We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, peaceful cottage - don't hesitate to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Ford Wetley Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge A nice warm fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge
A nice warm fire
Farmhouse kitchen
Master bedroom with bathroom.
Twin room with shower room.
Downstairs double room with shower room.
Private Cottage Garden with BBQ/Fire Pit
Relaxing in the front garden
The neighbours
The bridge over the stream to the cottage
Could you be lucky and have a white Christmas?
Another stunning start to the day
Bit chilly for Alfresco dining!
Fun in the field
Expedition time, well just into the field
Nearby scenery.
Sun setting at the back of the cottage
Charlie and Breeze, our Miniature Shetland ponies!
The Ford Wetley Dogs, Paddy and Murphy.
Waterfall in the garden
Peak District
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ford, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jenwk
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful cottage - don't hesitate to book”
Reviewed 18 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This is a stunning cottage close to Leek which my family and I booked to celebrate my mum's 60th in July. I spent weeks looking for somewhere that would accommodate both my 1 year old niece and our dog, Penny, and eventually stumbled across Ford Wetley which was not only dog-friendly but had 3 double rooms, all en-suite.

When we pulled up outside the cottage we were not disappointed with our choice. This really is a lovely place and very well kept, and we were lucky to have more or less 5 solid days of good weather enabling us to make full use of the BBQ facilities! My niece also went every morning to collect eggs from the chickens which she loved.

For us city-types it was a real shock to discover just how quiet and peaceful this cottage is; it really feels like a place where you can escape to and unwind. The owners were incredibly helpful from the moment we booked and we were able to organise a number of suprises for my mum in advance with their assistance, including a massage from Louise, which my mum said was incredible!

I would thoroughly recommend this cottage and would be more than happy to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The look of the cottage and the area. Oh and the chickens!!
Liked least: Finding it!! Was a bit tricky to locate...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2011
Thank you James, so glad you enjoyed your stay, you're all most welcome anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maz1963
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a peaceful location, with plenty of bathrooms!”
Reviewed 24 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Our week here was very enjoyable, the location is lovely and the property has most things you would want for. The lounge is comfortable and the bedrooms are all en-suite, which was a real bonus. The grounds are nice and it was great to be able to light a fire by the stream on our last night and toast some marshmallows! The owners were very helpful both throughout the booking process and during our stay. I had read about Murphy the dog prior to our visit and he was a real delight, a great ambassador! We went to walk the Derbyshire Dales and the cottage is very close to the Manifold Valley, Dovedale, Ilam, etc, and places like Castleton and Hope are a nice drive away. I love this part of the country and it was good to return and stay in such a nice location. My only criticism is that certain aspects of the kitchen need, in my view, a little tlc, but this did not really detract from our experience. There were no young children in our party, but I would say that for those with small children, this would be an ideal and safe spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike really
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2011
Thank you for your review, we invite feedback from every guest so that we can make the kitchen is as equipped as possible. Every item in the kitchen has been replaced either last year or this year and we buy only the highest quality to last and ensure a enjoyable stay ie cooker, hob, microwave, toaster, sharp knives, cutlery, utensils, crockery and kettle are all new and supply everything that we think could be required; washing up liquid, hand soap, kitchen roll, oil, salt, pepper, tea bags, coffee, sugar, tin foil, cling film, food bags, tea towels, kitchen towel, new dish cloth and sponge, wine, milk, eggs and chocolates etc. Any other items suggested on our feedback forms are always supplied.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisecro...
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The perfect countryside retreat!”
Reviewed 6 July 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

After spending a few minutes locating the cottage, we arrived at the top of a single track road to Ford Wetley Cottage.

The location was fabulous, in the middle of no-where, with only the birds as background noise.

The cottage is the best I have ever stayed at. Warm, Comfortable, homely and very pretty. The kitchen was well stocked with condiments and other cooking ingredients along with every pot or pan you could ask for.

The bedrooms were really comfortable and very clean. All bedrooms had their own bathrooms, which was great considering I have a wife and 2 daughters who are never out of the bathroom!

The living room had a stock of games and magazines, DVD's and a huge amount of music on a Storage device. (Some quite interesting choices in the music, but largely recognisable)

The Log Burner warmed the place up nicely in the chilly evenings, but I am sure that we only felt that we needed it because the days were so very warm!

Location wise, it couldnt have been much better. 10 Min drive to Alton Towers, 20 Mins from the best of the Peaks and only 10 Mins from a decent Supermarket. Tesco delivery upon arrival was also very easy and saved us a lot of trouble.

The neighbours (Albeit pretty far away), were all lovely and very friendly. The dog "Day-sitter" up the road was so helpful and really convenient. We managed to have the dogs looked after on three seperate days where we were out for long periods. Really reasonable too.

Overall, we couldnt have hoped for a better holiday. The weather was amazing, the location was first class, the hosts (Louise and Adrian) were helpful beyond the call of duty and added immensly to the amazing time we had.

There is not one thing I could fault Louise and Adrian with. Not one thing. Everything was brilliant and we are certainly going back.

If you have the chance to stay at Ford Wetley Cottage, seize it with both hands, because you wont find a better holiday cottage, even if you paid 10 times as much. (And it is worth ten times as much).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$125
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing