We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic - but clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fortune Harbour View B & B
Ranked #3 of 4 Fortune B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at the B&B overnight while awaiting our ferry to St. Pierre Ferry. It is up and over a beauty salon, so we were not sure we had the right place at first. The Manager was very nice and the rooms had recently been redone. They were basic, but tidy. The beds were all new and that was very nice. Breakfast was a help yourself, mostly cereal, milk, toast. The coffee pot was a bit hard to figure out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

in town for a couple nights so we could do the day trip to st. pierre et miquelon. the b&b is above a hair salon so it took a little while for them to phone the proprietor to come down and show us our room. but luckily enough he was also able to get our reservations and print our tickets for le cabestan so it worked out nicely. rooms were a little small but comfortable and quiet so it was worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwrMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We were totally not expecting to spend the night in Fortune. We drove from St. John's to catch the Saint-Pierre ferry and arrived over an hour ahead of time to find out Saint Pierre Tours stuffed up our reservations and booked us for the boat only even though we requested a hotel and of course there were no vacancies to be found except for the next night. Rather than drive all the way back to town and come back or cancel our trip altogether, we decided to spend the night somewhere nearby. We looked at a couple of flyers from the travel office and weren't very impressed with the local offerings. The wife wasn't really looking for a place with shared washrooms and ads touted things like colour TV and clean rooms. Really, do you have to advertise that you actually clean your rooms? We dropped by the local library to use the internet. It is only open a couple hours a day and it wasn't those couple of hours when we were there. We were invited to attempt to use the wifi from the parking lot. While I managed to get a signal, there was no internet service so we couldn't check Tripadvisor for reviews! We drove a couple times between Fortune and Grand Bank looking for places. We actually stopped at the Harbour View but went in the basement where there were efficiencies and it wasn't really what we were looking for so we moved on. Dropped by the motel on the highway in Grand Bank and looked at a room. Old, smelled bad and musty, and expensive! No, thanks! I spotted a place that looked like it was freshly renovated so we pulled in but unfortunately it wasn't open yet! However, the person there happened to be affiliated with the Harbour View. She made a quick call presumably to the owner to verify availability, then accompanied us over. There was a separate entrance for the B&B on the south side of the building that leads directly to the second floor which we didn't immediately see. It was perfect! We had the pick of any rooms we wanted (we took two for the fam). It was clean, it didn't smell, nicely decorated, and WORKING INTERNET, wifi and with a computer as well if you don't bring yours. We went down to the salon (!) which was closed that day to settle the bill since we'd be departing in the morning and that was that.

The building seems relatively new, is in good repair and is conveniently located. You can walk anywhere in Fortune in minutes. There is a Mary Browns in town if you're hungry. Breakfast is freshly baked bread and choice of juices. The fridge is shared by all guests. The common room, along with the computer/internet has couches and a TV. The rooms themselves don't have TV. They do each have their own toilets and showers with soap and shampoo. There isn't any air conditioning which isn't a factor for 95% of the year. The windows do open and like much of Newfoundland by the water you get a breeze so we were able to sleep comfortably even though temps were around 25 when we were there. The beds are off good quality, not some creaky old bed bug ridden things we've seen at other places. It's like a big house. As such, with gaps under the doors for air there isn't great insulation from sound but that wasn't an issue during our stay. Might be an issue for you if you (or someone else) has a bunch of screaming kids! The price? $79 + HST. $20 cheaper than that motel down the highway!

While we didn't plan on spending a day in Fortune, we made the most of it. If you're into walking/hiking, there are some nice trails around with scenic viewpoints. Unfortunately it got foggy by the time I got around to doing one! The seaman's museum 5km away in Grand Bank is worth a visit. There's a couple of historic homes you can view for a small fee, like the Harris House which is a museum of local history. You can go up on the Widow's Walk on the roof for a nice breeze and a view of Grand Bank. The people are friendly and helpful. I think if we go to Saint-Pierre again, we'll stay the night before at the Habour View again and take the Cabestan that leaves at 8AM. That boat is twice as fast as the Arethusa, cheaper than the Arethusa, and you don't have to deal with St. Pierre Tours whose manual method of bookkeeping sans computers is obviously ineffective. Thanks for rescuing us, Harbour View!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side of the building have the best views of the harbour. The west side rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vo1one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed at the B&B for three nights. We were cordially greeted by the Manager and given a choice of the five rooms. He was exceptionally knowledgeable of the area and provided is with more than enough information to enjoy our trip to St Pierre. The B&B was clean and bright. All of the rooms were newly decorated. There is a large common area with satellite TV. It is well worth the money to stay if you are fortunate to get a reservation. We were hoping to stay a fourth night but unfortunately all the rooms were booked. It's great value.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Brian, the owner of the B&B, was great during a recent family vacation in Newfoundland. On arrival in Fortune, he gave us the option of staying at the B&B or at a chalet/house that he had just a short ways out of town. The chalet was very nicely done up with all the necessary conveniences and certainly more space than we were expecting. Brian also helped us get front row seats at the Grand Bank Theatre and provided information on a variety of sightseeing and other options (we really enjoyed the running/walking trail along the river!). Newfoundland hospitality at its best.

Just a brief comment on Maxxim Vacations, who organized our trip, including our stay here. We were very happy with the end result (accommodation, tours, etc.). However, it was a bit of a challenge - despite providing very clear information about our arrival and departure dates from the beginning, there were repeated problems with the itinerary they put together. I know others have had very positive experiences with Maxxim so I don't know what happened in our case. Just make sure to very carefully review your itinerary before finalizing!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourdelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We booked and began with being met by our host, he was incredible in greeting us, connecting us with what we needed and making suggestion of added sights and values to make our stay even better. Extremely clean and comfortable with everything that we needed for our family. I would highly recommend it and stay again, great value for our dollar.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My partner and I stayed here before our trip to St. Pierre. Our bedroom was nice enough although a few maintenance issues could be addressed - the mirror backing was peeling and some flooring was coming up. The room was very clean and the toiletries nice. The common area is comfortable with a TV, computer and two dining tables. The kitchen is also well equipped. The owners and staff are very friendly. The only real complaint is that the walls are very thin so you could hear everything. Still, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sporti883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fortune Harbour View B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Harbour View B & B

Address: 74 Eldon Street | P.O. Box 580, Fortune, Newfoundland and Labrador A0E 1P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Fortune
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fortune
Price Range: £81 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortune Harbour View B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, spacious, smoke free home entices a beautiful view of Fortune Harbour with a breath-taking sunset. Each of our 5 bedrooms are tastefully decorated with a Queen Bed and private bath. Enjoy Breakfast in our bright & spacious dining room. Also, on our main floor we have a full Salon, Spa, Solarium and Boutique. Come & enjoy our comfortable and relaxed hospitality all year round. Computer with High Speed Internet and WIFI. A patio with BBQ to sit and enjoy the sun.Ample parking, inside parking for motor bikes, 300 square foot patio with BBQ, full salon, spa, solarium and boutique on site, adjacent to Nature trail, next door to Tennis Court and recreation facilities, high speed internet (WIFI) with computer in common area, view of harbour, free smiles ;-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fortune Harbour View B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing