We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eleanor River Homestead - Kangaroo Island
Nearby Hotels
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn(Kingscote)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments(Kingscote)(Great Value!)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge(American River)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Casuarina Coastal Units(American River)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
41
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoff the beaten trackseal bayqueen bedthe kitchenpeaceful staybirds of preylocal wildlifedirt roadlog cabinopen spacespent four nightssolar panelsmobile phonemorning and eveningunique experiencecentral locationroos
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband & I arrived early evening...driving down an unsealed road...greeted by all kinds of nocturnal wildlife! Kangaroos, wallabies, echidnas and so much more. We knew that we had found that "special" place. Beautiful sunrises with a wide variety of songbirds and kangaroos watching the sun rise as well, colorful sunsets with the silhouettes of kangaroos in the distance and amazing star gazing! We found the cabin to be very comfortable and so quiet. Only the crack of thunder or rain falling on the roof woke us. The location is ideal...close to the national parks which allows guests a head start before the tour buses arrive! Graeme suggested we visit Hanson's Wildlife Reserve for the koala bear walk...and wow! See my review for Hanson's. Kathy invited us to feed the Kestrel and the kangaroos...that was great fun! Such wonderful memories!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent four nights here with three days -- not enough -- to explore KI. The cabin was huge for two, with a terrific kitchen, which we needed since Budget wouldn't let us drive their car after dark on KI. Each morning, we woke to kangaroos feeding in the field of grass-trees and in the evenings, we could stroll down to Kath & Graeme's place for the nightly feeding of the kangaroos and Genie, the kestrel, who lands on your head or hand in search of food. We stocked up at Foodland in Kingscote and at the bakery there and ate splendidly. On a chilly morning, the wood stove warmed the cabin beautifully. It's so central that it's easy to get anywhere on the island in fairly short order. We'll be back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank EllBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at Eleanor River Homestead. We stayed for 2 nights but wished we had a little longer to rest and relax and enjoy KI. The cabin is well appointed with a great kitchen and living space in a cottage that sits in the middle of a farm. Local kangaroos graze on the driveway and front lawn of the cottage which really adds to the country feel.

The breakfast supplies were generous and met our needs perfectly. Would highly suggest paying extra for this as there are not many cafés near by to grab a quick bite early in the morning. Fresh eggs, bacon toast and condiments were well enjoyed!!

Be aware if you're taking your own car the cottage is only accessible via gravel roads so it will be bumpy and the car will be filthy, but it's worth the trip!!

The cabin is very central to the island which is a big advantage as everything is 45mins or less drive away.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Skramit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We spent three nights at the Eleanor River Homestead in January and absolutely loved it. We enjoyed the nightly visits from the kangaroos, and Genie the resident kestrel. And the night sky - holy moly - simply breathtaking.

If you are coming from the ferry, stop in Kingscote to stock up at Foodland. The nearest store to the cabin is 15-20 mins on a mostly gravel/dirt road, and the variety there is limited.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenlmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was one of our favorite places during our trip to Australia. It's a beautiful self contained cabin that has 2 bedrooms, a beautiful bathroom with a modern kitchen and comfy living room.

The grounds are so beautiful and peaceful. The place is surrounded by friendly and curious kangaroos that come up to you so you can pet and feed them.

We loved watching the sun set and just enjoying the quietness of the area.

This is definitely a place that we will come back to !!!

Recommendation : opt for the breakfast provision so you don't have to go into town to pick up food. We arrived late in the day and everything was closed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank traveldel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews