We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birdwatchers Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seal Bay Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seal Bay Cottages
Surry Hills
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birdwatchers Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the lovely Seal Bay Cottages, we were in cabin #5. It was a fantastic experience! There are so many types of birds all around the premesis, and as both my partner and I love bridwatching we enjoyed every moment. In the evening we were visited by a little kangaroo, which was very exciting for the children. The location is just perfect, close to all the main places and close to the incredible Vivonne Bay beach, where we spent lots of our time. The room itslef is very comfortable, clean, has all the gear you would need for cooking. The children enjoyed running up and down the cafe lawn, climibing the gigantic trees and exploring everything - never a dull moment for them.
The food at the restaurant was delicious, good sized and served with a smile.
We highly recommend Seal Bay Cottages for families and nature-lovers!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    13
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
24
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eucla, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

I stopped in for a coffee at the cafe and found the brown liquid half filling the cup to be absolutely undrinkable. The place is dirty.

I saw two plates left on the tables covered in rat droppings - thank goodness I didn’t ask for a meal there.

There are two dilapidated vehicles parked in the car park which haven’t moved for a while - giving the impression from the road that there are patrons at the establishment - they’re not!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seddon hotels

Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We spent 3 nights at this lovely venue next to Seal Bay on Kangaroo Island.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, the cottages were cosy and comfortable,
the staff even brought us dinner to our cabin!
It was a very convenient location, we visited Seal Bay, Little Sahara, Vivonne Bay, Flinders Chase National Park and all the wonderful places on KI.
At first we were suspicious about the "look for the koala" sign at the entrance to the reception, because we didn't see any koalas, but the next day we finally spotted the koala with a tiny baby on it back!!

Big thumbs up!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Seal Bay Cottages are pretty centrally located on the island on the main south coast road about 15 minutes drive from Seal Bay and some amazing beaches. We arrived latish in the day checked in and raced down to the beach to find it completely empty and perfect for drinking a glass of wine. We literally used this place as a bed for the night and all was fine. The shower room needs a bit of attention as the door actually came off with the first person using it and we had to attempt some DIY so others could shower. We didn't eat here as we found a brilliant Cafe not too far down the road to the west called Rustic Blue Cafe and Gallery where service was great. Petrol locally is a complete rip off so make sure you refuel at Kingscote or Penneshaw.
Seal bay Cottages has some good bird life around and its own resident Koala who at the time was with a baby. Overall a bed is a bed is bed, that's all.
As with others the location and closeness to Seal Bay is ideal as watching the Sea lions at 9am as they wake and go out to the beach was great!

Room Tip: The cabins are quiet and have many bird visitors including the Superb Fairy Wren
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zuzahandbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

The cabins are located in a bushy area and very removed from the accommodation so you need to be prepared to be self sufficient, which we were. We paid over $150/night and expected a better equipped and less tired cabin. No egg slide in the kitchen made cooking pancakes a bit complex but the real problem was not one extra blanket was supplied and each bed had only one thin quilt. It was a freezing weekend and going to bed in my thermals is something I expect to do in a tent not a cabin. Crockery and cutlery required washing before use and I am not an overly fussy person. Great location for visiting the island's western end but this certainly wasn't a good value stay. Bring your own flyspray (none supplied of course) the screens have holes and the location near a lagoon means Mosquitos will be a problem especially in summer. On a plus side lots of birds, especially blue wrens.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank CaT0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Just what we needed- a quiet simple cabin surrounded by nature- in a group of 5 cabins. Very peaceful, lots of birds and places for the kids to explore and no TV. There was an open grassy area just afew minutes walk away, in front of the reception area, where the boys could play soccer. Lovely sitting on the deck in the evening having a glass of wine. Easy drive to Vivonne Bay and Seal Bay- very centrally situated to explore. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed a night in cabin 5. Cabin is basic and functional. Stayed there as we were heading to Seal Bay the next morning, and this is the nearest accommodation. The cabin is surrounded by nature, so it was an experience for city dwellers like us. The sofa, linen and bedsheets really need to be replaced as they are looking old. There isn't a TV by the way, just an old radio.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ynwa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seddon
29.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
26.0 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
37.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
24.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Cabins
Kangaroo Island Cabins
#5 of 7 in Kingscote
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
26.9 mi away
Hanson Bay Cabins
Hanson Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Karatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seal Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal Bay Cottages

Property: Seal Bay Cottages
Address: 3052 South Coast Rd | Kangaroo Island, Seddon, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia (Formerly Kaiwarra Cottages)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Seddon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Seddon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seal Bay Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Under New Ownership in September 2015* Seal Bay Cottages offers a number of self-contained two-bedroom cabins in a tranquil rural setting nestled among native gum trees and overlooking a winter lagoon. Water birds, wild flowers and native animals are on your doorstep depending on the season. Seal Bay Cottages also offers 12 bed hostel accommodation in four bunk style rooms and a shared kitchen facility. Seal Bay Cottages is situated in a beautiful location, on 35 acres of land, half an hour from Kingscote. It is an ideal base for visiting the world famous Seal Bay Conservation park, Little Sahara sand dunes, Vivonne Bay, Kelly Hill Caves, Remarkable Rocks and Flinders Chase National Park. Our fully-licensed restaurant / cafe, is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (breakfast and dinner by request during quiet periods) and serves a variety of meals including local produce and alcohol. (See the Seal Bay Cafe Listing on TripAdvisor). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seal Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing