We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent venue for our Christmas break”
Beautiful & tranquil spring evening in May
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful & tranquil spring evening in May
Hot Tub bliss! New orchard - view from the hot tub..
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Beautiful & tranquil spring evening in May
Hot Tub bliss!
New orchard - view from the hot tub..
Hot Tub any weather - under cover from the elements!
The barn has a large patio, lawn & covered porch with the fabulous private hot tub
Fantastic hot tub, why not indulge yourself,  a great way to relax & you will sleep really well.
View from the hot tub
A fantastic sociable space, guests tell us 'it's even better than the photos!'
The Log Burner - so cosy, especially after a soak in the hot tub!
Solid oak floors, underfloor heating throughout, log burner & comfy sofas.
Stunning kitchen, oak floor, granite tops, all mod cons here!
Master bedroom with super king size bed & access straight out to the hot tub.
Cosy twin room with under floor heating
Stunning ensuite wet room to the master bedroom, underfloor heating & rain shower
Fully tiled Master ensuite with gorgeous soft white fluffy towels!
En suite to twin room with a huge over bath rain shower & underfloor heating!
Bathrobes & slippers, lovely after a long soak in the hot tub!
Honeymoon welcome..or anniversary...treat your partner to a surprise stay perhaps..
Christmas treats! Meal, wine, fizz, Christmas cake, mince pies & presents for all!!
Beautiful winter sunset
'Big skies' with dramatic skyscapes
Relax at the end of your day with a beautiful sunset - no light pollution here!
Christmas snow 2014! Even better when you know our road gets gritted twice a day.
Local views over the moors towards the Welsh mountains
360 degree vista at the top of Ecton Hill, feel 'On top of the world' on this local walk
Tittesworth reservoir - view from the top of The Roaches....
'Hen Cloud' from The Roaches....
Footpath at the top of The Roaches - panoramic views..
Looking up to The Roaches..
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ford, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane G
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for our Christmas break”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Thank you so much Lynn and Nigel for making our Christmas so special. It was a real home from home and you had thought of everything...and more. The barn really is one of the nicest places we have stayed. It had everything we needed. The lovely meal waiting for us when we arrived was delicious, as were the mince pies, Christmas cake and wine. The barn was decorated for Christmas which made us feel festive and the presents you left for us were lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub after walking out in the beautiful countryside ...such a bonus. And the bed was one of the comfiest ever!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The extra touches
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bungle79u...
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Truly fantastic”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Booked this Barn holiday after reading all the excellent reviews, not just on Trip Advisor but other sites as well. It is easy, especially in this day and age to be slightly sceptical, surely nothing can be as good as all these reviews state but never the less I booked the trip. WOW, all I can say is everything positive and complimentary written about the Barn and the hosts are 100% correct. I wanted a simple, quiet weekend break with my kids (10 and 14) and wife before the rush of Christmas and that’s exactly what I got.

Even before we got to the Barn I was introduced to the excellent attention and hosting qualities of Lynn as she kindly emailed me details of the Christmas lights switch on happening in the town that weekend and that if me and the family wanted to attend, the Barn could be ready for us ahead of time to make it easier. Superb service as Christmas was exactly the reason for the holiday.

When we arrived there was a very warm welcome and as previously mentioned in the posts, a superb meal set out for the whole family including breakfast treats and all the little extras that make stopping over easier.

The Barn is stunning (clean, spacious, warm and inviting) and has everything you could need with the added bonus of a Hot Tub which just escalates the stay.

Another special treat was given to us on return of a trip out on our last day. We came back to freshly baked Ginger Cake and a lovely card from our amazing hosts; thank you ever so much.

I can not speak highly enough of this place. Me and the wife got to relax and unwind and actually managed to tear the kids away from the internet and their games machines and got them to engage with us olduns!! Always a bonus.

Lynn and Nigel have repeat stayers with me and my family (the boys are asking to return already) and looking to book again very soon.

Again, thank you for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hosts; so attentive and just bloody brilliant!!
Liked least: Realising it was not actually my home and I'd have to come back to reality
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful escape from everything!”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We only stayed for two nights, but the time we were there was absolutely wonderful. Our every need was catered for, and arriving to a delicious home cooked meal after arriving quite late was just perfect!

The barn itself is stunning, and was so quiet and peaceful. The hot tub, where we spent most of the weekend, was lovely and very easy to use. The kitchen was fully equipped as we decided to cook a meal rather than going out, and it had everything that we needed.

We ventured out to Ashbourne (on Nigel's recommendation) and really enjoyed wandering around the town and doing some Christmas shopping. We also stopped in Bakewell (again Nigel's recommendation!) which was lovely.

Nigel and Lynn are the perfect hosts and they made us feel very welcome in the barn. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quite simply a fantastic getaway”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I booked the barn as a birthday surprise for my partner. Nigel and Lynn made us very welcome during our stay. We arrived to a delicious chilli, home made bread and a bottle of wine. They even left a birthday card and bubbly! (What a lovely touch). The hot tub was the best, perfectly located it was lovely even in November!
Nigel and Lynn recommended eating at The Devonshire Arms in Hartington and even booked us a table, nothing was too much trouble.
The beautiful barn provides everything you could ever need during your stay, the gowns and slippers being an added little luxury.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality of Nigel and Lynn
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
decoratin...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at ford old hall barn for half term with our 2 teenage children. We arrived later than planned due to traffic and lynn had kindly put away our shopping delivery. We had a lovely home cooked chilli on arrival and a bottle of wine. The barn is warm and welcoming, just like it's hosts! Everything about it is just perfect. It is an ideal base for visiting alton towers, and is generally central to most places which was ideal for us. It has wifi (essential for kids!) and the most amazing hot tub which we used most days. Highly recommend staying here. We will visit again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chancefie...
France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cannot be beaten.”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was our second two-week visit within six months! For us to return to the same place for a holiday is almost unheard of. When we returned from our first visit, the choice for September was 'Florence or the Barn'. The barn won, hands down! Lynn and Nigel are so welcoming, and the property itself so sublime, everything you could wish for in a holiday. I just hope it doesn't get booked up too quickly next year, so that we can come again ! We will have to time our holiday around the dates when the Barn is not booked up. Lynn and Nigel, you deserve every success.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our friendly dealings with Lynn and Nigel.
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of our fortnight.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky F
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We couldn't have asked for better accommodation, Ford Old Hall Barn is finished to a very high standard and the kitchen in particular is superb - everything is provided and well thought out. Lynn and Nigel are wonderful hosts who provided a very warm welcome with a tasty evening meal and wine (which was perfect after a long journey) and milk in the fridge for a much needed cup of tea, home baked bread and preserves and a home made cake which had been especially iced with my son's initial - these extra touches made this holiday stand out above all others, we would definitely recommend it and would absolutely stay there again. Thank you Lynn and Nigel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing