burlton Inn
Address: Burlton, Burlton SY4 5TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Burlton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Burlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Burlton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Burlton Inn Shrewsbury is a rurally based inn set in the quiet and picturesque Salopian village of Burlton.The Inn offers a selection of delicious food, well kept beers, wines and spirits and comfortable accommodation. The accommodation consists of spacious, styled bedrooms which have en-suite bathrooms and come with fairtrade tea and coffee.The 18th century inn still retains traditional wood beams, fireplace and a period bar and dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Burlton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlton Inn Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing