We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Heritage Farm Stay in Norway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nordre Ekre Gardshotell
Ranked #1 of 2 Nedre Heidal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2012

A really unique small hotel in a beautiful location with friendly service. The collection of historical wooden buildings are very cosy and welcoming. We stayed in the 'loft' which is truly authentic; reached by climbing a narrow staircase with huge beams that stretch across the ceiling and tiny windows which look onto the turbulent green river outside. The toilet is modern and spotless but is outside and separate from the room (and might take some getting used to) - the shower is also the same. There is a guest lounge with library, tv, sofas and coffee machine. Breakfast is great; really nordic and delicious. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loubirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oyvind-johansen, Owner at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Thank you so much for leaving a review.
Yours and other guests reviews and feedback helps us to get even better, and improve other guest’s experiences.
The room you stayed in is undergoing upgrading this winter, and from the summer 2013 the room will be a two bedroom family room, with a comfortable sitting area in the first floor.

Best regards
Øyvind & Marit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

A visit to remember. Historical buildings, modern comfort in "the green room" . And the food: Fabiolius!!
End a weekend at Nordre Ekre with at trip over Valdresflye and Jotunheimvegen! You can never be better off!

Room Tip: The green room or the yelloow once are top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ingridbergane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oyvind-johansen, Owner at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Thank you for leaving a review, we sincerely appreciate it!
We are spending this winter building and working to get even better. The green room will from the summer 2013 be one of two Junior Suites, upgraded with a new flat screen TV, Nespresso coffee machine etc.

Regars
Øyvind & Marit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Nordre Ekre is one of the heritage farm stays in the Heidal region. This is a very special, interesting and wonderful experience to visit this B&B. The B&B is very cosy and family friendly, though it would be better to have heating inside the toilet. The dinner prepared by the host is very good. Their breakfast is equally very impressive and one of the best I even enjoyed. This B&B is also rather near (about 1 hour drive) to the famous Jostedalsbreen National Park where you can see experience another completely different landscape of Norway. The host, Johansen and Ekre, are very friendly, helpful and kind as well. A very good accommodation option if you want to visit the region.

Room Tip: Each room is rather different from the other for this place. Do ask the host which one fits your st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caveman_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oyvind-johansen, Owner at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Thanks for leaving a review, and for adding all those great pictures!
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit! Regarding the toilet heating, we have listened to you, and during this winter we will rebuild the toilet to meet higher standards when we open in May 2013.

Please send our regards to your traveling companions as well.
Øyvind & Marit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

For anyone wanting to spend the night in a authentic historical building (but with modern comfort), this is a perfect place to stay. Situated in beautiful Heidal, and close to river Sjoa, famous for rafting. Some noise from the river, but not too bad.

The family-run farm hotel has a friendly, cozy atmosphere, and the dining room is intimate and relaxed. The service is immaculate, and the food fantastic. The couple running Nordre Ekre is friendly, helpful and polite. It's apparent their heart and soul is into this; making their guests feel both welcome and "at home".

We stayed a weekend, dining as royalty two evenings, as we'd booked a package deal. A huge plus is the use of produce sourced mostly locally and in season. Some of the cheeses are also available from the farm shop, so we bought some home to enjoy later. They also sell their own jams, in addition to cheese, ice cream and other foods.

There's a lounge/library everyone can use, and the building where we stayed also had a kitchen shared between three rooms. There we could make coffee/tea, prepare food, and there was even a table and chairs if you wanted to sit and eat there.

The main building is where breakfast and dinner is served. The breakfast buffet is small, but has everything you need - from cereal to scrambled eggs, jams and different spreads.The homemade bread is very tasty - they make various bread which you'll enjoy at every meal.

The food is not expensive for Norwegian standards, but the rooms are on the expensive side. On the other hand, it's a truly unique experience we can warmly recommend. If travelling through Gudbrandsdalen, this is a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the building with three rooms and a shared kitchen," the pink room" on the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iril K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oyvind-johansen, Owner at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Thank you so much for all those kind words and for letting other travelers know what your visit was like!
From the summer of 2013 we open a new restaurant in the barn. With a new kitchen as well, allowing us to develop our restaurant further.

Best regards
Øyvind & Marit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

If you'd like to stay at a historical place with a lot of character, you could do so much worse than Nordre Ekre. This farm hotel is run by a husband and wife team, who'll greet you by shaking your hand and introducing themselves to you. This is the kind of place this is: it's atmospheric and really pleasant.

The buildings are mostly from the 1700s and 1800s, but the interior is more eclectic. There is both a common room if you feel like socialising, and some of the hotel rooms also come with the option of a shared kitchen. The room I stayed in had its own bathroom, but I don't know if this is the case of all the rooms. Check ahead when booking!

Both of the owners are trained chefs, and so the food at this hotel is simply amazing. The price for a three course meal isn't that bad compaired to other upscale restaurants in Norway either. If you don't have time to stay overnight at Nordre Ekre, you should go just for the food!

The only downside to this hotel is that because it's located in such a remote place, you'll need some sort of transportation to get you there. If you get in touch with the owners before going, though, they'll advice you on the best modes of transportation.

To sum up: the food at Nordre Ekre is great, the place itself is brilliant and the hosts are wonderful. I'd recommend this place to anyone, and I'll be visiting again too.

Room Tip: If you stay at the pink room like I did, you get access to a kitchen. This room is also fitted with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolyHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Øyvind J, Owner at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we highly appreciate your feedback.
For those who wonder if there are bathrooms in every room: There is, however one of our rooms, “the attic” in a 18th century storehouse, has got a private bathroom in the open air hallway. This hallway is typical for these old storehouses. The rest has got ensuite bathrooms.
Regards
Øyvind & Marit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Amazing place in Heidal, Norway. Well-kept traditional wooden buildings, hospitable owners and amazing food. Even has a small store, selling local products including their own jam in different varieties.

Room Tip: above the store
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josvar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Thank you for your kind words:)
Regards Øyvind & Marit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Beautifully situated, great food, lovely rooms and outstanding service!!:))We would love to come back and we would absolutely recommend this place for everyone:)

Room Tip: Loved the beautiful yellow room. Lovely decorated, spaceous and great bed and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dharmalivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for sharing your experience with other travelers.
Regards
Øyvind & Marit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nedre Heidal
16.5 mi away
Fefor Hoifjellshotell
Fefor Hoifjellshotell
#1 of 3 in Vinstra
107 reviews
24.5 mi away
Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane
15.4 mi away
Hindseter
Hindseter
#1 of 1 in Vagamo
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
GoRafting - Rafting Sjoa
#1 of 1 in Nedre Heidal
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Nordre Ekre Gardshotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordre Ekre Gardshotell

Address: Heidalsvegen 1265, Nedre Heidal 2677, Norway (Formerly Nordre Ekre)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Nedre Heidal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nedre Heidal
Price Range: £145 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nordre Ekre Gardshotell 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run farm hotel, awarded with Tripadvisor Travelers` Choice in 2013,2014,2015 and 2016 is located in Heidal, midway between Oslo and Trondheim, and in the way to Geiranger and the fjords. The authentic country courtyard with timber buildings dates back to 1700s, and the farm has roots all the way back to the iron Age. The popular restaurant is located in a converted cow shed, and offers all homemade food, with local ind international ingredients alog side each other. The hotel offers both luxurious junior suites with romantic four poster beds, as well as standard rooms with in suite bathrooms. All rooms features a flat screen TV and free wireless internet connection. Enjoy a complimentary espresso in the library lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nordre Ekre Gardshotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing