We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok”
Review of Seal Bay Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seal Bay Cottages
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The cabins are located in a bushy area and very removed from the accommodation so you need to be prepared to be self sufficient, which we were. We paid over $150/night and expected a better equipped and less tired cabin. No egg slide in the kitchen made cooking pancakes a bit complex but the real problem was not one extra blanket was supplied and each bed had only one thin quilt. It was a freezing weekend and going to bed in my thermals is something I expect to do in a tent not a cabin. Crockery and cutlery required washing before use and I am not an overly fussy person. Great location for visiting the island's western end but this certainly wasn't a good value stay. Bring your own flyspray (none supplied of course) the screens have holes and the location near a lagoon means Mosquitos will be a problem especially in summer. On a plus side lots of birds, especially blue wrens.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank CaT0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

Just what we needed- a quiet simple cabin surrounded by nature- in a group of 5 cabins. Very peaceful, lots of birds and places for the kids to explore and no TV. There was an open grassy area just afew minutes walk away, in front of the reception area, where the boys could play soccer. Lovely sitting on the deck in the evening having a glass of wine. Easy drive to Vivonne Bay and Seal Bay- very centrally situated to explore. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed a night in cabin 5. Cabin is basic and functional. Stayed there as we were heading to Seal Bay the next morning, and this is the nearest accommodation. The cabin is surrounded by nature, so it was an experience for city dwellers like us. The sofa, linen and bedsheets really need to be replaced as they are looking old. There isn't a TV by the way, just an old radio.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ynwa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We spent four nights at the Seal Bay cottages. The cabin was comfortable, and the kitchen had all the utilities for self-catering. The verandah was awesome, relaxing, and the birds were singing. Kangaroos visited in the night. The location is perfect - it was convenient to get to all of the attractions on the island. Overall highly recommended place if you want to feel the nature and experience the real Kangaroo Island.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
P.S The prices are very reasonable.

Shannon, New Zealand

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The cabins are basic, which is perfect for this location. Self-contained, with the basics to cook yourself a meal. Nothing to complain about for the price you are paying. The cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired. Ants were everywhere throughout the lounge & kitchen. I scrubbed the kitchen & all utensils/crockery before using.
The cafe obviously doesn't get a lot of customers. Dinner was atrocious....$70 for a bottle of wine, chicken schnitzel & fishermans basket. All frozen, out of a packet & poorly cooked. There were bugs everywhere & the dining area hadn't been cleaned for a very long time.
Overall I would suggest you find somewhere else to stay & eat mainly because cleanliness is not a strong point....but is so important.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Lana2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

These cabins had 2 small bedrooms, one with a double bed and the other with bunks, a small bathroom and a kitchen (gas stove top, microwave, all utensils) open to a living area with a couch and dining setting. All was new and clean. A small verandah looked to flowering bottlebrushes and we could sit there and photograph blue wrens and honeyeaters. The "winter lagoon" was empty. We saw kangaroos, an echidna and huge flocks of galahs.
The cafe only offered hamburgers and seemed closed but we were self-catering so that didn't worry us.
This is well located for visiting the nearby Sea Lions at Seal Bay and the Birds of Prey Free Flight Presentation, which is excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussietraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We found the cottages through Trip Advisor and were so pleased. They were cozy and quiet and comfy old-style cabins. We were thoroughly pleased, especially for the price. They are very secluded and private, which was exactly what we wanted. We were greeted by bird calls of many different kinds, and a wonderful little bird couple was there every morning to greet us. The cottages are ideally located between nature and town.

Room Tip: The cabins are all separate and we only stayed in the one, but I'm sure all are equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doittoit00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seddon
29.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
26 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
904 reviews
26.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
408 reviews
28 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
446 reviews
25.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seal Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal Bay Cottages

Address: 3052 South Coast Rd | Kangaroo Island, Seddon, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia (Formerly Kaiwarra Cottages)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Seddon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Seddon
Price Range: £67 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seal Bay Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Under New Ownership in September 2015* Seal Bay Cottages offers a number of self-contained two-bedroom cabins in a tranquil rural setting nestled among native gum trees and overlooking a winter lagoon. Water birds, wild flowers and native animals are on your doorstep depending on the season. Seal Bay Cottages also offers 12 bed hostel accommodation in four bunk style rooms and a shared kitchen facility. Seal Bay Cottages is situated in a beautiful location, on 35 acres of land, half an hour from Kingscote. It is an ideal base for visiting the world famous Seal Bay Conservation park, Little Sahara sand dunes, Vivonne Bay, Kelly Hill Caves, Remarkable Rocks and Flinders Chase National Park. Our fully-licensed restaurant / cafe, is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (breakfast and dinner by request during quiet periods) and serves a variety of meals including local produce and alcohol. (See the Seal Bay Cafe Listing on TripAdvisor). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Seal Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing