We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overall great experience”
Review of Charlton Lake Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitefish Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Charlton Lake Camp
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“overall great experience”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Very friendly service. My family had a great time. It was our first time at CLC. We took a gamble and it payed off. Even though we were expecting less privacy than private cottage rentals, privacy was not an issue. We definitely enjoyed meeting the hosts and other guests. Thanks Laurie and Kyle!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharltonLakeCamp, Owner at Charlton Lake Camp, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
We're so glad you had a good time and hope the rest of your trip was memorable as well. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Elgin, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

My wife, daughter and I stayed at CLC in August 2013. This was our 4th time as a family and fifth time for my wife who came as a child. It truly is one of the most relaxing places I've ever been. We are very active and always enjoy the many hiking trails, biking trails, canoeing, and island exploring that that CLC has to offer. What more can you ask for then having your own personal island to swim from just a short boat ride away! As always Lori was very inviting even giving fresh baked cookies. Yum! We will be back for number 5 next summer!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JR6442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharltonLakeCamp, Owner at Charlton Lake Camp, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
We truly appreciate your customer loyalty. It's folks like you who make our job so easy. See you in 2014!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our family has enjoyed this beautiful area for many years and as mentioned is just "not right" without our CLC Vacay! You can relax or entertain yourself with fishing, swimming, hiking and boating... it is endless; incredibly exhilarating and rejuvenating! The camp is friendly, comfortable, safe and Lori and Mark makes each trip special, no matter how many times you visit! Miss it already and just returned this past weekend.... Thanks CLC for another great vacay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Durbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharltonLakeCamp, Owner at Charlton Lake Camp, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
You know, it's just not summer without see you too...so it works both ways! Take care & we'll see you in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

First time at the CLC. Great location, very friendly staff! Cabins were very well kept, little to no bugs indoors, hot water never ran out. Lots of activities for everyone to do (Canoing, kayaking, swimming, boating, fishing, hiking...). We enjoyed ourselves tremendously. Big thanks to Lori for all her help and excellent service!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hasan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharltonLakeCamp, Owner at Charlton Lake Camp, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our wonderful natural resources. Love the pictures! Thanks for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Just returned from our 3rd stay at CLC on our annual summer week cottage trip and booked number 4 before we left. Weather this year was not the best, but the scenery, the fishing and our hosts are 2nd to none. Hiking, fishing, swimming, camp fires, s'mores, hotdog roasts and cookie day, how does the great north woods get any better!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squiggs152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharltonLakeCamp, Owner at Charlton Lake Camp, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Excellent!!! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again next year. It's always a good idea to book early to be sure you get the week and cottage you like. Take care and see you in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
québec
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

It was our fourth time back to CLC. We always have a great time!
The cabins are well equipped, the swimming, boating fishing, hiking are perfect to keep kids busy.
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
Thanks Laurie for your warm welcome!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patate2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharltonLakeCamp, Owner at Charlton Lake Camp, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your response! We look forward to seeing our guests each year....it's just as much fun for us welcoming everyone as we imagine it is for you to get here. We're already working on making 2014 even more memorable! See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We vacationed at Charlton Lake camp in the 1980's and 1990's and returned this year with our daughter and son-in-law. It is a favorite spot for us because we enjoy the fishing, time out on the boat, hiking, and the spectacular scenery. The owners, Mark & Lori Murton, are wonderful and some of the amenities have changed since we were there last. Towels and bed linens are provided. There is a mid week camp cookout, freshly baked cookies were delivered to us on Thursday on a camp frisbee, kayaks are available for free, I could go on and on. It was a very enjoyable trip.

Room Tip: Cabin number 1 is the largest cabin and we have stayed in it several times. It has three bedrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharltonLakeCamp, Owner at Charlton Lake Camp, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! Campfires and hotdog roasts are, to us, a staple of "camping" and the cookies are a wink-and-a-nod to my grandmother, who baked with me during our summers on the lake. We strive to provide lasting memories for our guests. We sincerely hope that we've provided a few for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish Falls
15.2 mi away
Killarney Mountain Lodge
Killarney Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
14.3 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Sportsman's Inn
Sportsman's Inn
#1 of 2 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
9.0 mi away
Pinewood Motor Inn
Pinewood Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Espanola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
18.2 mi away
Massey Motel
Massey Motel
#2 of 2 in Massey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton Lake Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton Lake Camp

Property: Charlton Lake Camp
Address: 1086 Lake Road | P.O. Box 118, Whitefish Falls, Ontario P0P 2H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Whitefish Falls
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Whitefish Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inclusive Housekeeping Cottage Resort featuring 1, 2, & 3 bedroom waterfront cottages, sandy beach, and rental fleet. Located in the beautiful La Cloche Mountains at the western gate to Killarney Provincial Park. At home on over 1700 acres of sparkling water in the middle of pristine wilderness, guests have access to awesome fishing and wonderful hiking. A canoeist's paradise, the spectacular scenery has drawn artists and photographers including a few of Canada's Group of Seven. Charlton Lake Camp is quiet and secluded yet close to shopping, museums and entertainment. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing