We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to take little people”
Review of Shortwood Farm

Shortwood Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Pencombe
Attraction details
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A great place to take little people”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I have read the last two reviews on this place and can only assume that they did not take part in the 'tour'. We arrived just before 10:30 and joined the morning tour. First of all we got to bottle feed the lambs, then hold guinea pigs. We then got to see the goats, piglets, donkeys all getting food, followed by fresh egg collection, kune kune feeding, pig racing, duck feeding and a fabulous tractor ride.
Yes, this is a working farm and you can see that wherever you look. It is not hiding anything from the public, it is what it says it is, a farm!
We had drinks in the cafe and our daughter ate her lunch in the clean high chairs, what she loved more than anything was being able to watch a cow on the other side of the window being milked!

If you want a pristine place to visit, where the staff where uniform and everything is new spangly and plastic, this is not the place to go.

My only criticism is that to pay £5 for our 17 month old did seem a tad high, but given that she took park in all the activities perhaps it is not too high

We will definitely go back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank yummy_yummy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    3
    3
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful rundown and overpriced”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Just returned from a visit at the farm, compared to others I have been to this was an overpriced, rundown farm. As the other poster said, it is only worth £3 at most. There was nothing there and was really cold. The play area is rusty and old, cobwebs and mud. It will not take too much to wash it down with a pressure washer. The tearooms were freezing cold. I will not be going again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bunnybuns12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shortwood fell short - there's barely anything there!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Over priced!! Wouldn't pay more than £3 as there just isn't much there at all: the pens were small and there's no trail or anything :( we paid, walked to some animals in pens and realized that was it! Barely there an hour. We felt a bit fooled by the website which looked quite fancy!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Little1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We had a great day!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Well we had a brilliant time! We took our 5 year old son. We met up with friends and their daughter who was 3 years old. We paid £19 for the three of us. We felt this was great value for everything we did. We had a lovely tour and talk of the farm animals with Janet and fed lots of the animals, collected eggs etc. We've never had to throw potatoes for pigs before! Then we held the baby guinea pigs and played with the kittens before milking a real goat. We even bottle-fed lambs. The tractor ride was good (even though the weather had been poor prior to our visit and was nearly called off). The farmers couldn't do enough to make sure our visit was good. We stayed for over 5 hours in the end. Our children really enjoyed the play area after eating our picnic. We liked that it was a real working family-run farm (surely that is the point). It didn't feel commercialised like some farms we've been to.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jon79_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great fun for toddles, and good value”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Very interesting farm with lots of different animals and plenty of opportunity to feed them, hold them, stroke them and milk them. Gorgeous litter of kittens there when we visited. The farm has all kinds of rare breeds of poultry and livestock. A very informative tour - even the adults found out a lot of new things that they didn't know about farming. The play area is really super: a bit rough and ready perhaps but all the more fun for that. It includes a sizeable Wendy House complete with sink, kitchen table and telephone which our toddlers loved. They even provide wellies in case you forget to bring your own!

Despite what other reviewers have said, the prices didn't seem excessive at all to me for what you get to see. I do think it is a bit much asking you to pay full child rate for a 12-month old baby though.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jan24jan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shortwood Farm also viewed

 
Goodrich, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to Shortwood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing