We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saracens at Hadnall Accommodation

Saracens at Hadnall Accommodation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hadnall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saracens at Hadnall Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 2 Hadnall B&B and Inns
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

My parents visited this hotel for 2 nights. On the first night TV wasn't working. They informed someone who said they would sort it. It still wasn't fixed by the time the checked out after 2 nights!!! There was a bedside radio with the plug in half, fuse missing and live wires. Luckily my father noticed before plugging in or the consequences could have been very unpleasant. The appliances in the room had not been tested since 2007!!!!! I rang and tried to complain upon my parents arriving home. I spoke to the assistant manager, who was understanding, but said the manager Dave would call me back that day. Still waiting for that phone call, 3 days later!!!
My parents went for a relaxing stay which turned out to be quite boring with no tv, radio. Surely this is a minimum requirement in a "4 star" hotel?!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Summeranddaisysmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    0
    5
    2
See reviews for
1
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Upon arrival at the Saracen we were shown up to the 4 poster bedroom we had booked.
1st problem was the main lights not working. It seems this was an ongoing problem as the chap said he had asked several times for them to be fixed. We had to rely on a couple of wall lights by the bed to provide illumination. I actually looked under the lampshades and advised the chap that there were no bulbs in the fittings. This wasn't resolved whilst we were there.
We has reserved a table in the restaurant for 20.00 so my wife decided to have a bath prior to going to dinner. 2nd problem, "no hot water" I reported this immediately but despite several attempts by the chef to fix the problem, it remained cold.
We were offered another room free of charge,but as that also turned out to be lacking in hot water we decided to return home to Birmingham.
My main complaint regarding this abandoned stay, has to be the response and attitude of the staff.
The chef phoned me on Sunday morning and offered 25% off the total bill the next time I visited.
I asked if he thought that was reasonable recompense for a ruined stay and he said that they were a small concern and couldn't afford to give away too much in the way of freebies.
He also pointed out that we had free drinks.
These were in fact a diet coke each, whilst we waited to see if the lack of hot water could be fixed.
What is disappointing about this whole episode is that we have eaten at the Saracen on a few occasions and have always enjoyed the food.
I will not be taking advantage of the 25% offer, and will never visit the Saracen again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hadnall hotels

cheshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Having stayed here 2 nights recently with my husband I can tell you that the accommodation is not to a very good standard. Our room was in desperate need of an update. The carpet was full of stains. The walls had big old screw holes unfilled..just left. it was obvious the room hadn't been decorated for a long time.
The shower in a small bathroom was black all around the base and there was no hot water one morning.
The main road was too noisy to have the window open. The room itself was a reasonable size but just scruffy and outdated.
On a good note Stephen the manager couldn't have been a nicer guy. He was so attentive,helpful and efficient. The breakfast that was served was lovely. The dining areas looked fine.
Shame this place is so let down by it's rooms as its very convenient for Shrewsbury. Just a short easy direct route, about 5 miles.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vanillaskyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorks
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Get real; this is a small, friendly pub, with rooms. Yes I have stayed in 5star hotels all over the world, but, take this business as you find it. Major benefits are the olde worlde charm, nice bed linen, basic so what, come down to earth. Food is outstanding. Noise, what noise, go to bed, go to sleep. On a B Road, some traffic, so what, did I hear it NO.NO. Clear conscience good sleep. Price was excellent.

Room Tip: Choose well in advance, or you will NOT get in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CRMSouthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a last minute, one night break here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room (the four poster) was very comfortable and we had a great night's sleep. Other reviewers have said the rooms are a little dated and that is true - but they are not boutique hotel prices they are good value for money. The hotel is on a busy road but that didn't bother us and the village has a really nice feel to it. Steve, the manager, is very welcoming and clearly understands customer service without being too formal. The real star of the show at Saracens is the food - the chef is just fab! We had the 5 course tasting menu with wine float, it was all delicious and beautifully presented (the chef also did the breakfast and it was gorgeous). We had been to a Michelin star restaurant (which was excellent) the previous week and we would have to say that the food and service at Saracens compared well. We are looking forward to going back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, North Wales.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Me & my partner booked this hotel last minute for a night stay as we in the area, we paid £65 for the night so were a bit unsure as to what we were going to get.
We arrived & parked in the parking provided (just opposite the hotel) & were greeted by the manager (who was very helpful & polite).
The whole hotel itself is lovely, lots of character & beautifully decorated. Our room however, (number 2) was a bit of a let down. It was a bit dated (which we didn't mind as they're going through renovation) and the cleanliness was poor. There were hairs and cobwebs on the floor in the bathroom & the toilet could have done with a good Bleach. Which is a shame really! (We were hoping this was a mistake as rest of hotel is spotless)
However, the bed was very comfy, it had TV, wifi, tea/coffee facilities etc. and nothing was too much for the staff to help with. Also, the breakfast was gorgeous, all freshly cooked to order.
Overall, it did the job! We had a lovely stay & would like to say a great big thanks to the Manager, who was ever so pleasant & helpful!
Would we stay again? ... Yes, in a different room!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Very shabby rooms , rotten windows,rooms not cleaned poor service , dirty carpets ,dirt dust dead insects all on stairs in room filthy .A lot of road noise only saving grace Stephen front of house manager great helpfull guy but he does everything i mean everything..

Room Tip: Do not have room 5 no wardrobe in room ??
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodp186332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadnall
2.1 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury North (Harmer Hill)
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Moreton Mill
Moreton Mill
#1 of 1 in Shawbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Saracens at Hadnall Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saracens at Hadnall Accommodation

Property: Saracens at Hadnall Accommodation
Address: Shrewsbury Road, Hadnall, Shrewsbury SY4 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Hadnall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hadnall
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Saracens At Hadnall Accommodation Shrewsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing