We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, peaceful and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sayan
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing, peaceful and excellent service”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is the kind of hotel that once you check in, you don't want to leave anymore because it is so peaceful, so lusciously green and so relaxing. And yet.... the town, Ubud, is just 10-15 mins drive away. The hotel provides the shuttle to Ubud till 5pm.

We stayed in a one-bedroom villa. The room is very clean and spacious. The amenities is abundant - after sun gel, incense, candles, mosquito coils (we love the mosquito coil holder so much, that we bought 2 to bring back with us - what a clever design!), etc. to name a few.

The staffs are very friendly and helpful, they are always around to offer their service - such as the golf cart ride to go back and forth.

The hotel also provides some tours to get to know more about the local life (biking along the rice fields, the farmer's life etc) - which we could not take unfortunately because of rain.

We regret that we had to leave, but we will definitely come back to try the much talked-about riverside villa :-) and will not hesitate to recommend our friends to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odm_post
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
The Riverside Villas are by far the most popular and worth every cent. We look forward to welcoming you back to try them. You will not be disappointed.

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am glad you felt you had everything you needed and didn't feel like venturing out of your villa or the resort. It only shows we made you feel comfortable and relaxed.

See you in the months or year ahead.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,119
    156
    30
    19
    13
See reviews for
279
751
54
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were on a bit of a gourmet tour of Bali and decided to have lunch at the Terrace restaurant at the Four Seasons, for its spectacular view of the river. When we arrived at this amazing resort, it was 2.30 and there were no other diners, so we decided to have lunch at the Riverside Café closer down to the river.

The place was beautiful, as to be expected in this magic environment; service was brilliant; food was good, but the prices were ridiculous. While in Bali, we ate in some of the best restaurants in Seminyak, but this lunch of 2 laksas and a Caesar salad and juices and coffee was far and away the most expensive meal of our trip.

I guess the Four Seasons is just catering to a totally different clientele who are prepared to pay exorbitant prices, but this café meal was pleasant, but not value for money.

It was great to see the resort, but if you are watching the dollars, I would recommend eating by the river elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your very candid review on the resort, the service and the food. Delighted to read the service was very good and the setting of-course, If I can say so myself, is magical. It's hard to beat such a location in Bali.

As for the food pricing, it is something under review and for sure we shall review them in the weeks ahead as we change the menus and re-price for the up-coming season.

Thank you once again.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Hands down, this is one of the best hotels which I have stayed. Staff was overly friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The property is spectacular. Nature lovers will love this place. Rooms were excellent. We had the one-bedroom duplex suite which was far better than I could have ever imagined. Our room with balcony had a great view of the pool and river. Expect a 15 drive to the Ubud city center, though we never felt like the ride was a hassle. The hotel has regular shuttles going back and forth to town. Just make sure you reserve a spot the day before. Food at the hotel was above average, but nothing spectacular. As guests of the Four Seasons Sayan, we were entitled to use the facilities at Four Seasons Jimbaran, which was a nice plus. The resorts are 1.5 hours apart, so you would definitely need to hire a driver, but it turned into a nice beach getaway. Thumb up all around.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skis101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you very much for giving us the "thumbs up". It is much appreciated. We share all reviews with our staff and it is very motivating to read positive feedback and also constructive ones.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future and we shall continue to focus on making the food more than above average and make it spectacular.

Thank you once again.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Staying in this hotel you really do feel like staying in the mountains while still enjoying the services and facilities of a fine hotel. It is located rather close to the city center of Ubud and with their complimentary shuttle service, it is convenient to go into town for some souvenir shopping and lunch or dinner. It is too bad that the free shuttle service only runs till 5pm, leaving guests to return by themselves if they decided to have dinner at the city center of Ubud. Private taxis are quite convenient to find but requires you to negotiate the price. The shuttle driver has been helpful in providing us tips on what is a fair price for the taxi fare so that was very helpful for us when we return after dinner or massage, which we did almost daily.
The hotel main area provides great view of the scenic of Ubud. It is nice to walk around the outdoor vicinity of the hotel in the morning. At the pool area you can see other tourists white water rafting as the river passes by the hotel. The hotel offers guided free activities such as hiking and biking. We took a complimentary biking tour by a very friendly guide around the rice field of Ubud and that was a nice highlight in our stay. We stayed in the duplex and though there is nothing wrong with the room, but having to climb up to the living room and down to bed is quite inconvenient for us. Staffs are mostly well trained and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Appreciate the feedback. Thank you.

The resort is immersed in nature, with the river flowing at the foot of the resort, the forest surrounding us and the rice fields scattered throughout the resort, makes it a very special place.

It looks like you experienced the two most popular activities of the resort, the hiking and the biking. They are special and quite authentic. It's fun and educational at the same time.

As for the Duplex Suites, they are two levels, but very functional and has it's own privacy with the two separate spaces.

Thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlc240
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The hotel beautifully situated in the cliffs - you cannot ask for a more dramatic entrance. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Though the location is not within walking distance to the town, the hotel offers a shuttle and you can take a cheap taxi back to the hotel when you're ready. Food and drinks were not that expensive, considering its a Four Seasons, however, it is a lot more expensive than in town. The hotel at night is very quiet, we never saw anyone in the lobby or by the bar when we came back at night. After spending the day exploring and walking around the town, coming back to this hotel was always a welcomed retreat away from the hustle.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlc240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

I do have to agree, after having worked with Four Seasons for 20 years or so and visited many of our properties around the world, it is the most dramatic arrival experiences. One must see it and experience to know where these comments are coming from. Thank you once again.

One of our advantages are that we are not walking distance from town, as it keeps us away from the hustle and bustle and the noise of town. As you experienced, the resort free shuttle is a big advantage and the taxis, as you mentioned are readily available for a minim charge.

The Food prices have been adjusted and we are reviewing our beverage prices are being looked at as speak.

Thank you once again for your comments and hope to welcome you back in the near future, if not back again in 2015.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellyn, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Thank you, Four Seasons Sayan for a beautiful and unforgettable 20th anniversary celebration. It really wasn't until we went to another resort on the island that we truly realized how beautiful and amazing this resort was. The service and attention to detail went above and beyond. Truly, the only complaint, as it were, is the pricing of the wine. It would have been nice to have a decent glass of wine w/o spending an arm and a leg. But, overall, we leave with very strong feelings of appreciation for the location, the facility, and the staff at the Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebrandboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
We are delighted to read that we were able to make your 20th anniversary special.

I can understand and can relate to your comments about the wine prices. They are high, but we are somehow restricted by the very high import taxes for wines, which range from 200% to at times, 250% on wines, depending on the region. Hence pricing by the time the customer has a sip, becomes expensive. Having said that, we will review them once again and see what adjustments can be made on certain wines, if not all.

Look forward to welcoming you back for your 21st.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The hotel is located in UBUD out of the crowd of Bali. Especially during the world wide festivities (Chinese New Year, Christmas...) it is the right place to relax in a quiet place. I can say that for the first time, all the beautiful pictures that you can see in the web site are true and the hotel is above my expectation. I suggest to book a villa with a nice view and directly contact with the nature of Bali. All the staff, the manager are very friendly.

Room Tip: The villa is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyPostak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments.

What you see is what really is here at the Four Seasons Sayan. The villas, the restaurant and the nature is as real as it can be. It helps to be away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud and then have the option to come to the resort and be disconnected and completely relax.

The villas are definitely the most favorite room types, especially the River Front Villas.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sayan
2.5 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 196 in Ubud
1,055 reviews
21.6 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
0.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,151 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 146 in Seminyak
1,540 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan

Property: Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Address: Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Sayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Bali At Sayan Hotel Ubud
4 Seasons Resort Bali At Sayan
Four Seasons Hotel Bali
Four Seasons Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing