We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nordre Ekre Gardshotell
Ranked #1 of 2 Nedre Heidal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A beautiful place”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is a really nice place in a really nice valley. We stayed in the attic (Stabbursloftet), which dates back to 1750. The room had a remarkable atmosphere and a lot of space. They pay attention to all the tiny details that you expect to find in a high class hotel. The only thing that could have been better was the mattresses, which appeared as rather simple foam rubber mattresses.

Nordre Ekre is located right next to the famous river Sjoa, and Sjoa Rafting is only 5 minutes away.

The food was excellent. But the serving was a bit slow, so make sure you are not too hungry before dinner because that might leave you a bit frustrated, even though the food is worth waiting for.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Øyvind J, Owner at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we highly appreciate your feedback.
In this room (the attic) we have now, after reading your review, removed one of the bunk beds and installed a large double bed, providing a more comfortable night’s sleep for our guests.

Regards
Øyvind & Marit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
53
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Inventive, lovely food, cosy historic rooms and surroundings. Great service. Only negative thing, there could have been larger portions of food (we were still a little hungry after three courses).

Room Tip: Get the downstairs one (bubblebath and fireplace)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlinNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Øyvind J, Owner at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you for posting a rewiev, we very much appriciate your feedback. Regarding the meal portions, we are now more aware of this, thanks to your feedback.

Regards
Øyvind & Marit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

It is an old farm from the 17th century,renewed and very attractive.The room was very big and very comfortable.The location is fantastic, between a forest and a river.The breakfast and the dinner were really delicious.DO NOT MISS THIS EXPERIENCE

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THEMTIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I stayed here with my husband and another couple in mid-August, and we had a magical stay at this farm. The location is rural and serene, and it's a good option if you plan to visit Jotunheimen National Park (about a 30-45 min drive, depending on which entrance you're going to). It's also within 30 minutes drive of Lom - home of the most amazing bakery in Norway.

In terms of our accommodation, we had the pink and yellow rooms (superior level w-ensuite bathroom), which were oozing with character - beautifully decorated wtih antique furniture, sleigh beds, and incredibly soft bedding. The walls even had what seemed to be old family photos from the last century. The rooms themselves are spread out over the property in little wooden buildings with turf roofs. Our particular buidling had a shared kitchen where you could store snacks/pack lunches for hiking in the refrigeratior or make tea before breakfast, etc. Staying here was really like stepping back into a different time but having all modern amenities at your disposal (e.g. internet access in the lounge).

We had dinner at Nordre Ekre two of the nights of our stay, and the food was incredible. Fresh monkfish and herbs bursting with flavor, steak that melts like butter in your mouth, and inventive and whimsical desserts presented like a Michelin star restaurant. The owners are both trained chefs and it shows. These were the best meals we had on our trip. The restaurant is not to be missed!

The proprietress' family has owned the farm for several generations, and she and her husband have taken great care to preserve its historic elements while enhancing it with friendly service, amazing food and charming rooms. Overall, I can't say enough good things about this place. It was truly a highlight of our trip to Norway, and one of the best places we've stayed in the world. We're frequent international travelers, so it takes a lot to make it to the top of our list!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jperry77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

First of all the location is amazing. You are close to several well-known Norwegian tourist attractions, like Galdhøpiggen (the tallest mountain in Norway), Hardangervidda, Ridderspranget and Jostedalsbreen. Even though the hotel is situated by the road, you will hardly notice it as its "hidden" and traffic is hardly a problem.

The room rate might be quite a lot, but compared to the other available accommodations in the area you're in for a bargain. We booked for one night paying 1000 NOK - per room. Normally the rate is per person in Norway, and for this rate you get a rather good breakfast included. Be aware, though, if you are a tourist travelling to Norway that the breakfasts will most certainly be "traditionally Norwegian" - meaning hundred types of bread, cheese, jam and meat, milk and juice, cereals, fried eggs, and possibly beans. Either way, the breakfast is yummy for the tummy!

The room we booked had a shared bathroom, but since we were the only ones staying there at the time we got the place to ourselves.
The bathroom had a huge shower and the design of the rooms was typical Norwegian. You are actually living on a old-style farm (with the amazing old-style buildings) so be prepared to be blown away. You also have a fierce river just outside the hotel entrance where you can go rafting. Its a must to have a car when going to a place such as this, since the attractions are only reachable by car and the public transportation in the area is limited.

Even though you are located "far from everything" there is really not a lack of things to do. Depending on what kind of holiday you want - be it romantic, adventurous etc - you can chose between a variety of activities. You can go rafting down the fierce lakes, go hiking in the many hiking trails, climb our tallest mountain, go on moose and moscus exploring, climb the many glaciers, go horseback riding. None of the hotels in the area offer this directly, but they have all the necessary contacts and will be more than happy to arrange for you.

  • Liked — Scenery, staff, meals
  • Disliked — Transportation
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nedre Heidal
16.5 mi away
Fefor Hoifjellshotell
Fefor Hoifjellshotell
#1 of 3 in Vinstra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
6.0 mi away
Thon Hotel Otta
Thon Hotel Otta
#1 of 2 in Otta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
24.5 mi away
Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Hovringen Fjellstue
Hovringen Fjellstue
#1 of 3 in Hovringen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.7 mi away
Heidal Hotel
Heidal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Nedre Heidal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hindseter
Hindseter
#1 of 1 in Vagamo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordre Ekre Gardshotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordre Ekre Gardshotell

Property: Nordre Ekre Gardshotell
Address: Heidalsvegen 1265, Nedre Heidal 2677, Norway (Formerly Nordre Ekre)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Nedre Heidal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nedre Heidal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nordre Ekre Gardshotell 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run farm hotel, awarded with Tripadvisor Travelers` Choice in 2013,2014,2015 and 2016 is located in Heidal, midway between Oslo and Trondheim, and in the way to Geiranger and the fjords. The authentic country courtyard with timber buildings dates back to 1700s, and the farm has roots all the way back to the iron Age. The popular restaurant is located in a converted cow shed, and offers all homemade food, with local ind international ingredients alog side each other. The hotel offers both luxurious junior suites with romantic four poster beds, as well as standard rooms with in suite bathrooms. All rooms features a flat screen TV and free wireless internet connection. Enjoy a complimentary espresso in the library lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nordre Ekre Gardshotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing