We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Magic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Ristorante Stampa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Viconago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Perched high on an Italian mountain overlooking the Swiss lakes this hotel can boast the most amazing views in Europe. The family run hotel is clean, comfortable and welcoming. Our activities for the 3 night stay included cooling off in the sparkling pool and lazing on the sundeck looking again at the mountains and lakes of Switzerland, strolling along the river which borders Italy and Switzerland, finding our way through the local village streets admiring the architecture and drinking tea in the tiny piazza with the locals. The hairdresser managed to colour and style my hair although we couldn't converse except by hand signals. A super find was a church built in the 900's and now is revealing, under the white plaster paintings, of the Leonardo da Vinci school. Breakfasts and dinner at the hotel restaurant were delicious. A gluten free menu was provided and amongst the pile of menus we did find one English language menu. Evening meals were very popular with the locals and we suspect from people as far away as Milano. We estimated over 100 guests eating most nights and the food was delicious. The biggest challenge is to find this unique hotel as it is well away from the tourist route but we stopped and asked locals and are so glad to have stayed in a most special place.

Room Tip: Rooms were all in quiet positions and without views but we were able to sit on the decking or in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicanago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

I booked this hotel for one night for our family of four, two small children. We stayed here one night on our way to the Tuscan coastal region. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful although the English language is difficult for them. The view on the lake and surroundings is absolutely beautiful. The hotel has a good restaurant with a good price - quality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freek v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I stay one night in this albergo every year and it is just wunderful. The view from the balcony is even that fantastic, like the view from the restaurant-terrace. Even in the night... It is 2km from the centre in the hill from Ponte Tresa. The whole family is working in the albergo and everybody is very friendly and nice. The food in the restaurant is very delicious and cheap. The pizzas are great!!!!!

Room Tip: There are about 10 rooms in this albergo, most are with seaview. Ask about a seaview-room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Nice Hotel on the top of the hill. We found a verry good hotel with a great view over Ponte Tresa and the lake. The food was verry good too. We will visit this hotel One more!!!! Nice people and clean rooms, with free Wifi on the rooms.

Room Tip: Wie found a verry good hotel with a great view over Ponte Tresa and the lake. The food was verry go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuxfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We booked the hotel as a stop over and chose it because it was not far off our route and because reviews said it had a good view.
The view from our room and from the restorant/breakfast balcony was great! - better than we'd imagined.
The room was comfortable, but could have benefited from a fan or A/C. Whilst the room would not win any beaty competitions, we had everything we needed and the Wifi was excellent.
Dinner was very good and was very fairly priced, bordering on cheap. My pizza was truly excellent and my wife very much enjoyed her mussels. The service could have been a bit more enthusiastic, but we got all we wanted.
Breakfast was served on the restaurant balcony and whilst being a fairly basic Continental style, everything was top quality and was plentiful.
Parking was plentiful and whilst not secure, the location is very quiet and serene.
I did not try the swimming pool but it was available.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view unless your whole stay is during darkness! Eat early or reserve a table at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beentheredunthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Just inside the Italian border when arriving from Switzerland you can't probably not find this place without help from your GPS. It takes you higher and higher until the small bending way comes to an end. The hotel is quite simpel but clean and has what you can need for a short stop over. When there you have to try one of their magnificent pizzas and enjoy a local winé of verygood quality to a very resonable price. Take the dinner on the veranda and enjoy the view out over the lake and mountins. In the morning they treat you witha very very good and nice and fresh breakfast . Enjoy the ham and cheese.
Drive up just under and pass the stairs for the hotelentrence and you will be calm to find a parking place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorkelKarlsbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kies een kamer aan de voorzijde, balkon met fantastisch uitzicht over meer en bergen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ruud N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo S, Responsabile reception at Albergo Ristorante Stampa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Albergo Ristorante Stampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante Stampa

Address: Via Stampa 3, 21031 Viconago, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Viconago
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Viconago
Price Range: £73 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Ristorante Stampa 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Ristorante Stampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing