We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Luxury and comfort in a beautiful part of the...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful & tranquil spring evening in May
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful & tranquil spring evening in May
Hot Tub bliss! New orchard - view from the hot tub..
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
70 reviews
Beautiful & tranquil spring evening in May
Hot Tub bliss!
New orchard - view from the hot tub..
Hot Tub any weather - under cover from the elements!
The barn has a large patio, lawn & covered porch with the fabulous private hot tub
Fantastic hot tub, why not indulge yourself,  a great way to relax & you will sleep really well.
View from the hot tub
A fantastic sociable space, guests tell us 'it's even better than the photos!'
The Log Burner - so cosy, especially after a soak in the hot tub!
Solid oak floors, underfloor heating throughout, log burner & comfy sofas.
Stunning kitchen, oak floor, granite tops, all mod cons here!
Master bedroom with super king size bed & access straight out to the hot tub.
Cosy twin room with under floor heating
Stunning ensuite wet room to the master bedroom, underfloor heating & rain shower
Fully tiled Master ensuite with gorgeous soft white fluffy towels!
En suite to twin room with a huge over bath rain shower & underfloor heating!
Bathrobes & slippers, lovely after a long soak in the hot tub!
Honeymoon welcome..or anniversary...treat your partner to a surprise stay perhaps..
Christmas treats! Meal, wine, fizz, Christmas cake, mince pies & presents for all!!
Beautiful winter sunset
'Big skies' with dramatic skyscapes
Relax at the end of your day with a beautiful sunset - no light pollution here!
Christmas snow 2014! Even better when you know our road gets gritted twice a day.
Local views over the moors towards the Welsh mountains
360 degree vista at the top of Ecton Hill, feel 'On top of the world' on this local walk
Tittesworth reservoir - view from the top of The Roaches....
'Hen Cloud' from The Roaches....
Footpath at the top of The Roaches - panoramic views..
Looking up to The Roaches..
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ford, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nicolaand...
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Luxury and comfort in a beautiful part of the country!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Nigel and Lynn have created a beautiful holiday home which is extremely comfortable, private and superbly equipped - you really don't need to bring anything but your clothes etc.!! It is full of small but extremely well-thought out finishing touches, for example night lights in the twin room and hallway, dressing gowns, slippers and separate towels for the hot tub, fresh flowers in the kitchen....they even ask if you would prefer firm or soft pillows on the booking form!!
The hot tub is lovely, especially after a day's walking in the beautiful Peak District.
The welcoming meal with wine when we arrived was delicious - left in a slow cooker for us to enjoy at our leisure. The fridge was also stocked with milk, butter and eggs from the farm's hens next door and homemade bread.
All in all TOP NOTCH!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca C
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“'Outstanding'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

After a difficult year most of which was spent separated from the family serving abroad I was adamant we would take a holiday in the UK. We finally decided on the Peak district as I’d never visited before but my wife had fond childhood memories of camping holidays there.
We were not disappointed with our choice of the barn, it was absolutely brilliant from the initial welcome to the time we regrettably left.
Nigel and Lynn were outstanding hosts and made us all feel very welcome, we were made to feel nothing was too much trouble. Nigel has a wealth of knowledge about the local area and all questions were answered and advice about the local area was warmly received. He was extremely attentive to our two inquisitive city boys who quizzed him daily on the most urgent local topics; the smell of his pets (which were the local farm animals), Nigel’s motorbikes (Jake is a budding 3 year old Evel Knievel) and an in depth lecture on Hot Tub maintenance. Nigel found himself in the unfortunate position of being caught conducting his daily and weekly checks on the tub by the boys. They are now experts on water PH levels, chlorine shocks, and filter changes! He answered all their questions and made the boys feel very special. This was all in passing as well, Nigel is very unobtrusive, but made us feel he was on hand for any eventuality.
The Barn itself is simply outstanding and we can’t really say anything else that hasn’t already been written in other reviews. It was immaculate, spotlessly clean, furnished to a very high standard. I took my first look at the oven and hob and honestly it looked like it had just been installed the day before. You can believe all the reviews and the online photo's do not do it justice (especially downstairs). In the past few years we’ve visited the Lake District, Northumbria and the Scottish borders and stayed in some lovely accommodation but nothing surpassed this place.
The local area is stunning and the location of the Barn is perfect. We visited Alton Towers for a thrill seeking day out for the boys and had some lovely walks, Dovedale, Ilam, Hartington in fact we didn’t have enough time to do everything we wanted. It’s set in a beautiful peaceful location and relaxing in the hot tub at night after walking was absolute bliss. In fact our 5 year old boy Joe sat back for the first time in a hot tub and proclaimed ‘oh baby, this is the life’. I think that pretty much sums our holiday up, we left with some lovely lasting memories and hopefully work permitting we’ll definitely be back for another visit in the near future.
Thanks to Nigel and Lynn for helping make it a lovely family holiday and in times like this with work pressures etc that time is really priceless (well to us anyway).
Good luck with the pointing Nigel we wish you every success

Becky, Michael, Joe & Jake

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
longles
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“SECOND TO NONE...PERFECT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Ford Old Hall Barn is the nicest rental accommodation we have had,you can not ask for any more,everything was spotless,the attention to detail was faultless, everything you need is there and more.Tea, coffee, milk, bread, oatcakes, butter, dishwasher tabs, all there to get you going, not forgetting the evening meal and a bottle of wine when you get there just to help you unwind when you arrive, you don't even have to cook (which was lovely,and the cupcakes! thanks Lynn).The scenery in the area of the barn is stunning,Nigel is the local area guru if you need anything just ask nothing is too much trouble,helped us find the manifold show and the Wincle Brewery(worth a visit if you like your ale).
All in all it was a perfect week away from it all,get your mobile and throw it in the drawer and forget about it(you don't get a signal anyway)you cant help but switch off and relax,oh forgot to mention there is a quality hot tub as well.
Thanks to Lynn and Nigel for allowing us to stay in the barn it is a credit to you and the hard work you have and continue to put in, will definitely be back in the future.

Les,Sarah and Thia

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herfordshire
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: No mobile phone reception (but quite expected!)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
elfa3
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“PERFECT IN EVERY WAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We have just returned (17th - 24th May) from the Fold Old Hall Barn and the only way to describe it is as above. We were greeted by Nigel on the Friday who showed us around the barn and how things worked. A hot meal, wine and a freshly baked loaf of bread awaited us. You really DONT have to bring anything but your luggage with you as everything and I mean everything is provided. The barn is very comfortable and extremely clean and of course not to forget the Hot Tub which was brilliant after some very long walks. Lynn and Nigel have thought of absolutley everything that you could possibly want for your break and I am sure if there is something (and I doubt it) they will do their utmost to oblige. Well done Lynn and Nigel you should be VERY PROUD. Nigel good luck with the bikes.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013 for a stay in October 2012
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Couldn't fault it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicester, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: All the barn had to offer
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing