We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely place to go!”

Calbourne Water Mill & Rural Museum
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Calbourne
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A Lovely place to go!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Calbourne Watermill -> My second visit.

It was a beautiful day also, which made it even better. The museums - interesting and the watermill (which you can go inside) also interesting. Birds (geese, ducks, doves, pigeons, peacocks - you name it!) - there to feed, The very small, but cute windmill - picturesque! The tearooms were lovely just a shame there was alot of wasps around, but that is no fault of their own, wasps will be wasps!!

The Boating lake was probably the highlight of the morning - you can hire pedalos, rowing boats or punting boats. Didn't bother going on a pedalo as everyone who was in one looked as though they were struggling to keep afloat. We went on a rowing boat which was good fun and half an hour for £5 is a bargain, really. However, you do not get given lifejackets, which is something I think Calbourne watermill should consider, although the water did look quite shallow. Overall a good morning, with swings for children to enjoy, Bygone museums for families and much more.

This place really is a hidden gem and brings a lot to the island. I recommend a trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lol015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    52
    39
    37
    47
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Family enjoyed the day,spent what seemed like hours feeding various birds and fish. Great fun had punting up the river and playing golf. Then enjoyed a lovely home made cream tea. Milling demo interesting just busy,but miller was happy to answer our questions once demo was finished.
Lovely quaint attraction. Would go again

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprisingly full of interest”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We came here to kill some time before our ferry but ended up really enjoying the whole experience. The place is a seemingly random collection of different things, the main water mill, museum of vintage household items, war memorabilia, old fire station, paddling on the lake. All of it combine to make a really interesting day out. The entry price is reasonable and you get multiple entry. A delightful restaurant on site that caters very well for young children.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Venue on a Sunny Day.”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We recently visited the watermill at Calbourne having not been before, to see what it was like. We visited on a sunny morning and the venue is pleasant enough with the highlight being the water mill itself.
There are various things to do here including a pitch and putt golf course and some boats on the mill stream with the choice of either rowing, peddling or even punting.
There are some galleries to look around including a World War 2 room and a collection of old domestic appliances which adults will find interesting. There was also a room allowing children to make small clay models.
The highlight of the day is watching the water mill in operation which if you have an interest in engineering is probably worth the visit alone, though these demonstrations only seemed to occur at pre set times. The refreshment facilities are very good for the size of the venue.
On the down side there seems to be a lots of rusting equipment on display with little explanation of its function or purpose, it all looked a little forlorn.
Certainly a good place to while away a few hours as adults and include a trip to the nearby 'Winkle Street' as well, but I am not sure how a young family would fare on a day when the weather was less that perfect as in my opinion, there did not seem to be a lot to catch their interest on a rainy day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Glad we came”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

This is the second time are family has been to the mill and we again enjoyed our visit. The food is excellent and the talk and tour of the working mill should not be missed. The location and atmosphere is excellent, very nice staff. Seen a few comments about the poo!, well the birds are part of the place and the staff do seem to have improved the clearing up from last time, so well done!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandSarah6364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calbourne Water Mill & Rural Museum also viewed

Wootton Bridge, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Calbourne Water Mill & Rural Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing