We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect holiday hideaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eleanor River Homestead - Kangaroo Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Seddon B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We spent a week here and could have stayed forever. Sit by the fireplace and watch the resident wallabies, kangaroos, echidnas and even Kestrel. Our hosts Graeme and Kathy were helpful and welcoming. The homestead is secluded and perfectly positioned to visit all the wonderful island attractions. What a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Eleanor River Homestead - Kangaroo Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We chose Eleanor River as it was centrally located on Kangaroo Island and for the wildlife too - we were not disappointed! We only wish we could stay longer!! We had 5 days but I think you need more to immerse yourself in the beauty at staying at Eleanor River Homestead and Kangaroo Island!

We really enjoyed feeding the kangaroo's, Genie and the chook :)

Thank you Kathy and Graeme for sharing your beautiful part of the world with us! We will definitely be back!

** Would recommend grabbing a bottle of wine at Bay of Shoals winery, get some of the fish at Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods, and enjoy watching the kangaroo's on the deck **

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MermaidNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was our first visit to KI despite living in Adelaide for over 10 years. We chose Eleanor Homestead for location and on the back of other positive reviews. What a great choice it was. The accommodation is fantastic and the location beautiful. Centrally located on the island it is also very handy to all the natural attractions the KI has to offer. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband & I arrived early evening...driving down an unsealed road...greeted by all kinds of nocturnal wildlife! Kangaroos, wallabies, echidnas and so much more. We knew that we had found that "special" place. Beautiful sunrises with a wide variety of songbirds and kangaroos watching the sun rise as well, colorful sunsets with the silhouettes of kangaroos in the distance and amazing star gazing! We found the cabin to be very comfortable and so quiet. Only the crack of thunder or rain falling on the roof woke us. The location is ideal...close to the national parks which allows guests a head start before the tour buses arrive! Graeme suggested we visit Hanson's Wildlife Reserve for the koala bear walk...and wow! See my review for Hanson's. Kathy invited us to feed the Kestrel and the kangaroos...that was great fun! Such wonderful memories!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent four nights here with three days -- not enough -- to explore KI. The cabin was huge for two, with a terrific kitchen, which we needed since Budget wouldn't let us drive their car after dark on KI. Each morning, we woke to kangaroos feeding in the field of grass-trees and in the evenings, we could stroll down to Kath & Graeme's place for the nightly feeding of the kangaroos and Genie, the kestrel, who lands on your head or hand in search of food. We stocked up at Foodland in Kingscote and at the bakery there and ate splendidly. On a chilly morning, the wood stove warmed the cabin beautifully. It's so central that it's easy to get anywhere on the island in fairly short order. We'll be back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank EllBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at Eleanor River Homestead. We stayed for 2 nights but wished we had a little longer to rest and relax and enjoy KI. The cabin is well appointed with a great kitchen and living space in a cottage that sits in the middle of a farm. Local kangaroos graze on the driveway and front lawn of the cottage which really adds to the country feel.

The breakfast supplies were generous and met our needs perfectly. Would highly suggest paying extra for this as there are not many cafés near by to grab a quick bite early in the morning. Fresh eggs, bacon toast and condiments were well enjoyed!!

Be aware if you're taking your own car the cottage is only accessible via gravel roads so it will be bumpy and the car will be filthy, but it's worth the trip!!

The cabin is very central to the island which is a big advantage as everything is 45mins or less drive away.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Skramit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We spent three nights at the Eleanor River Homestead in January and absolutely loved it. We enjoyed the nightly visits from the kangaroos, and Genie the resident kestrel. And the night sky - holy moly - simply breathtaking.

If you are coming from the ferry, stop in Kingscote to stock up at Foodland. The nearest store to the cabin is 15-20 mins on a mostly gravel/dirt road, and the variety there is limited.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenlmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seddon
29.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
27.1 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
415 reviews
36.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
21.6 mi away
Flour Cask Bay Retreat
Flour Cask Bay Retreat
#2 of 2 in American River
30 reviews
45.6 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleanor River Homestead - Kangaroo Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleanor River Homestead - Kangaroo Island

Address: 563a Gregors Rd, Seddon, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Seddon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Seddon
Price Range: £118 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eleanor River Homestead - Kangaroo Island 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pristine Kangaroo Island Accommodation. After a days touring on Kangaroo Island drive down a 3km private road to The Mary Ellen, a luxurious yet warm and cosy 2 bedroom, rustic log cabin nestled in a magnificent bushland setting. Eleanor River Homestead is a 250 acre property located amongst rolling hills and valleys on the banks of the Eleanor River offering the best Self Contained accommodation on Kangaroo Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Eleanor River Homestead - Kangaroo Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing