We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bliss ... we loved it very much!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taman Bebek Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sayan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed there for two nights for romantic escapade with my partner and I particularly love this place. The view, the rustic ambience, the tranquility.. it’s like being in another world. This resort is located in Sayan area, north west of central ubud, quite tucked away from the busy area of central Ubud & Monkey Forest, but that is the thing we are looking for. Although not as busy as Kuta/Seminyak, Ubud, especially in the town centre, becomes more and more touristy. We just want to get away from that. When we got there, we were the only guests stay for the rest of the week in that resort. Felt a bit creepy, but actually, we were so lucky to have the resort for our own during our stay. We spent our time there by freshening our body in their valley pool, we loved the view and then moved to the main pool, reading, day dreaming, just pure relaxing.

The resort set on the ground facing a magnificent Sayan Valley and Ayung river down below, and it shares the view with the neigbouring resort, Sayan Terrace. There is also Four Seasons just next to Taman Bebek, but in my opinion, the view was much better from either Taman Bebek or Sayan Terrace. In my opinion, The Four Seasons with its grandeur concrete oval shape roof is totally not blend well with the valley’s countour (you can see it from Taman Bebek/Sayan Terrace).

Room
We stayed at one of the four suite in Bali Aga Suites Building. There are 4 suites, 2 upstairs and 2 at the ground. The Bali Aga building faces the main swimming pool. We chose the upstairs suite because it has a small balcony with the view to the pool and the interior is traditional and rustic, with wooden wall, many windows, with Balinese style decor and paintings on the wall and ceiling (see photos). The room is huge with queen size bed. The room is equipped with small fridge, wardrobe cabinet, telephone, electric kettle, tea & coffee utensils. No TV in the room, but we were aware of that, we liked it being far away for a while from TV.. 

Suite was clean and well light, most were coming from outside sunlight on the day(we love it), but at night, there were enough lighting in the suite for good reading or just palying with your laptop. All suites are all air-conditioned. All electrical equipment worked well, no hassle at all. Wi-fi is only available at the lobby, you can’t get the signal in the room. I wish someday they manage to have wi-fi access inside the suite.

The bathroom has standing shower only, with standard amenities like liquid soap, shampoo, conditioners, cotton bud, etc. The water pressure and hot cold switch worked well. The shower curtain, in our opinion, were not very good in preventing water spalshing all over the bathroom everytime we took the shower.

Staff
Staff were courteous, friendly and helpful. Check in and check out was fast. One of their staff actually walked us around the resort for a tour up to the valley, where we were amazed by the breathtaking views. We were so lucky we were the only guest stayed there at that time, so we could have a look on each type of villas in the resort. The Villa Royal was once used for the shooting of one of the Indonesian movies. During the walking tour, we felt like we visited to an open air museum of rustic villas & landscaping style. The closer we get to the valley, the landscape became more and more beautiful.

John & Edwin, the managers, let us to have the resort car to bring us and pick up for dinner in the Swept Away Resto @ Samaya Ubud (10 minutes drive), free of charge. I couldn’t be thankful enough for their assistance during our stay.

Location
It’s in Sayan area and you can access the resort via Jalan Raya Kedewatan (Jalan Raya Sayan). There are not many eateries around the area, except for the simple local stalls. We booked our driver from outside, because it was cheaper compared to if we hired from the resort. From Ubud centre, I guessed it would take 15-20 minutes drive to reach the resort. It’s a secluded and very quiet place, which what we were looking for. The valley was very peaceful, with amazing view of coconut trees, jungles, rice terraces, river and mountain.

Dining
We didn’t have breakfast or dinner at the resort, so we did not have any opinion on it. They offered us breakfast for USD 10 per pax, which I think was quite acceptable, but we went for breakfast in Gaya Fusion, about 10 minutes walking from the resort. For dinner, we went outside as we like to explore many eating places and have an adventure a bit on it.

Facilities
The resort has two swimming pools. The main pool is near the lobby & Bali Aga Suites Building, where we stayed. It’s big enough to do healthy laps, and the pool is surrounded by greeneries. The second pool is tucked away near the valley (where the Malay villa and Royal Villa are located) and the view is amazing!!! We spent most of our time here. Because we were the only guests there, we can have both pools for ourselves at anytime during our stay. It was just like we own it.. LOL. I just can’t say enough about the view, other than confirming other reviewers. Feels like we want to stay there forever and don’t want to leave at all.
They have spa, but we didn’t try.

If you like this kind of resort where you can totally relax in peaceful surroundings without TV and without the urge for a nightlife or hangouts, just having the time just for two, then this is the place. If you like rustic ambience, do not mind less polished traditional-style room, less-modern lifestyle, a bit tucked away from crowds, then this is the place. But above all, you will get the most amazing view in your life as the reward!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andy_zu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Taman Bebek Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2011

Very beautifull quiet place with amazing view, one of the best memories of our trip all around the Bali's island...don't miss it for sure even for spend one night !!

Nicolas Cheruy from Belgium

Room Tip: Go on the bottom, right side, close the private sp
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aktif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

the hotel has 6 houses in different colonial styles - we preferred the queensland house but the villa bebek has the most incredible view - in our opinion the best view of inland bali - the hotel staff tries to do everything to make you feel at home but not in a servile way - it's almost as staying with friends - very warm and attentive - super views, very nice breakfasts even in the room if you choose so - great stretching in the morning - you can start trekking from the hotel through the rice fields and next door is a very simple but cheap and good restaurant - they even serve in your room if you ask it nicely

Room Tip: try for the villa bebek or the villa west
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bart_pieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

The 20 year old garden by famous landscape designer and hotel owner Made Wijaya gives this small guest house hotel a magical setting. Then there is the world famous view over the Ayung river valley- not enjoyed by the next door, and much more expensive Four Seasons Hotel, which is located in the valley below. Stay here, with kind and friendly staff, and enjoy the variety of cottages scattered throughout the beautiful garden, and eat at the nearby Amandari and Four Seasons hotels instead! We are completely happy here for a month every year, swimming in the two swimming pools and having great drinks at the lobby bar in the evening.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank akelly1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We only stayed here for a night the last weekend in October as we were invited by a friend to catch-up. He rented the Presidential Villa for our stay so we could all be together under one roof.

This is not a luxurious place, but was simply huge with 2 large bedrooms (ours had a TVCD//DVD Player) with dressing rooms, outside bathrooms and our room had a large terrace. Also there is a kitchen, large lounge/dining room with spectacular views. Full of art work and older/traditional furniture this is a magical place to be. Also for our villa there was a private swimming pool in the lower garden.

We used room service as we didn't want to go out and although the service was good the food was nothing special but we wasn't expecting too much anyway!!! After that we just sat drinking wine looking out towards the garden watching the fire flies just relaxing. When it came to sleeping we had one of the best nights sleep on the old antique bed in our room than we've had for a long time, maybe it was also the clean cool air!!!

The next morning we ordered breakfast from room service, again nothing special but very well served by the staff from our kitchen. To sit there eating with the view of the Sayan River and valley was just so laid back and relaxing.

After only one night we was sorry to leave. Now as stated in other reviews this is not a modern luxurious resort, but a place to have a different experience and well worth a stay if you get the right price. We would certainly go back for more, especially to get away/escape for a few days as we live/work in Southern Bali.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Taman Bebek is a few kilometres from the centre of Ubud, looking out over the Sayan valley. It is pretty much on the edge of the jungle, with some nice views over the valley. The garden, which nicely merges into the jungle, is very lush and tropical. Despite the feel of living in the jungle there wasn't a mosquito problem. The staff told me they do regular fumigation against the mossies and this seems to work.

My villa was huge. A very large verandah with a dining table for two and a simple day bed. A great place for reading books. In addition to a large bedroom, there was a living room and another large room with wardrobes and washbasin. The bathroom was outside in a lovely garden setting, which is common for Bali.

I had two massages at the spa. Both were excellent and good value for money compared to other resorts in Ubud.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. I was given a full orientation of my villa on arrival and also a tour of the resort. The staff were happy to help with any request.

This resort is probably not for everyone. There are no TVs in the room, but who goes on holiday to watch TV? The rooms have a somewhat rustic and funky feel. Comfortable and very spacious old world charm. If you like brand spanking new it's probably best to go and stay in an international chain type of resort. But you would miss out on the sense of living in the jungle and the funky charm of Taman Bebek.

I think Bali is quite overpriced compared to places like Thailand. For Bali, I think Taman Bebek is good value. But I did book early and got a good rate.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorothy69Bangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Good service.The personnel was very helpfull and kind. The rooms were clean and we had everyday clean towels. The whole villa was cleansed every day. The location was very good. It was very quiet. Good neighbouhhood with friendly people. We enjoyed the quietness end the awsome view (beautifull valley)from our villa. There wasn't a restaurant in the hotel but you could go with a taxi (with airco) for 25000 idr = € 2 to Ubud. (duration15 minutes.) were there are nice, romantic and good restaurants During the trip you can enjoy the views of the surrounding villages. Or you can ask the reception to order some food from the local small restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmsterdamBulanmadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sayan
1.4 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#99 of 199 in Ubud
203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
0.6 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#31 of 199 in Ubud
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.6 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 199 in Ubud
614 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Tanah Merah Art Resort
#92 of 199 in Ubud
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taman Bebek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taman Bebek Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Sayan, Br. Kutuh, Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Sayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sayan
Price Range: £31 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taman Bebek Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taman Bebek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Bebek Resort And Spa
Taman Bebek Hotel Sayan
Novus Taman Bebek Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing