We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak night”
Review of The Assheton Arms

The Assheton Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Downham
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My friend and I visited the assh last Friday and it was superb
A local butcher(roaming roosters) were in house showcasing their products
We both chose sirloins and they cooked to perfection and beautifully presented,with peppercorn sauce ,onion rings and perfectly cooked fries ! Along side this the chilled green fish,went down nicely !
The atmosphere was very pleasant and we look forward to sitting out on the new terrace when it's completed!

Thank Pitrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsshetonManager, Manager at The Assheton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Happy to hear you enjoyed our steak night! make sure you get on our mailing list and like us on facebook and twitter for information on more events such as live music, afternoon tea and a fish night done in a similar format to the steak night you enjoyed! we are going to be hosting over the summer! look forward to seeing you again soon!

Tom Taylor-Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

556 - 560 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Booked a table for 7 on a Sunday afternoon. Everything seemed okay, but just missing something which would have made it perfect. The food was fantastic though, I had the potted smoked duck starter and I have to say it was probably the best starter I have ever had, followed by the rib-eye which was also excellent. The "missing something" can't really be directed at one element, but a couple of little niggles that took the edge off; not a great choice of cask beers. We were sat in an individual dining room, which would be okay if you like private dining, but we were then pretty much left alone. We seemed to wait a long time between courses. One of the starters was missing (mine). One of the desserts turned up wrong and finally, when the bill came, we had been charged for an extra bottle of red wine and an extra bottle of white wine, all these issues are easy mistakes and easily rectified, but costly when it came to me awarding a full 5 star "excellent" rating. We will probably try again though, as the food would no doubt lure us back.

Thank Ceejmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsshetonManager, Manager at The Assheton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Very Sorry to hear that your experience wasn't quite perfect, for future reference we will always try our best to ensure every detail of your meal with us is exactly how you would like it so if you would like a certain table or are unhappy with the one you have we are always happy to ammend that for you. we do hope that you come back so we can get that score upto a 5!
kind regards

Tom Taylor-Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Many years ago my husband & I used to come to the Assherton Arms when we were "Courting" do they do that now ??? :-) & always found the atmosphere & food to be super. We happended to come back about 5 years ago & it was dreadful - food appauling & service dreadful. So on a drive back from Settle last week we cautiously called in again wondering if anything had changed & how ! We believe that new owners took over about 2 years ago & what a transformation - fab food - so much choice of "different" pub food - none of your usual "& chips" (although they are available with some dishes). We had a great hour or two - fab efficient & friendly service and really great food. Well done - you have resored my faith in this delightful pub.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank totoscard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsshetonManager, Manager at The Assheton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Always nice to hear a satisfied customer and that we have done a good tranforming the pub! Hopefully see you again soon!

Tom Taylor-Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Came last night with friends.
Staff pleasant and efficient,sat in bar for drinks
Nice homely decor, lovely wood burner ,fantastic views of Pendle Hill from our table .
Hash starter for me,yumm.
I had creole cod well cooked with spicy vegetable curry.
My friends had the red fish tagine,they said it was delicious .
Had the knickerbocker glory for pudding.
It was FANTASTIC, came in a frozen glass tankard and a meringue 'lollipop' , I wish it had been a pint pot not 1/2 pint !
The staff were pleasant and efficient .
Sat in the nook for drinks after dinner.
The whole evening was just marvellous...
Thank you

Thank jammaster66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsshetonManager, Manager at The Assheton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback and thank you for the photos! Always a good sign when people want to show off what they had for dinner with us! look forward to seeing you again!

Tom Taylor-Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Spent the evening at the Assheton Arms with friends. The atmosphere was spot on for an evening of conversation and good food. A steady stream of customers for a Wednesday evening but nothing was rushed and the service excellent and unobtrusive. The situation of the pub is second to non especially on a sunny evening where we could easily have taken our meal outside. The menu was full of good local produce cooked with style and elegance. All the fish and meat dishes sampled by our group were fresh and simply prepared so the flavours were enhanced by the herbs and spices used. The helpings were more than ample and the prices very reasonable for the quality on offer. The competition in the area for quality country dining is very high but the Assheton can hold its own and I can highly recommend it and I am sure we will be visiting again soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsshetonManager, Manager at The Assheton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Always great to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us! we look forward to your next visit!

Tom Taylor-Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Assheton Arms also viewed

Waddington, Clitheroe
Barley, Lancashire
 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 

Been to The Assheton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing