We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant place to stay for the night”
Review of Hotel Fortune

Hotel Fortune
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fortune
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Fortune
Ranked #1 of 4 Fortune B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2013

we stayed in this hotel for one night before we took the ferry to St. Pierre et Miquelon next morning, The owner Brian and his wife were very welcoming and informative ,we felt like we are between friends and my son Marc definitely enjoyed exploring the fire department because the owner kindly took him for a tour there. The place is new, clean, neat ,modern and wonderful. Highly recommended if you want to stay in Fortune .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reem z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and small son stayed here overnight at this lovely hotel so we could catch the ferry to St. Pierre the following morning for the day. The place looks pretty unassuming and it was a surprise to find a note on the door to phone a staff member to be let in to the hotel. There is no staff on the desk. We were greeted within minutes by Deanne who was so welcoming in the Newfoundland tradition. She ensure we had all we needed before she went on her way. The room was very tastefully decorated with beautiful furniture. She even brought in a rollaway bed for our son. The bed we slept on was the most comfortable I have ever slept in (only wished I could have slept in it longer!). If I had one thing to comment on, it would be that the walls were very paper thin and all could be heard from room to room. The water from the tap is discoloured but I know this is not a problem in some parts of the province so was not concerned about it. If you have the chance, please choose this hotel. It was a real pleasure!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harbridgetrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I just wanted to share our experience that we encountered while staying at this wonderful hotel. My husband and I renewed our wedding vows on June 1st, 2013 after 20 years of marriage. We stayed at Hotel Fortune for our wedding night and what a wonderful surprise they had waiting for us ! When we opened our bedroom door ,the beauty of our room totally left us in awe . They had our room decorated for us with rose petals on the bed, even to roses tucked delicately into the towels of the bathroom. There was a basket filled with wine, wine glasses, chocolate, potato chips and peanuts ! There was a fireplace in the corner of the room that was lit and put off a wonderful mellow glow . It was certainly a night to remember . If you are every in the Grand Bank/Fortune area, please stay at this hotel. The service is wonderful and the staff is very pleasant and accomodating . Thanks again Brian, Michelle and Deanne for a wonderful experience and we will certainly be visiting you again ! Pierre and Valerie d'Eon.....Grand Bank , NL

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valeriedeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avalanche1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambres no 1 et 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jacques S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank voyageuse59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helene3625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FellowFromFortune, Owner at Hotel Fortune, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Fortune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortune

Address: 172 Bayview Street | P.O. Box 580, Fortune, Newfoundland and Labrador A0E 1P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Fortune
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fortune
Price Range: £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your weekend at the only spot in North America where you can watch the sun set on France from your clean, luxurious hotel room. Nestled in a valley overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, you’ll feel relaxed and at-home in our guest lounge or on the ocean-view patio. We are just minutes from the St. Pierre ferry. Brian, the owner, will happily assist you in planning your trip as a bilingual expert on St. Pierre and Miquelon. Book your stay with us online! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing