We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secluded, serene and idyllic escape into the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Ford Wetley Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge A nice warm fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge
A nice warm fire
Farmhouse kitchen
Master bedroom with bathroom.
Twin room with shower room.
Downstairs double room with shower room.
Private Cottage Garden with BBQ/Fire Pit
Relaxing in the front garden
The neighbours
The bridge over the stream to the cottage
Could you be lucky and have a white Christmas?
Another stunning start to the day
Bit chilly for Alfresco dining!
Fun in the field
Expedition time, well just into the field
Nearby scenery.
Sun setting at the back of the cottage
Charlie and Breeze, our Miniature Shetland ponies!
The Ford Wetley Dogs, Paddy and Murphy.
Waterfall in the garden
Peak District
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ford, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael C
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Secluded, serene and idyllic escape into the English countryside”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

When booking a holiday cottage for the first time it is always a leap in the dark that the property meets all one's criteria but I have to say this one did. Situated in the village of Ford, Staffs, its rural location is ideal for those who want to escape 'the fast lane'. The cottage is well-appointed with each bedroom having an en suite bathroom, 2 with showers and 1 with a bath. But it is the location that grabbed us. Secluded and serene except for birdsong and farmyard noises. Yet, with 5-10 mins you are well on the way to Ashbourne or Leek. We used it as a base to explore the Peak District but it is also just 7 miles from Alton Towers if that is one of your holiday tasks.
Add to this the personable yet respectful nature of the owners and their young family, a brilliant week of English weather, and we found this one of the best UK holidays we have been on for a long time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural farmyard setting & friendliness of the owners
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2013
Thank you so glad you had great weather for your week too. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C
Hambleton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Peace on Earth”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

If you're looking for peace and quiet, look no further!!!!! The cottage is very well equipped, very comfortable and set in beautiful surroundings. We couldn't have asked for any better. If you're like us and wanted to totally relax, there is even the bonus of no mobile phone signal. Heaven!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the setting.
Liked least: No dislikes
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie S
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect place for beautiful scenery, seclusion and tranquility”
Reviewed 19 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My Husband and I were hoping to have a few days away in peaceful tranquility with our 2 Dogs, and that is what we had. The surrounding scenery was beautiful and we found some great walks with the dogs. You do need a car to travel to local facilities as it is quite secluded and you although there is Wi-Fi and Internet access, we couldn't get a signal on the Mobile, we didn't mind that though. The Hosts were very welcoming and friendly and had added nice touches on our arrival such as leaving Eggs from their own Hens, Chocolates, Wine and a very welcome pint of Milk. The Cottage is nicely decorated and again nice touches in the bedrooms with cushions on the beds and liquid soap and hand moisturiser. The Owners animals are delightful and include 2 miniature Horses, Dogs and Hens. We had a lovely time and would stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation and scenery surrounding the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S
Leamington Spa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful location - home from home”
Reviewed 3 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Seven of us stayed in this delightful cottage on a short break. The cottage was just perfect - three bathrooms (a necessity when there are a few of you!), cosy living room with tv, dvd player and cd player (and not forgetting the wood burner!); fully equipped kitchen and all-in-all we had everything we could possibly need. Louise and Adrian are perfect hosts - not intrusive, but kindly popped in to make sure we were ok and had everything we needed. Adrian also provided extra wood for the wood burner! A lovely welcome pack awaited our arrival, and we instantly felt at home. The cottage was spotless and the bedding was perfect! The surrounding countryside is beautiful and so quiet. Lovely walks direct from the cottage. Murphy enjoyed our company, too, and is was delightful to have the ponies nearby. Seeing the newly hatched chicks was also a bonus.

In summary, if you want a peaceful, relaxing break away from the hum drum of everyday life, and have a real 'home from home', then Ford Wetley Cottage is the place to go!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
580PatM
Ellesmere Port, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“If you want to chill out, this is the place.”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

No phone signal without a short stroll, and no internet. So .....not only does it mean that you are uninterrupted, it also means that the youngsters actually talk to you!

The cottage is lovely, secluded, very comfortable and remarkably well equipped. The downstairs (with the exception of the bedroom) is all solid flooring so no worries about the dogs making a mess. We went on lovely walks, relaxed and in the evenings we watched films, talked or played games - it was just brilliant to chill out. There is even a dog friendly pub within about a 25 minute drive which serves excellent food.

Louise and Adrian left us a fantastic welcome pack and very useful instructions dotted around the cottage. Excellent

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are however currently connecting Wifi to the cottage but we can always turn it off if requested!!! Hope to see you again one day. Louise& Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britkids
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Christmas Week at Ford Wetley Cottage”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We spent Christmas week at Ford Wetley Cottage with friends and extended family. It was a wonderful location. A very warm and cosy house which is extremely well managed and equipped with everything you could possibly need. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2013
Thanks for your lovely review and hope to see you all again one day. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisjDerb...
Derby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A taste of Paradise on earth”
Reviewed 7 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

I can honestly say this was the best family holiday we have all experienced,, The sheer beauty of this cottage and garden made us all very appreciative of true values.. Louise was a woman after my own heart and was really forthcoming with her help and kindness... The weather was really beautiful could not have asked for more,,Wonderful place to be...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The settings of the cottage
Liked least: The stay was to short
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2012
Thakn you for your lovely review, glad you all enjoyed your week here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing