We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Winter wonderland”
other travellers have booked this property
Ford Wetley Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge A nice warm fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge
A nice warm fire
Farmhouse kitchen
Master bedroom with bathroom.
Twin room with shower room.
Downstairs double room with shower room.
Private Cottage Garden with BBQ/Fire Pit
Relaxing in the front garden
The neighbours
The bridge over the stream to the cottage
Could you be lucky and have a white Christmas?
Another stunning start to the day
Bit chilly for Alfresco dining!
Fun in the field
Expedition time, well just into the field
Nearby scenery.
Sun setting at the back of the cottage
Charlie and Breeze, our Miniature Shetland ponies!
The Ford Wetley Dogs, Paddy and Murphy.
Waterfall in the garden
Peak District
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ford, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Luke B
1 review
“Winter wonderland”
Reviewed 15 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Louise and Adrian where fantastic hosts, it snowed quite badly before our stay and they couldn’t have helped any more than they did, including driving out and picking up some of our party who where unable to get up to the property.

Anyway on with the cottage, charming would undersell it, beautiful and spacious rooms with onsuite facility’s in every room, and a fully equipped kitchen that had everything you would need, the cottage was clean and the welcome basket was a nice touch with fresh eggs and milk and so on, the surrounding area was lovely (we couldn’t really explore as we had planned because of the snow) but we did go sledging and had a lovely walk arround the local area, them back to the cottage with the log burner, good wine and board games, very relaxing weekend to say the least

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2018
Thanks for your lovely review Luke, glad we could help and hope to meet you'll again one day. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela V
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A brilliant find!!”
Reviewed 25 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

A lovely cottage in a lovely setting. We went as a family, all having our own ensuites, which in itself is a bonus! when we arrived there was a welcome of fresh eggs, biscuits, crisps and a bottle of red wine! The owners have thought of everything, as they say a real home from home. The beds were very comfortable and very good quality bedding, which was crisp white. Whilst we were there we visited Dovedale, Ashbourne and Leek all worth a visit, but we also enjoyed walks with the dogs around the cottage. My grandaughter loved the ponies, they seemed to like her too, especially when she had a carrot for them !! We ate at the Jervis arms at Onecote, The Bowling Green at Ashbourne and the Country Cottage café which is just a 2 minute drive away, all were excellent meals. Will be returning for a 2nd visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Break”
Reviewed 30 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Beautiful home from home classic English country cottage complete with thick stone walls, log burner, 3 double ensuite bedrooms and a perfect private setting for a relaxing family break. Quality furnishings and nice touches like a welcome pack from the owners made for great stay. The owners local guide listed many excellent local walks and pubs for when the weather is good or bad. A very peaceful location on the edge of a national park. We enjoyed a lovely long weekend break with our family and dog. Booking directly with the owners couldn't have been easier and they were very always helpful throughout our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2018
Thank you. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andra M
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Oh my goodness - heaven on earth!”
Reviewed 11 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We had the most magical Christmas in this stunning cottage! A couple of days with light snow (and a good covering the day we left), made it feel like we were part of a Christmas card scene. We can’t thank Louise and Adrian enough for the extra touches that made our arrival and stay so special - the fire crackling away and the music and Christmas lights playing on our arrival, the decorations throughout the cottage, the super tree (we loved the tree!), the welcome pack (very special, thank you), etc...
The sofas and beds were very, very comfortable and the decor so tasteful.
It was great to watch the wildlife in the snow covered garden.
We enjoyed Midnight Mass at one of the many local churches, drove around the area viewing many decorated houses and enjoyed a 3 course meal onboard a steam train travelling through beautiful countryside (Churnett Valley Railway), but by far the highlight of our break was the beautiful cottage! We were all extremely sad to leave (especially with the beautiful snow falling).
Thank you Louise and Adrian - you were the perfect hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2018
Thank you for the lovely review. So glad your Christmas was special and you enjoyed your stay at Ford Wetley. Hope to see you again one day. Louise and Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob B
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic perfect Suberb”
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in October 2017

Stayed October half term fantastic quiet peaceful break delivered on every level as promised. The warm welcoming feeling that smothers you as you first open the door continued throughout our stay and we didn't want to leave. the whole place is Clean and comfortable with a kitchen that has everything you would need. Thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2018
Really glad you enjoyed your time at Ford Wetley. Thank you for your lovely review. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect property”
Reviewed 5 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Great property in a perfect location with easy access to the Peak District and all the walks one could wish for. The three day stay was not long enough and hope to be able to return in the near future. Thanks to Louise and Adrian for your help and friendliness during our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage in the middle of nowhere - PERFECT!!”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I booked this cottage as a base for a group of us to stay for a week long trip to explore the peak district and to attend a wedding (It went well if anyone wondered. "I Do's" were said). The location of this cottage is well and truly out of the way from everything. There is no passing traffic and all you can hear are sheep, birds and the trickling of the stream - Down by the stream is where the 2 ponies live and most importantly THE TYRE SWING!!

The cottage has a well stocked kitchen full of pots, pans, dishes, cups, glasses, utensils and loads more. You do not need to worry about bringing your own.

All rooms have an en suite so if there is a large group of you, like there was with us, you do not have to wait all day for everyone to use the one shower. Unlike many households, the water didn't go ice cold or lose pressure of others were using the water in any other room either.

There is plenty of seating in the kitchen and living room, there is also a very nice garden table set so you can all sit round with a barbecue or a fire.

Inside the cottage there are plenty of games, books, DVD's and puzzles. We were all a bit baffled by the caribbean puzzle as it was 500 pieces but the box advertised it as 18x24 and when we did the maths we realised 18x24 is not 500 it is in fact 432! This made it very tricky to create the edge. I will not divulge the true dimensions as it was part of the fun. As with any puzzle, all the pieces are not there but a previous guest had meticulously cut out a replacement piece from paper.

Now onto Louise and Adrian. They were on holiday themselves when we arrived but they made sure we were sorted and answered all of my many queries before we arrived. Louise also notified me that there was a beer festival in a nearby pub, The Jervis Arms, whilst we were staying there, so obviously we attended. She also gave us advice on how to get there and if you take anything from this review... Listen to Louise's advice, she says it for a reason and we regretted not following it!
There is a public footpath through a sheep field, long grass and lots of mud. The mud was the problem. We ended up at the beer festival covered in mud up to our knees, sitting barefoot, drying our shoes and socks next to our table.
So please do take Louise's advice and wear wellies!

Would I stay here again? Yes
Would I recommend it? Yes
Should you stay here if you crave phone signal? No but I really enjoyed being disconnected from the world and there was always the WI-FI if you needed it

Finally, if you in doubt whether to book this cottage, stop doubting and just book it!

We'll definitely be back!!

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing