We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner good, not great”
Review of Gheralta Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawzen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gheralta Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner good, not great”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A group of us stopped at Gheralta after a day of hiking for dinner. The property was a welcome break from the sun, heat, and dust. While the hotel was very nice, we were not blown away by the dinner. Other reviews and the guidebook talked about how amazing the food was; we thought it was alright. The soup course- potato and leek soup was delicious. But the main course, "lasagna" left something to be desired. It was just pieces of pasta layered with an odd tomato sauce. No meat, no vegetables. The food did not justify the price, but if you included the time we spent just relaxing in the lobby and on their porch, we thought it was worth it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    82
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
35
114
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at Geralta Lodge for 2 nights. Christmas Eve and Christmas day. The lodge staff put on a very nice and creative holiday drama (although difficult to understand the Tigrinya) for the guests. The general manager even dressed as Santa Clause and passed out small treats to the guests with children. The staff appeared to really want us to enjoy our stay and that means a lot these days.Overall, our stay was what we expected...nothing more and nothing less. Rooms were clean and food was decent. I do wish they had some sort of spa or massage service available. After hiking and walking, it would be great to have a nice wind-down massage while looking out at the beautiful mountains. We stayed in number 4.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMarie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire,UK
Level Contributor
212 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We really enjoyed our two nights stay here especially having come from the Yeha in Axum.
Long and dusty drive but Gheralta was an oasis of comfort. We were in Room 1 [half of a rondel] with wonderful views. Very simple décor [someone has an eye for design] and very clean. Bed comfortable and plenty of hanging space. Bathroom also clean but small and plenty of hot water.
A couple of chairs outside the room would have been nice to sit and admire the view. Torches were provided to guide you to the main part of the hotel.
Drinks in the bar at 7pm [lovely nibbles of toasted grains and also delicious unsalted peanuts] then dinner around 8pm. Set dinner and set time though you have your own table. The first night it was self service with two serving stations manned by girls in smart uniforms and hairnets. First course was chick pea soup which was fine though the chickpeas a little hard. Then a very good lasagne followed by salads and meatballs. Pudding Apple Cake -ok but a little heavy. However, after some pretty awful food elsewhere the previous few days this was very good. The owners were not in evidence but everything seemed to run pretty smoothly. Lunch [in between trips] the next day was good but a bit late. We saw picnic lunches laid out in reception and that might have been a better idea. A very nice property and has a good productive vegetable garden with lots of salad stuffs so you felt safe eating salad here. A very good location for visiting the rock churches and a joy to come back to after a day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: We didn't see any of the other rooms but ours, Room 1, was nice, very clean and bed comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Checkin around 5 pm was smooth and luggage taken to our room 10 which had a selfcontained toilet and bath with toiletry and towels. Hot was water was in plentiful supply. There was an adjoining room with fridge and cooker not in use. We loved the very large clothes horse with lots of hangers. Extended from one of the windows - there were 2 - was a wooden shelf which served as a table. The two very small bedside tables each carried a lamp and a torch. The room had one seat and two single beds nicely made up. We wanted to use our kettle and with help found the sockets lower down. We were not offered what turned out to be an informal welcome drink at 7 pm as advised and to sit and wait until 8 pm for dinner seemed a long wait for us but good for the bar which we only saw the next morning when we decided to stroll the grounds. On leaving for our room that evening we told the manager that we did not have the welcome drink and he simply said "sorry". We expected a different response. We are not drinkers but we feel that as is customary 'welcome drinks' as promised should be offered on arrival - 7pm the appointed time. Our guide was not very helpful in this matter. Maybe, it was his first time. We were somewhat away from the beautiful setting of the complex and not there long enough to enjoy sitting on the furniture on the verandah outside the bar. We enjoyed the setting sun and the landing of the helicopter just outside our window. The manager took control of the serving of the dinner which was a fixed menu. This was good. Our approach to the meals was neutral but we were grateful to have something to eat even if only for health concerns. Seats in the reception area should be visited to ensure that one is able to sit in a comfortable way while awaiting dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaiteur2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay in room no.5 spacious with lovely view, clean. and functional.
We enjoyed the farmyard sounds of cattle and donkey...
The food was a bit of a disappointment, lasagna on the night not too exciting it was full to the brim so maybe they had taken on a little bit too much. The house brew was lethal mix so we stuck to the beers! It does get very dark at night a good torch a must!
Breakfast was indeed a chaotic affaire, but nobody was left to go hungry I believe, some people are a bit quicker than others and may take more than they should have! that's the draw back with buffet and groups.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oraiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yesiluzumlu, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

After spending too much time in Ethiopian (rather than western-Ethio) hotels, the cleanliness and European style was very welcome. Seems Ethiopia is either flea ridden or uber-expensive soulless new hotels. Gheralta is one of the few places somewhere in the middle.

Food fantastic (after the dubious spongy pancake elsewhere), sheets clean crisp cotton, floors in the accommodation clean and smelling of wax. A little nirvana.

Luckily we arrived just as the Italian owner (whose father was a doctor in Addis, back in the day) arrived back so perhaps we got a taste of the best management, plus wildflowers and verdant savanna stretching to the Gheralta mountains.

Highly recommend this place. I was over-awed to feel in relative luxury for a couple of days. Seems no expense had been spared to create a real idyll, to share with the traveler that can make the pilgrimage to indulge in it's luxury and beautiful location.

Check out Abunna Yamata too - stunning! There's a chap in town who will take you there on his motorbike for a small price. Gabriel I think his name is.

Our best part of the trip, during this visit to Ethiopia.

Stylish and refined, but not in your face

Room Tip: I reckon they're all up to scratch. We stayed at the bottom of the complex with a real sense of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arequipa, Peru
Level Contributor
165 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Rooms fabulous – very large with separate bathroom and cloakroom. Wooden flooring. Very warm at night but no idea how room was heated. Excellent dinner menu and served by well-trained local women who understood the concept of service. Breakfast a bit of a scramble as tour groups fought their way to the trough. Dining room a bit cramped for the number of guests that stay there.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyNomad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawzen
32.9 mi away
Planet Hotel
Planet Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mek'ele
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atse Yohannes Hotel
Atse Yohannes Hotel
#2 of 7 in Mek'ele
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gonder Landmark Hotel
Gonder Landmark Hotel
#10 of 14 in Gonder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gozamen Hotel
Gozamen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Debre Markos
2.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roha Hotel
Roha Hotel
#6 of 11 in Lalibela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gheralta Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gheralta Lodge

Property: Gheralta Lodge
Address: Hawzen, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Tigray Region > Hawzen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hawzen
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Gheralta Hotel Hawzen
Gheralta Lodge Ethiopia/Tigray - Hawzen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing