We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prefer Elsewhere”
Review of Seal Bay Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seal Bay Cottages
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Prefer Elsewhere”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

After staying the previous night at Western KI Caravan Park , this place was a real let down. They do meals but only until 6pm mon - thurs , so its back to the cabin early , and with no tv in the cabins ( they are in the process of installing them ) it made for a slow evening.
The place has charm though , but just needs a bit extra if it wants to compete.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    14
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
24
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kangaroo Island, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed in the hostel which has three large rooms with two bunks in each.
This is a very well located tourist accommodation and our arrival was timed perfectly after a days driving around the Western end of KI.
We were also happy that on the Friday evening, the resort has a license to serve alcohol so we had a tipple or two and chatted with the locals and the resort managers. Very relaxed and friendly!
If we are out this way again then we will definitely stop overnight.
There is Austar satellite on the tv in the lounge room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KITravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We (family with two young kids) stayed one week in one of the cabins while exploring Kangaroo Island. The cabin including the bath, the kitchen and all the linen provided were very clean. The cabin was equiped with all we needed and the veranda was perfect to enjoy with our children in the evening. The owner and his family were very friendly and helpful. Every day at dusk or at dawn we saw wild kangaroos on the field nearby and our children loved to find the koala and explore any further creatures. The location was perfect to explore all corners of the island and our children ask us still quiet frequently when we go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I stayed in one of the cabins for one night as I worked my way across KI for my three days on the island. For me the cabin was clean as was the shower and bedding and had everything I needed. I booked accomodations with kitchens to keep costs down. I was able to cook a very nice dinner and breakfast in the utensil stocked kitchen. I did as the travel books suggested and bought food in Kingscote to cook on my trip. This is not luxury, but a good price for value. I do not understand why you would book a self contained cabin and go out for meals?? They did supply coffee and tea packs with milk in the cabin to use if you did not bring it.

This is very convenient to the attractions in the middle of KI. I would absolutely stay there again. It was nice to sit on the porch in the afternoon, drink a glass of wine and watch the birds. You wake up listening to the birds. I did not utilize the restaurant to comment on that.

Room Tip: All the cottages look out over a marshy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler7462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for a night during our trip to KI. The cabin is clean and well equipped. You wake up with birds singing right at your door. The only cons I can find is the food is pretty expensive for some junk food such as chips and nuggets but well considering its in the middle of nowhere... So if you can stock up before hand and cook yourself you will save heaps.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lihn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Seal bay cottages is located right smack in the middle of the island. really a great place if you wanna see it all!!
me and my girlfriend stayed in a cabin for 3 nights, everything was provided. sheets and towels, the water was hot and the kitchen was big and fully functioning.
everything was clean and well kept, and felt kinda homey.

because its fairly remote and isolated, at night the skies were unbelievable!!! we could see the milky way clearly each night! amazing!
there were beautiful birds everywhere and we saw an echidna right outside our patio!!!

the restaurant was fairly priced and had really nice sized portions. we ate dinner one night and breakfast the day we left. pretty damn tasty for a little place! and the coffee was excellent and in a big mug!
The people managing the desk were extremely friendly and helped us out with everything we needed (which wasn't really anything), they seemed to know a lot about the island and recommended us places to go and see.

all in all a great place to discover a great island!

Room Tip: room 6 seemed the most 'isolated' from all the cabins (we were in 5)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlonNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macksville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We have recently moved to live & work on the Island, and wanted to explore a little of what it has to offer. We opted to stay at Seal Bay cottages as it was exceptionally priced and located close to a few attractions that we wanted to visit. The staff were fantastic & friendly, and nothing was too difficult for them. The cabin itself was clean and comfortable for the two of us, and we both agree that it is somewhere we would stay again. The bed in the cabin is one of the best beds we have slept in & we left rested and more than happy with our Seal Bay Cottage experience :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kridy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seddon
29.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
26.0 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
37.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
25.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Cabins
Kangaroo Island Cabins
#5 of 7 in Kingscote
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
26.9 mi away
Hanson Bay Cabins
Hanson Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Karatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seal Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal Bay Cottages

Property: Seal Bay Cottages
Address: 3052 South Coast Rd | Kangaroo Island, Seddon, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia (Formerly Kaiwarra Cottages)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Seddon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Seddon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seal Bay Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Under New Ownership in September 2015* Seal Bay Cottages offers a number of self-contained two-bedroom cabins in a tranquil rural setting nestled among native gum trees and overlooking a winter lagoon. Water birds, wild flowers and native animals are on your doorstep depending on the season. Seal Bay Cottages also offers 12 bed hostel accommodation in four bunk style rooms and a shared kitchen facility. Seal Bay Cottages is situated in a beautiful location, on 35 acres of land, half an hour from Kingscote. It is an ideal base for visiting the world famous Seal Bay Conservation park, Little Sahara sand dunes, Vivonne Bay, Kelly Hill Caves, Remarkable Rocks and Flinders Chase National Park. Our fully-licensed restaurant / cafe, is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (breakfast and dinner by request during quiet periods) and serves a variety of meals including local produce and alcohol. (See the Seal Bay Cafe Listing on TripAdvisor). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seal Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing