We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”
Review of Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on a long weekend break. The tent was really comfortable and had everything you needed including shower gel, tea bags, coffee, milk pots and loo roll. A small fridge to keep milk and lunch bits inside. The shower was better than mine at home and all very clean. Our lodge overlooked the vast expanse of park and it even felt like a real safari with the feint roaring of a lion. The food was brilliant with a take away onsite and a restaurant which we found really reasonably priced. It included a continental breakfast but we could upgrade to a full English for less than £5 each. We took the free safari which was great as it ran once the park had closed & we paid for an extra trip to feed the Tigers, it was only £5 each and lasted nearly 2 hours, everyone got the chance to hand feed the Tiger and then Rich the very informative, friendly and enthusiastic head keeper took us to see the baby cheetahs which we would never have seen otherwise. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. The park is fantastic what they do and how the animals are treated, Brilliant weekend and definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisajfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    45
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
176
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing mini-break glamping at Elephant Lodge. All the staff on site were welcoming, friendly and knowledgable. We partucularly enjoyed an evening safari, although it was a little nerve-racking to watch our nine year old daughter hand feed a tiger! We also booked a special daytime rhino safari and could not have had a better guide than Andrew, who pitched it perfectly - lots of animal information and funnies for the kids. Our children will never forget the opportunity to stroke and feed a rhino. We found the restaurant good value and service was again excellent. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Triberobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed with friends at Elephant Lodge and had a fantastic time! The staff were fabulous and the experiences offered to us were great! There was a log burner for the chilly evenings to keep us warm. The breakfast offered with the experience was cereal, juices and toast. However, you can pay for cooked breakfast too. We used the restaurant on site on the first night and found a local pub for the rest of our stay.

Room Tip: Take a hot water bottle and extra blankets for the night time as is did get cold, even during the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debw394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The whole experience was simply amazing.The booking was efficient and friendly, the welcome warm, the accommodation - glamping at it's best. We stayed in tent 4 and the view was as lovely as the nice lady had said it would be at the time of booking,The on site restaurant was nice and reasonably priced. The additional safaris were good fun, informative and also reasonably priced. Everything was five star including the staff for whom nothing was too much trouble....they chilled our wine, loaned us an ice bucket with ice, gave directions, took photographs, patiently explained about the animals....all real superstars but especially Jasmine, Trevor and Ellie. They even arranged for us to have four really, hot ,sunny days..true customer service.

Room Tip: The tents at the front are not self catering but they have fantastic views and get the sun on their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdmckee1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here from the 24th to 26th June...with 4 children all different ages.....what can I say we had a fantastic time, the staff are brilliant....the rangers very informative....The tent/lodges are very nice, we stayed in Lodge 5 which had fantastic views.... with a cosy log burner which is brilliant for chilly evenings....the restaurant is very nice...can highly recommend going on the extra activities in the evening, we done the small cat feed, the hunting dogs and the big cat feed which were all brilliant.
This should definetly go on your 'to do' list....

Room Tip: Ask for a lodge on front row.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We went for a birthday treat and the whole family loved it. We have already started looking at dates for another visit. The staff from booking the visit to check out were attentive. We had missed the Friday meal time and they directed us to an alternative place rather than keep all the money to themselves. Near perfect!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights, booked as a voucher so wasn't expecting the best lodge. Had lodge 8 which was on the front with the best view I've seen in this country. From the outset the staff were unbelievable. Jasmine welcomed us, took the time to explain everything. We booked our safaris with the rangers who were all really accommodating. You must book the evening trips, the animals behave so differently at night and we honestly believe our children wouldn't have seen or interacted with more animals had we have been in the Serengeti. The dog and big cat feeding session with Sarah was a real highlight. The feed the rhino session with Ellie for our eldest daughters birthday was outstanding. We will always treasure how special the day was. The evening safari with Adam was fab too. On all of these trips we were not hurried or made to feel like we were on a conveyer, a snow leopard was out in the day so we stopped the truck to get out and see him, unexpected treat. We saw a marked difference during the day strolling around the reserve and experiencing the safaris, next time we probably would just stick to booking as many safaris as possible and spend more time during the day at the lodge. The setup at the camp is perfect. Safe for families with a little playground in the centre of about 20 lodges which you can see from the verandah of the clubhouse/restaurant. The food is reasonable here, maybe a little limited in that it's only breakfast or dinner but to be honest the best thing about this place is that it's not huge or crowded. Staff here too were very friendly. Overall this holiday was a real adventure for all of us, (children's ages ranged 2-12) and the passion and dedication that all the staff have for the animals here can't help to be infectious. We left, excited to come back and with a real sense that we wanted to be part of something so important. Staff always went one step more than we expected. They plan to build new accommodation here within the year, can't wait to see the treehouses! Thankyou for such an amazing few days.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woulduadamandeveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lympne
0.5 mi away
Port Lympne Hotel
Port Lympne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lympne
218 reviews
4.3 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
54 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
652 reviews
6.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,006 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lympne Castle Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Lodge

Property: Bear Lodge
Address: Port Lympne Reserve, Lympne CT21 4LN, England (Formerly Elephant Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Lympne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Lympne
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bear Lodge is a luxury 'glamping' experience in spacious tented accommodation, with stunning views over our brand new bear enclosure, out to the Romney Marsh and English Channel. Formerly known as Elephant Lodge, family and friends can stay for 1, 3, 4 or 7 nights on our secure gated site, with parking. 19 luxury tents with en suite facilities, each comfortably sleeping six people, surround our central Bear Lodge Clubhouse and children's play area. Inside the tents, there's a spacious living area, including the 'bear necessities' such as cutlery, crockery, a small fridge and sink, plus, separate sleeping areas with real beds and comfy mattresses. The on-site clubhouse restaurant has a brand new menu for 2016, including traditional South American dishes, to compliment the arrival of our bear pair. We've also fully refurbished our bar area and alongside our new cocktail menu, guests can sample our exclusive 'spectacled beer'. A stay at Bear Lodge, includes entry to Port Lympne Reserve and sister park Howletts, near Canterbury and additional experiences are available to book including private Ranger guided safaris, animal experiences, archery, fishing, cycling and zorbing, so every day can be filled with wild adventures! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Lodge Lympne, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing